We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to take kids , nothing special but they have BAR and a nice bird watching area .” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
196 Donahue St, Sausalito, CA 94965-1250
415-331-6193
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New Jersey
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“A good place to take kids , nothing special but they have BAR and a nice bird watching area .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

You can rely on Outback for steak that's decent , especially if you have hungry kids . I just don't feel the cost is worth the meal . This is just more upscale fast food ! If you are just looking for a fast , cheap meal , I'd head north about 8- 10 minutes . Take Seminary Drive exit , left at light about 1 mile to In & Out Burgers on right . The town refused to let this be a drive -thru ! Excellent burgers and fries . The meat is never frozen , ground fresh daily . The fries are fresh cut also . My kids always loved to watch the frantic activity behind the counter . It's hard to find labor for these places in Marin , so the pay is almost double what most fast foods pay . Under 25 dollars to feed a family of 4 ! No tip ! Happy kids ! This price is for In & Out Burgers . There is a nice pond next to Outback , where you can sometimes see egrets !

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a really nice dinner, price was more then fair and the service was very good

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, England
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Outback - SHOCKINGLY RUDE server.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have eaten at a few Outbacks throughout the States and always find the food to be excellent. This place did not disappoint in that respect. We visited early evening of July 28th and were greeted at the door by a pleasnat gentleman who showed us to our table. Our server appeared, an "older" lady with grey hair (I think she may have been called Janet??) She was just rude. Everything was rushed and there was no chitchat like you usually get. When she brought my husbands soup she practically threw it onto the table and her total attitude was rushed and rude. There were a number of little things she said or did that irritated us and left us with a bad impression.
As usual we were too full for any dessert but my husband had inteneded to have a coffee. When she came to ask if we wanted dessert and we replied that we were full she was gone in a flash. No offer of coffee and quite literally before my husband had a chance to even open his mouth! Rather than call her back we just paid and left - got the coffee from somewhere else.
She will not put us off Outback - the food is far too good but a couple of months at charm school would not go amiss!
How do you give negative scores for service on this website???

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“My own personal Cheers. (Where everybody knows your name...)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011 via mobile

I love coming to this Outback. I have been to several and these guys have the best food, and most attentive friendly service.

Whether you want to watch sporting events (4+ TVs), or enjoy people watching this is a fun place to just relax and enjoy a great meal. Folks around the bar love to chat it up and will cheer on the local sports teams.

If you prefer quiet, low light dining,.there are many tables available for that as well.

Highly recommend for both families or solo diners. Yum!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangevale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a great server that attended to our needs! She exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.