We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for the view and a quick bite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Caffe

Piccolo Caffe
660 Bridgeway, On the water, end of Princess St, Sausalito, CA 94965
(415) 289-1195
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 73 Restaurants in Sausalito
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Just for the view and a quick bite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Was in Sausalito on Mother's Day so one can imagine everywhere was crowded. We just wanted a nice spot to sit down and have a quick bite and was lucky to find a table outside that offers a panoramic view of the city. The pizza was not too bad actually though a little pricey and the queue was long, but here we are in Sausalito don't forget!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    7
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Awful! Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The only thing that this dingy cafe has going for it is the location.We are certain that people eat there only for the atmosphere,as the place is on the water and features outdoor dining as well as dining in.We dined in, and the counterman who took our order as not friendly at all .He also insisted that we pay up front.Highly unusual.Restaurant was not very busy, yet our meals took 30 minutes to arrive.We ordered a simple spaghetti marinara - what a mistake! Sauce was sour as sour can be, they would have been better off serving us jar sauce from the supermarket.Cost for a small plate of spaghetti was $17.00!We're certain that no locals eat at this place.We have never had Italian food this bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A good find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Somewhat refined atmosphere, excellent waiter, and surprisingly good pasta dishes. You can come casual or dressed. I'd go back again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
“OK, IF YOUR WAITING FOR THE FERRY BACK I SUPPOSE...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We wandered in here looking for something to eat, but being out of season there wasn't a lot to choose from and judging by the underpaid staff's bored expressions just seemed to sum it up completely. As they were about to shut early that day and were putting any food away, so we opted for some drinks and cookies instead, I suppose being in Sausalito you have to expect to pay a little extra, so for a glass of wine cost $9 and a beer roughly $6 pretty steep i thought even for being out of season, and yes we had two drinks each costing around $30 ouch.! On a slightly positive note the views were pretty good, and in high season it might improve who knows?
It's also a handy place to wait for the ferry back to SF if nothing else...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes Norte, Heredia, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“No salt”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I ordered a pesto pasta, Im still waiting to find the pesto, the past was not cooked right and it had no salt at all. Soaked in butter, simply tasteless.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo Caffe also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Piccolo Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Caffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.