We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place to Stay in Sausalito” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Gables Inn Sausalito to your Saves list
The Gables Inn Sausalito
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A Nice Place to Stay in Sausalito”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I wanted a quick mid-week get away and stayed at The Gables Inn in Sausalito. We have been stayed at this B&B many times over the last 20 years. Needless to say, it is our favorite place to stay in Sausalito. As other reviewers have noted, the location is perfect: a very short walk up the street from the main drag, i.e., Bridgeway Street, right in the heart of Sausalito.

Some of the more expensive rooms have a beautiful view of the S.F. Bay. Our favorite room is the Magnolia Room. However, since our trip was last minute, the Magnolia was not available. We stayed in The Redwood Room and were a bit disappointed. The room was smaller with a queen bed and the air conditioning did not work. There were fans in the room and it got a little too warm for our comfort. It was a letdown from some of the other nicer rooms there. There was free wi-fi in the room which worked adequately.

The breakfast was buffet style and not cook to order. However, it was more than adequate with yogurt, pastries, cereal, eggs, quiche, fruit, bagels, coffee, teas, orange juice, etc. Our only other complaint is that they now charge for parking, whereas in the past it was free.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    46
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
126
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I live in Northern California and have been to Sausalito many times, but have missed The Gables Inn. What a find! The room was very nice. Large, clean, high ceilings, Restoration Hardware towels, and a pretty patio with a water view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Both the happy hour refreshments and the breakfast were wonderful. It is located just a block off Bridgeway where all the shops and restaurants are located and the walk along the waterfront is amazing. I would definitely return to The Gables Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Australia and stayed between 13th and 22nd June in the Buckeye Room. It was a big room with great amenities with fantastic breakfasts every morning and wine and cheese every evening. What more could we ask for. Great weather close to the ferry and shopping. The staff were wonderful. We have have told everyone about The Gables and would definitely recommend it. After staying at Fishermans Wharf 3 years ago this hotel wins hands down Trish Australia

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Quaint charming inn with great staff. Wonderful generous breakfast with many selections. Easy walk to shops and restaurants. Wine and cheese reception in evening was nicely done. Very quiet at night. However, we were disappointed that our room was visibly dirty and very hot. The duvet cover was stained, bathroom white wooden shade was very worn and dirty, light switches and walls in bathroom were dirty, carpet was stained. The room featured beautiful white painted doors and woodwork but all were dirty. Also, the a/c in the room (we stayed in the Redwood Room) didn't work. We were told to put a fan in the window and the room would cool nicely at night. Unfortunately, the room never cooled below 76 degrees, even though it was chilly and breezy outside. If the a/c was functional and the room was given a much needed thorough cleaning, I would rate our stay as a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

what a pleasant surprise The Gables Inn Sausalito was. The last time we stayed in the bay area we stayed at a very nice hotel near Fisherman's wharf, nice but you were kind of "just another guest" but not the case at The Gables Inn, the staff were all very friendly and helpful in every way and treat you as a valued visitor. The evening wine and snacks were wonderful as well as the continental breakfast. The room was clean, spacious and modern with a flair of classic that compliments the nice area the Inn is located in (easy access to everything). Our room had a balcony that was nice sit outside and catch up on some reading. My wife, daughter and I were very pleased with The Gables Inn and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have amazing views of SF bay and others have balconies but no view. Either can be a winne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beautiful B&B tucked in the hills of Sausalito with wonderful views of San Francisco. A short trip to the city. Each room is beautifully decorated with its own unique charm. Fabulous choice of rooms from Victorian with a claw foot tub to the Suite on the top floor with a jacuzzi tub and phenomenal views of San Francisco. Service is impeccable the manager Michael will make sure your stay is perfect. Excellent breakfast and wine and appetizers in the evening. All rooms are stocked well with a mini bar of local treats and local wines from Napa. I felt like a new person after one night. Many repeat guests from around the world which makes for interesting conversation in the cozy living room in front of the fireplace.
A definite must stay when traveling to Sausalito San Francisco and Napa.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This is our second stay here, and hopefully not our last. I can't say enough about the staff here at The Gables. From the email correspondence before we booked until checkout, the customer service was outstanding. We stayed in the Buckeye Room last time and the Cypress Room this time. The rooms are similar and share a patio with a view of the bay, which we love for quiet time.
Little touches are added to every aspect of your stay to make it memorable, from the fresh cut flowers, to the relaxing music, to the fresh fruit and nuts served at happy hour and breakfast. No pre-fab food here. I had mentioned to the staff that my wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and within minutes of checking in, a special surprise was delivered to our room. You get a sense of genuine friendliness from the staff here, and that is rare in their industry.

Room Tip: Buckeye and Cypress are ground level for easy access from your car, only a few steps from the breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Address: 62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Inn Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.