We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio

Poggio
777 Bridgeway, Sausalito, CA 94965-2103
415-332-7771
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Poggio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Golden Gate and Blue and Gold Ferries both a 5 minute walk away.
West Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

A great place for lunch and always busy. The food is delicious, the service good. It is quite different to the fare at most Italian restaurants. Wish we could go more often!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    142
    43
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The perfect place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I visited Poggio as our last stop on our anniversary trip this past October and it was the restaurant highlight of our trip. We were seated and a wonderful, quiet table by the window and were treated well by the entire staff from the hostess to our lovely server to the owner who happened to stop by our table. The restaurant was simply lovely with a relaxing, romantic atmosphere. Our food was outstanding. I highly recommend trying the brussels sprouts. I cannot gush enough about how wonderful our experience was. If we ever return to the area, this will be our first stop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good Italian Food, Nice seating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

like its location. you can seat indoors or outdoors and watch people go by. Very good food. The service was excellent. I was perhaps the only diner eating alone in that restaurent but there was the same level of service as others were getting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of Sausalito's Gems”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Poggio is the cornerstone of restaurants in Sausalito. The bartenders have been there forever and are highly entertaining and really the main act, resulting in a thriving bar scene. The restaurant has beautiful decor, excellent traditional Italian cuisine, great wine list and wonderful service. There are a few other remarkable restaurants in the city, but things start and end here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Service awesome; great environment; excellent menu; Best place in Sausalito; Highly recommend visit for dinner

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poggio also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.