We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Clam Chowder Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Times

The Fish Times
350 Harbor Dr, Sausalito, CA 94965
415-331-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
AKRON OHIO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Clam Chowder Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We enjoyed our second meal at Fish. My husband raved about the Clam chowder saying it was the best chowder he ever had along with the best guacamole. I had fish and chips and it was equally good. Don't forget your money- cash only- no credit cards. No reservations, order at the counter, find a table and they bring it to you. The view is spectacular as you eat your meal watching ships come into the marina.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    93
    22
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Picture perfect seafood meal by the water, fresh catches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pros

- Picturesque view on the Sausalito harbor, just feet from the water and rows of boats
- VERY fresh fish. I ordered the sand dabs and they were still being unloaded from the truck. Could definitely taste the freshness via tenderness of the meat
- Nice variety of foods (fries, dips, arnold palmers)
- Recommend the Clam dip, and sand dabs for sure. Oysters weren't anything to write home about.

Cons

- Outside seating on the deck w/ view is at a premium, so you may have to wait for a seat and snatch it
- Accepts Cash only...which is likely gonna be a bummer given most entrees are above $20
- Was difficult to find a parking spot during dinner hour even though there were two entire lots right next to the restaurant

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A truly Calif experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

How do you beat sitting in the sun, watching boats come and go from the marina, eating really good fish and chips? That's a really good day. That's why I'm telling you to stand in line, be prepared to pay cash, and order some excellent fish at Fish and have your own excellent Calif day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fish, Casual Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The place sits back in a Yacht Harbor, but there is signage to help you find it. You enter, place your order at a counter from a menu on the wall. They specialize in fish, so as you can expect the menu is fish-centric. You find your seating either inside or out & they bring your food.

My friend had been there before & returned to his favorite Fish & Chips which looked very good. I had a Sand Dabs special and some raw oysters. Oysters were fresh & tasty, Sand Dabs were over a bed of Bok Choy and grape tomatoes. Fish was grilled well with a little spice, & the vegetable part was sauteed nicely. I choose a large draft beer which came in a Mason Jar... did I say casual ? Yes, very casual, you could come directly off a sailboat & not have to comb your hair & be comfortable.

Their patio is right on a dock, obviously a lot of marine atmosphere, Seating is picnic tables and you're far enough from other diners that you don't feel crowded.

Menu is A la Carte, entree prices are from $18-$26, Oysters were $3 each, large draft beer was $10. My meal was just under $60. Cash, no credit cards, so come prepared. Sit down pricing in a casual setting.

If you like properly done fish and know what to expect the experience is good. If you're surprised by the casual setting & cash policy you might be unpleasantly surprised.

I'm looking forward to another visit next time I'm in that area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown,pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing food, family friendly, great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Get there early, take cash, people line up to pay cash for great food eaten at picnic tables on pier. Not cheap, but delicious!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Times also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Fish Times? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Times, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.