We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great stay in Sausalito” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Inn Sausalito

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Inn Sausalito to your Saves list
The Gables Inn Sausalito
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sausalito B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Sonoma County, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overall great stay in Sausalito”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

There is a lot to love about the Gables Inn in Sausalito. The location is fantastic for exploring downtown Sausalito on foot with easy access to the ferry, great dining, and a nice array of shops and galleries. The wine and cheese reception in the lobby was lovely and included a decent selection of olives, cheeses, and crackers. Likewise, the continental breakfast offered a nice variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, danish, bagels and toast, and hard boiled eggs.

We stayed in the Laurel Room (Room 103) which while small was comfortable and nicely appointed with a large flatscreen TV with Direct TV, a jetted tub with rain shower, Aveda bath products, and a Keurig coffee maker accompanied by a nice assortment of coffees and tea. While the room lacked a refrigerator, it came supplied with a variety of snacks and a couple of bottles of wine (at extra charge).

A few negatives should be mentioned - the window shades could not be raised, When I peeked behind them, I was shocked to see that the window sills were filthy. In fact, one of window sills was so damaged, the window did not close completely. The woman at the front desk explained that this room was in the "newer wing" so we were surprised at the condition of the windows/sills.

We had a bit of trouble getting the TV to work initially as there were two remotes (one for the TV and one for Direct TV) and no instructions in the room. I called the front desk for assistance and was told someone would be right down. The woman from the front desk arrived within a few seconds and proceeded to scold us for "touching" one of the remotes. (As it turned out, the prior guest had switched the input on the TV.) It really wasn't' a big deal, but I didn't appreciate being scolded for a situation we did not create.

All in all, we had a lovely stay in Sausalito. I would recommend the Gables with the caveat that the Laurel Room should be avoided until the broken window frame/sill is repaired and cleaned.

Room Tip: Avoid the Laurel Room unless the windows are cleaned and repaired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    49
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
133
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We've visited the Bay area on long weekends a number of times and have found that we prefer staying in Sausalito to staying in "The City." When we were unable to book at our "regular" hotel we booked a room at The Gables for three nights. At just over $200/night + $20/parking we found this small inn to be an excellent value in a terrific location. Our comfortable room was located down a short flight of stairs from the reception area. It was nicely furnished with a large Jacuzzi tub/shower, a very comfortable bed and a large flat screen television. Bridge Street shops and restaurants were just a short walk away. We especially appreciated the breakfast with fresh pastries, breads, fruits, yogurt, juices, coffee, etc. The friendly and knowledgeable staff was very helpful with directions to area points of interest and restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 103, the Laurel Room. The windows were closed (its getting cool) and we had no probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport-Beach, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the Lilac Room in October (What an amazing tub this one has) plus a lovely view of the city and it was a very quiet room, too! We loved the ambiance of this place, including the wine and cheese hours where we met other guests and the very substantial breakfast (lots of fruit, yogurts, baked goods...anything except fresh cooked things but really, there is plenty to choose from). The main room is darling and most of all, the people are warm and welcoming. Plus, of course, you just walk down the short hill and you are in the village of Sausalito. Try to walk so you can avoid the challenge of parking in Sausalito. We highly recommend the Gables Inn!

Room Tip: Lilac Room was nice and quiet because it is in the part of the building that does not directly overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Gables Inn is in a great location, convenient to the harbor, restaurants and shops in the downtown area. We chose to stay in the Bay Room, one of their top (most expensive) rooms. The room was large and the view was good (see photos) although marred by wires (phone/electric?) that crossed the view in the foreground. The website photo of the room is accurate, but we did find some things we were unhappy with.
When we arrived the waste basket had not been emptied and there were someone's leftover snacks in the refrigerator. The bathroom window was open and would not close - the frame was broken (you could see the rotted wood on the bottom). The management obviously knew about this, but in speaking with three different people, each brushed it off with "you know this is a very old building". On our second day there it was "repaired" - closed so that it could not be opened until they got around to replacing the window frame. (They told us they would be doing that and asked if it was OK that we would be unable to open the window.) There is a daily parking fee. I was aware of this from my conformation letter although upon arrival I was told that it was $20 per day. I said that my letter (and the info in the room) quoted $15 per day. They said that it had increased in March. After I protested I was given the $15 rate.

On the positive side, as I first mentioned, the location is terrific. The breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese were very good. (No hot items for breakfast, but a good selection of fruits, yogurts, delicious pastries, etc.) Our bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

All in all, I doubt that we would return. While this lovely old historic Sausalito building has a lot to offer, given the cost of the rooms, it needs some more TLC.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a great deal of stair climbing if you choose one of the more expensive "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This small hotel is situated on a side street in "downtown" Sausalito. It couldn't be more convenient. Staff is courteous and very ready to help with advise for restaurants, sightseeing, etc. The hotel is set up more like a small condominium with two attached buildings and a courtyard in between. There is on site parking for $20 per day charge.
We had one of the smaller rooms with a king bed and large sofa bed in the adjoining living room. Two TV's, one a huge flat screen. Linens were good quality. Toiletries by Aveno. Rooms were tastefully done in light colored fabrics. Large jetted tub with nice shower. A shelf above the pedestal sink would have solved the awkwardness of where to put your things. They offer complementary wine (one red and one white) with a nice assortment of cheese and olives from 5:30 to 7:30 in the evening. There is continental breakfast in the morning with cereal, pastry and fruit. No hot dishes. The place is not cheap at $300 on up, but not at all out of line for the area. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in the Gables Inn for the first night of our recent road trip around California. We were greated by the nicest of receptionists (a young lady, sorry i have forgotten her name) i have ever come accross. She made us feel so welcome and even kept the wine and cheese behind for us as we had arrived just as it was finishing.
We stayed in a wonderful room over looking the bay with a balcony which we took full advantage of whilst sipping our wine and enjoying our first night in America.
The facilities and service at the hotel are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for anyone that we came accross.
We will certainly go back and would recommend anyone that is going through Sausalito stay at this lovely sleepy inn.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the upper level and that have a view of the San Francisco skyline, the view at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here for 5 days during a road trip around CA. When you step into the hotel, the aroma from the flowers and candles is just beautiful and relaxing. I stayed in room 103, the Laurel room. It was well equipped with a large wardrobe, bedside tables with drawers as well as an iron and ironing board. The bathroom had a tub with jets and a shower. The breakfast was excellent, lots of fruit and pastries. Cheese and wine in the evening is a lovely extra as well. It's in a great location for catching the ferry across to San Francisco and is at the right side of the city for escaping up to Napa and Sonoma valleys. There are a lot of good restaurants within walking distance in Sausalito and lots of nice little shops too. Would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Inn Sausalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Inn Sausalito

Address: 62 Princess St., Sausalito, CA 94965
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Inn Sausalito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself… The Gables Inn Sausalito welcomes you! Perfectly located in a quiet setting amongst a small grove of Buckeye trees on Princess Street, but only a minute walk to the San Francisco Ferry, art galleries, and world-class restaurants in the center of downtown Sausalito. In contrast to the activity in the nearby shops along Bridgeway Street, guests are immersed in tranquility by our peaceful location and setting. Return from your daily activities to relax around the fireplace and socialize at our evening wine and cheese reception, or unwind in your exquisite room submerged in the oversized bathtub with spa jets. The spectacular amenities will inspire and re energize.Our genuine passion for providing a wonderful guest experience is evidenced in the brilliantly personalized service and attention to detail. It is our pleasure to host your next visit to Sausalito. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Inn Sausalito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Inn Sausalito Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Inn Sausalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.