We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL, YOU WON'T FEEL LIKE YOUR NEAR THE BIG CITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Oakland, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOTEL, YOU WON'T FEEL LIKE YOUR NEAR THE BIG CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is an exceptional place to stay. There are few hotels like it in the world, and we all need to experience it at some point. Comforting forest location makes the air crisp and a stroll is always a pleasure. But in all this foresty comfort you have the best view of San Francisco and you are always ten minutes away from a good time in the city. Luckily you can retire to this beautiful corner away from it all.
Besides location, the rooms, service, and restaurant/bar are exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    144
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
118
310
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We went for a short trip over NY weekend. Surprised that our room wasnt available until close to 5pm with no explanation or apologies from the front desk. The "historic rooms with a view" are basically old and only have views if you are standing at the windows. Better to go with the newer rooms with the fireplace. We were surprised the hotel has a Fitness Center, since the website only highlights the Spa and doesnt mention the Fitness Center, or if it does, is difficult to locate. The best thing by far about Cavallo Point is the murray Circle restaurant. We would go back again and again for that, not for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

There are some needling quirks to the place, but overall, it is a great value. We live in San Francisco and retreat to Cavallo every once in a while for their spa and a break from the city.
The restaurant, although labeled as fine dining, is a very good restaurant but offers a pretty hefty price tag and unexperienced wait staff. If you don't expect four star service, you won't be disappointed. The bar is cozy and offers inventive cocktails either afternoon or evening.
The classic building junior suites, in our opinion, are superior to the regular suites because they are seemingly more spacious, offering an extremely large room and bath versus two small rooms and small bath.
The hotel's dedication to sustainability is admirable and there are touches throughout the hotel that remind you of this dedication: towels versus paper, glasses versus paper cups, etc.
We have been to to the spa numerous times and it is one of the best in the area; we have always had good massages with every therapist we've ever seen.
The hotel is dog friendly and we appreciate bringing our pooch with us. The staff could not be nicer to him.
At times, service can be spotty throughout the hotel, but we always overlook it simply because it is a good value for our hard earned money. It would probably be a great place for a company retreat, complete with cooking lessons.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

The Cavallo Point Lodge is located in beautiful Golden Gate National Park, just over the Golden Gate Bridge in Sausalito. The lodge is literally located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge. The location may feel remote as you are tucked away on a small cove but you are just minutes from Sausalito and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco. It's the perfect spot for a romantic getaway, a family vacation or a relaxing retreat.

To the naked eye, Cavallo Point looks like the most amazing camp for adults, but its really an upscale hotel and spa. The hotel grounds are not only lush and breathtaking but historic. Cavallo Point is a former military base from the early part of the 19th century called Fort Baker. The officer's quarters have been restored and the picturesque white houses with their wrap around porches are used as the hotel rooms. Also available is a new contemporary building with modern hotel rooms. All the rooms are perfectly appointed, but I recommend the historic officer's quarters for a unique experience. To the naked eye, Cavallo Point looks like the most amazing camp for adults, but its really an upscale hotel and spa.

Cavallo Point has a plethora of activities for those who want to be adventurous or just relax. The most popular activites are a walk to Golden Gate Bridge and along the trails of Golden Gate National Park, one of the most popular parks in the U.S. The spa offers free morning yoga, an outdoor hot pool and every kind of spa treatment imaginable. Be sure to take advantage of the Michelin rated restaurant, Murray Circle, where you can also take cooking classes. If your idea of a vacation is to do "nothing" then this is the perfect spot for you as well. Popular non-activities include: gazing at the bridge from your rocking chair on one of the many porches, taking a nap in the sun on the lush grounds, or enjoying a glass of wine and a book in the toasty warm bar. The hotel is very animal friendly, which can be both positive and negative. Although the grounds aren't overwhelmed with animals, there are quite a few furry friends running around and lounging on the main porch.

I recommend Cavallo Point as a wonderful getaway from the city. It feels like you are so much further away when really you are just minutes from home. You'll return home relaxed, well fed and happy. I also love taking out of town guests to brunch here as the food and view are amazing and it makes them jealous of the amazing city I live in and me proud.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Cavallo Point is a former military base located just north and under the Golden Gate Bridge. The grounds and views are lovely and the restaurants tasty (although on the small portion side). However, it was the room that made the trip for us. The converted officer's quarters felt like a home-away-from-home, with a front porch and rocking chairs to boot! All modern amenities are included (flat screen TV, updated bathroom, etc.) but be forewarned that there is no air conditioning in the room. With San Francisco Bay's breeze, this was never a problem. Our room had a view of the bridge as well. There is plenty in the area to explore... hiking/biking trails, waterfront, the Discovery Museum, and even an old gun battery are all footsteps from your room. There is also a guided tour of the grounds each day and a cell phone/self guided tour to do on your own time. The hotel is also dog friendly and has a fitness room and a spa with high tea each day and yoga for all in the morning. Only 2 miles from downtown Sausalito where shopping and restaurants abound. There is no question that we'll be back and would highly recommend this hotel/resort for a quite, quaint and scenic retreat.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Cavallo Point for a weekend recently and loved it. It is a renovated Army Camp (Camp Baker). It is very secluded yet very close to S.F. and Sausalito (10 mins from each). We had a romantic time with outrageously delicious dinners at Murray Circle Restaurant (at Cavallo Point). We biked from Cavallo Point to S.F. and took the Ferry to Sausalito and biked back to the lodge. There is a beautiful spa and hiking opportunities. It is definitely pricey, but great for a splurge.
My only complaint is the picture window, with a view of the Golden Gate bridge, was dirty so the view was a little more foggy than the actual weather.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Must give this five stars for location and three for the hotel operation., so four overall. Check-in is positively stupid. You have to try to park your car or valet it (if you are in the contemporary wings) and then kinda stand around until you figure out where to go. By this time I am already steaming as the family stands in the cold wind. The desk people are friendly but don't really temper the frustration of dealing with the logistics. Then, back out to the curb and wait and wait for a golf cart to escort us to the room. Of course, they give us the wrong room with the wrong key. I'll spare you the details but the problem went on and on. Later financial restitution helped but did not compensate for the frustration.

Good things: the restaurant is more than fine. Food is abundant and very good. The bar is cozy. The rooms are fine but be sure to get a second floor suite in the contemporary. These have vaulted ceilings and seem larger.

This place needs a hotel management change. Or at least a consultant to iron out the bugs. It all seems so simple to me but perhaps I underestimate the logistical problems.

BTW, the photos of the place are true to form. very pretty. Cavallo Point should probably be experienced by you but do pray for a better hotel experience. Oh, two nights here are probably better than one: waking up to the vista of the city and the bridge helps one to forget the difficulty of dealing with the problematic hotel logistics.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.