We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Sausalito” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Dan Balancing Rocks

Bill Dan Balancing Rocks
Bridgeway Waterfront, Sausalito, CA 94966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 10 Attractions in Sausalito
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
iran
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sausalito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Downtown it is a nice place to walk a spending time there.
Balancing rocks located in its center .
You also have a perfect view to San Francisco. Do not miss it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Dundee, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Take a few minutes to see this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I read the reviews about this prior to visiting Sausalito, but forgot about it. We happened to see this as we were wandering around the town looking for a place to eat. I didn't see him actually performing, but he had quite a few 'towers' in place that were very interesting. I took a few pictures and continued on my walk.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
127 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Boardwalk side show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Not really an attraction. It is pretty cool how he balances the rocks on each other but it's only worth about 5 minutes of your time, 10 if you're really into it. He's located on the boardwalk in downtown Sausalito as another one of the many side shows around town. Not worth specifically seeking out.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing talent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not sure how he managed to balance some of those rocks. One especially, if I had not seen him position it myself, I would have thought it had to be wired together in a hidden way. Well worth the time to check it out, especially if you have kids.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“truly awe-inspiring and "free" if you'd like”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Seeing beautiful awe-inspiring art for free never gets old. Bill Dan is a master and he seems to be driven to do this for the art. Many people gather to view his unusual creations of finding the balancing point of big sea-wall rocks and stacks them vertically in what appears to be an illusion. He's such a nice guy too, very humble and enthused about his work and other people. He encourages children to stack rocks with him, very cool as a mentor.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Dan Balancing Rocks also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Bill Dan Balancing Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Dan Balancing Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.