We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

If you like feeling connected to your surroundings, local history and to stay near a world class city, Cavallo Point fits the bill nicely. Each day during our stay, my wife and I found something new to be amazed or interested in at Cavallo Point. It was either deer playfully wandering through the grounds, a new hiking trail through the Marin Headlands, an unique aspect of the Old Fort Baker, or a detail from the staff or room itself. Our entire stay was amazing, and the staff was overly enthusiastic to talk about and show off the amazing property on which Cavallo Point rests. Albeit, the rooms are pricey, but I would say worthy of that price considering the effort and detail put into creating the ultimate in sophisticated travel. The hotel is full of amenities and things to do, which were all great and worthwhile. Again, the prices were steep, but after splurging on our honeymoon, it is easy to see where the extra money goes. Do not let the reviews of the restaurant merge with reviews of the hotel. (Although we thought the food and service was amazing at Murray Circle.) After reading previous reviews that criticized the service at this hotel, I assure you they are much better now. Each employee seemed to be delighted to help us and assure that we were enjoying ourselves at their hotel...I felt that the employees were proud to work there. After visiting, I was proud to have been there! It's a unique spot and well worth a stay for anyone remotely interested in Bay area nature and culture. Even if just for a short stay, I assure you it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    359
    114
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
259
16
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

There is one main issue with Cavallo Point Hotel at Sausalito San Francisco, and that is the lack of attention to detail and the enthusiastic but not very slick service across all aspects of the hotel. Overall the hotel ends up providing a stay that is "fine" but not special. This is such a pity as the location is special and historic (an old army base at the base of the Golden gate bridge in a national park) and has stunning views of both the bridge and across the bay to the city of San Francisco.

The place is slightly surreal and odd, as it is a concerted army base and the old buildings and barracks have been converted into rooms. They are set in a large horseshoe shape around some open ground, with newer (what they call contemporary) buildings built up on the hill. The new buildings look nothing like the old and do not follow the same colours and so looks like a hotel in 2 parts.

The bar (Farley’s) and the Michelin star restaurant are attractive and busy. The food is good. And this seems to be the most successful part of the venture.

There is a good spa, but very expensive and so most people seemed to use it to hang out and use the small heated pool. There is a few buildings down a good sized fitness room with good range of cardio equipment and small weights section.

Our room (we had a king) in the contemporary buildings with good view of the bridge. The decor was quite Swedish like and fine, but not spectacular. It was large though and the bed was comfortable. There was a huge flat screen TV with good range of channels. The bathroom was large.

But overall service was mixed and for example:
- although the hotel was very empty we were put in a room (knowing we had travelled from London) that was next to a suite lounge where a party was booked.
- there were 5 empty beer bottles on our veranda that never were cleaned away, and a dead bird after the 1st day that also did not get cleaned
- no service at all one day
- our key had only been programmed for part of our stay
- they would bring all courses ordered at once And so on.

So just lack of detail. People were enthusiastic and nice, but not so efficient.

I would not recommend this place to friends, as although nice to be just outside the city and quick to get in, it was not special enough for the money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

If you are looking for a scenic glass of wine, this is the perfect spot, as the wines are delicious. If you are looking for a warm place out of the fog, don't bother -- the outdoor heat lamps and blankets aren't that effective; better to bring your own hat and parka.
Looking for a normal-sized meal? You won't get that either. $180 dollars and many hours of slow service later, we walked away with hunger pains and zoomed home for a normal meal.
Ideal for: rich people, those not affected by the economic crisis, romantics
Not ideal for: families, people on a budget, people who don't want to starve

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed several nights in the newer rooms at Cavallo Point and the accommodations were superb.

Cavallo Point has the most comfortable bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. Waking up to views of the Golden Gate was a real treat. The room was beyond spacious and comfortable. We had no issues with heating (a beautiful fireplace) or cooling (a ceiling fan and windows). I would gladly copy the entire room as my personal studio apartment, that's how great it was.

The location of Cavallo Point offers a pleasant respite to the hectic pace of the city while maintaining a distance close enough that returning back to the city is just a brief ride away.

The restaurant food was delicious (portions are small though).

I would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Cavallo Point. If you are a U.S. or Military history buff, this is the place for you. We initially chose this hotel because it was the only resort in Sausalito that would allow one-night stays. Now, it will be my FIRST choice. I loved the room, which was one of the former Officer's Cottages. It was tastefully decorated and updated with modern conveniences, yet you could still feel the history. We had a great time walking the grounds and touring the old Battery structure. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Location!! Sitting at the base of the Golden gate bridge is this outstanding hotel. The restuarant serves delicious food while the spa will leave you feeling so relaxed. We stayed in one of the well appointed historic suites. You would never know how close you are to the city as the property is so well secluded and quiet. The grounds allow you to walk right down to the water to look out into the bay area. We enjoyed our first night here so much that we we changed our travel plans so that we could spend a second night before returning home. We would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Where else do you find a magnificent setting, rich with military history, sensitive restoration of 100-year old soldiers' quarters into comfortable green and sustainable accomodations, a vast playground in the Golden Gate National Park, friendly and professional staff, delicious food, plentiful lounging areas inside and out with stunning views of the bridge and San Francisco skyline, a museum, spa, and more? The peaceful setting is perfect for relaxing, exploring, or taking the convenient ferry to San Francisco. Two days weren't enough to see everything. We loved the Cavallo Point Lodge and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.