We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 4th visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Spinnaker

The Spinnaker
100 Spinnaker Dr, Sausalito, CA 94965
415-332-1500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Spinnaker is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anchor Street
Transit: Golden Gate Transit Bus: 50, 20; Golden Gate Ferry: Red & White Fleet, Blue & Gold
Description: The Spinnaker is located on the Sausalito waterfront offering panoramic views of San Francisco, Angel Island, the East Bay and Belvedere. They serve an impressive menu with fresh seafood and a fine wine selection.
Lewes, Delaware, United States
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our 4th visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We try and go to The Spinnaker whenever we are in the San Francisco area. The view alone is fantastic and worth it, but the food is also quite good. Perfect place for a celebration or just a get together with friends. So far we have only gone for lunch but the sandwiches and luncheon fare have been excellent and the prices are very reasonable for the area. Will continue to make the trip to Sausalito to this unique restaurant with the killer view whenever we are in that area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We're happy to have you as a loyal customer, Patti! It's great to know you always make the time to come and see us. I'm glad our food has never failed to impress! Looking forward to your next meal, our view awaits.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    206
    74
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The atmosphere is non-pareil. Located on the waterfront, the views are magnificent. The food is excellent and includes great seafood and vegetarian options. We also go there for the ambience and the service. We are never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Marieke777. I'm so glad to hear you are always impressed with our restaurant on all counts. I'l pass along your compliments to our staff. Looking forward to your next visit!

Best,

Jeff, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had a nice meal with a fabulous view of the moon rising over San Francisco.
Food was decent enough, staff were helpful, but view was stunning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your great review, OriginalM. I'm glad to hear you had such a wonderful time watching the moon rise over the bay while enjoying your dinner. I hope you'll think of joining us for another meal soon.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Visiting since 1974.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our recent visit to the Spinaker was as it was beginning in 1974. It is what it is for a restaurant that leases the space from Saucelito. When one has great views, unrushed service, and the best Caesar Salad (true to its origins) anywhere, what can mor can one ask for. I met Bill McDonald only once about 35 years ago, a true gentleman. I cannot visit the Bay Area without stopping in. Long live the Spinaker!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
We're honored to have you as a loyal customer, Max! It's wonderful to know you've had such an enjoyable experience each and every time you've come in over the past 4 decades! Looking forward to your next visit.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Indiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome food, but it's costly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The atmosphere was very laid back - great view of the bay. The food was perfect. The whole family had delicious seafood. Could not ask for a better experience. Loved it !!!!!! The bill with appetizer and desert was almost $200.00

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, Manager at The Spinnaker, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I'm glad to hear you and your family had such an exceptional experience with us, Greg! We were happy to have you. I hope you'll join us for another meal soon.

Best,

Jeff, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spinnaker also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Spinnaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Spinnaker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.