We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening dining on the bay in Sausalito” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Trident

The Trident
558 Bridgeway, 1st Floor, Sausalito, CA 94965
415-331-3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 72 restaurants in Sausalito
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening dining on the bay in Sausalito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Took the ferry from SF to Sausalito and wandered through the quaint shops before dining at The Trident. Greeted by a witty maitre'd - different than the usual humorless young women in most restaurants! DIned on the deck on a lovely evening with a wonderful view of San Francisco and the Bay Bridge - enhanced when the lights came on.
Our server was prompt, knowledgeable and pleasant. We enjoyed a pinot noir and crispy calamari as a start. I tried the salmon which was well prepared and delicious - moist and tasty. My guest had fish and chips - well done also.
The maitre'd that was on duty when we left was delightful to talk with and he went out of his way to make sure we got a cab back to SF (too late for the ferry!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    46
    49
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch and spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were on the way to the San Francisco Airport on a Saturday morning. We needed to stop before driving through the city. We turned into Sausalito only to find lots of traffic, crowds, an art show and no parking. Then we saw the "valet parking " sign at the Trident restaurant. Without having a clue about the history or quality of the restaurant, we knew we would have lunch there. The valet was a huge help in answering some questions about our route. We were seated on the outdoor deck on a beautiful day. The view was spectacular. I had an excellent Organic Chicken Satay Salad. The food, the valet parking, and the view made this the happiest surprise of our trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant has a beautiful water-front location and all of the tables have a great view of the bay. The food was decent, but the portions were a bit small for the price. For example we had the Prawn Cocktail, which came with 5 pieces for $15. We also had the Scallops with Gnocci, for $29, which tasted good, but also portions were on the small side.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great outdoor seating, great views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We actually ate here twice during our San Fran vacation. Once, we just wanted to see Sausalito, and the next time was after a visit to the Marin Headlands. Both times we sat outside and enjoyed the water view. Gorgeous bay view! We made reservations, so there was no wait even though there was a crowd waiting to be seated. Wonderful service. Delicious food. The cheese plate had ripe figs on it which everyone loved. The mac and cheese more than satisfied my teen. I ordered the soup in the bread bowl and loved it. The next time I ordered the fish and chips and they were the best i've ever had. I wouldn't say that about the other food, although it was all very good. Others in the group enjoyed the fresh catch-sea bass and the seafood tostado and they were extremely satisfied.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Well worth the wait for a table on the veranda with a fabulous view of the bay.
The bartenders were hilarious; Brent and Courtney were fun, outgoing, offerred
tastes of a couple wines, made great recommendations, served generous pours,
and kept us in stitches while we waited. Then, off to the deck for lunch. Great
view, enjoyable lunch with no pressure to finish, hamburgers were very good.
Our server, Meghan, was efficient, pleasant, offered suggestions, managed a large
number of tables, and was professional. This is a kick-back, enjoyable spot
while visiting Sausalito.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trident also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to The Trident? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Trident, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.