We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Sausalito” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Inn Sausalito to your Saves list
The Gables Inn Sausalito
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place in Sausalito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at The Gables. Great location to Sausalito and the ferry to SF is just down the street. The rooms was big and very nice with a small porch out hte side door, very quiet and peaceful. Staff was excellent. Will go back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms close to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    49
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
133
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We returned to the Gables Inn about 2 years after our last visit. We found it to still be a wonderful combination of location, views, friendliness and unique rooms. It's especially nice for a romantic getaway for couples who want the atmosphere of Sausalito, but still only a ferry boat ride away from San Francisco. Families with children might find it less than ideal since there is no pool or play area and the rooms and ambience are more geared to adults. Each room is uniquely furnished with its own style. Wine and cheese gathering in the lobby area takes place nightly, along with a very good continental breakfast in the mornings. Staff are always helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Check out photos of each room online. View rooms cost a little more, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. Our room was so comfortable (amazing bed) and private (with a pretty patio) and clean, the location was convenient, and the breakfast was really nice and peaceful (I love the classical music in the morning). And Michael (the man at the front desk) was so nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I wanted a quick mid-week get away and stayed at The Gables Inn in Sausalito. We have been stayed at this B&B many times over the last 20 years. Needless to say, it is our favorite place to stay in Sausalito. As other reviewers have noted, the location is perfect: a very short walk up the street from the main drag, i.e., Bridgeway Street, right in the heart of Sausalito.

Some of the more expensive rooms have a beautiful view of the S.F. Bay. Our favorite room is the Magnolia Room. However, since our trip was last minute, the Magnolia was not available. We stayed in The Redwood Room and were a bit disappointed. The room was smaller with a queen bed and the air conditioning did not work. There were fans in the room and it got a little too warm for our comfort. It was a letdown from some of the other nicer rooms there. There was free wi-fi in the room which worked adequately.

The breakfast was buffet style and not cook to order. However, it was more than adequate with yogurt, pastries, cereal, eggs, quiche, fruit, bagels, coffee, teas, orange juice, etc. Our only other complaint is that they now charge for parking, whereas in the past it was free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I live in Northern California and have been to Sausalito many times, but have missed The Gables Inn. What a find! The room was very nice. Large, clean, high ceilings, Restoration Hardware towels, and a pretty patio with a water view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Both the happy hour refreshments and the breakfast were wonderful. It is located just a block off Bridgeway where all the shops and restaurants are located and the walk along the waterfront is amazing. I would definitely return to The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Australia and stayed between 13th and 22nd June in the Buckeye Room. It was a big room with great amenities with fantastic breakfasts every morning and wine and cheese every evening. What more could we ask for. Great weather close to the ferry and shopping. The staff were wonderful. We have have told everyone about The Gables and would definitely recommend it. After staying at Fishermans Wharf 3 years ago this hotel wins hands down Trish Australia

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Quaint charming inn with great staff. Wonderful generous breakfast with many selections. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Wine and cheese reception in evening was nicely done. Very quiet at night. However, we were disappointed that our room was visibly dirty and very hot. The duvet cover was stained, bathroom white wooden shade was very worn and dirty, light switches and walls in bathroom were dirty, carpet was stained. The room featured beautiful white painted doors and woodwork but all were dirty. Also, the a/c in the room (we stayed in the Redwood Room) didn't work. We were told to put a fan in the window and the room would cool nicely at night. Unfortunately, the room never cooled below 76 degrees, even though it was chilly and breezy outside. If the a/c was functional and the room was given a much needed thorough cleaning, I would rate our stay as a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Address: 62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Inn Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.