We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Green Hotel with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a Great Green Hotel with a view of the Golden Gate Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Love this hotel - Had a great room very large with a fire place, large jacuzzi bath tube and a view of the Golden Gate Bridge. We had so much fun at dinner we decided to have a Staycation and enjoyed our room very much. So close to the city with Marin county at your finger tips.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

Please do come visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    121
    37
    20
    15
See reviews for
104
271
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were here 30 December 2013 to 1 January 2014.
First room was Historic Two-Bedroom Suites. Large , spacious and nicely.
The only thing that was the drawback was that we were three adults and a child , which meant that one of the adults had to lie on the sofa bed because the queen bed was too small for two adults who do not know each other .
The sofa bed was extremely uncomfortable , slept very poorly in it! For thin mattress to sleep comfortably.

But the bathroom was like a dream , great, fine with everything you need. The shower was great nice and the tub a dream. Here, they have invested a lot of money.

What was missing was somewhere to eat in the room, if you had bought with you a breakfast or dinner. No micro or small kitchen. Feels like they want to you to eat in their restaurant, where everything is expensive and you get a small bit of food for too much money. Nothing fancy food for so much money ...

The service from hotel staff is really good, especially from those who clean , carrying bags and more ... I hope they get paid for their good service.

At the spa, it's very impersonal and the staff is more suspicious than friendly, I can not change clothes in Peace, it was the staff who would not let me be alone to dress on ... there is nowhere to get a private room to get dressed ... :(

Then we would switch room ( after we have received recommendations to change rooms because of the better view of the fireworks - Golden Gate view) but when the clock struck midnight and the fireworks began , we saw nothing .. when my husband and daughter went out and watched the fireworks were , it was not over the Golden Gate Bridge , but over the second bridge , and the view of the fireworks were the best where we lived before . We had not had to change rooms . : (
I told about this when we checked out but they said that none of the rooms had been fitted for the fireworks view but they said you have to go down to the pier. But that was not true : You saw the fireworks from Historic Two-Bedroom Suites. Needless to move room , pack up and down for no result.

The room which we changed to was the Contemporary Two Queens . Nothing to recommend for 3 adults and a child! Too small , poor cleaning , air mattress was really really bad to sleep on! Disappointing for the money!

Come here when there is better weather and warmer , perhaps by March onwards ? It was sad not to be able to use all the fine patios because it was not warm enough and sunny. During December and January , it is cloudy all morning and the sun disappears at 3 pm ..

Good to know; Expensive to eat in the dinning and bar area for family and expensive in hotellest stores!

Room Tip: Perhaps no family hotel, excellent if you are a couple without children. Not family friendly, in tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that there were some service areas of your recent visit where we needed to improve and will make certain to discuss your comments in detail with my management team.

We do sincerely appreciate your compliments and would welcome the opportunity to have you visit us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Access to San Francisco and Marin…without the hassles of The City. Stunning view of the neighbor: The Golden Gate Bridge. Good place for young children: no traffic and adjacent to a kids discovery museum. Very relaxing layout: rocking chairs on the porch with glasses of wine. Sleek room design in the new buildings on the hill. Great yoga, minimal fitness center (get outside!) Sophisticated menu.

Room Tip: Tell them if you're with kids, extended family, or couple -- the rooms are purpose-designed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We hope to welcome you and your family back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cavallo Point is located near the base of the Golden Gate Bridge but a world away. The combination of the historic rooms and excellent food was a pleasant surprise. Very serene location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The view of the Golden Gate Bridge, and the lights of San Francisco were post-card perfect. In this pastoral setting you are stepping back in time a hundred years, the architecture, and lush trees and lawns were as peaceful and soothing as they were authentic. Yet we had every modern amenity, and from the Concierge, to the Front Desk, to the four star restaurant, it was top notch, first class service all the way. If you are looking for a luxurious, relaxing, roomy, and peaceful vacation this is the place. At night we looked out at beautiful water, GG Bridge and city views, cozily enjoying the crackling warmth from our in-room fireplace, listening to the mournful calls of coyotes in the adjacent national forest, and distant fog-horns on the bay. San Franciso, the Wharf, Muir Woods, and Sausalito are all just minutes away. We spent 9 full days here, a bit long for any hotel, but the rooms were so roomy, and there was so much to do, that we honestly could have stayed another week. This would be the perfect place for a wedding, anniversary, or other occasion, and our kids, ages 8 and 13, loved it too. They could run on the lawns, explore the nearby woods, walk to the pier, or roam about the fort. An absolutely lovely experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "historic" part of the resort and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We are ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our two toddlers stayed in a historic two bedroom suite for 4 nights. We arrived in the evening after a long drive and had a warm greeting at reception as well as a much needed glass of wine! We were immediately shown to our room however it was an accessible room which didn't work for our family (no bathtub). We called reception to inquire about changing rooms but were told they have to call us back. We called to order room service as it was way past our kids dinner time and they had to call us back as well. We were starting to wonder how many people were actually working at the hotel during the evening. Finally we got calls back on both fronts, ordered dinner and found that we could switch rooms the next day. Room service was good and timely and they also brought a complimentary bottle of wine & chocolates as well as milk & cookies for our boys.

Both rooms we stayed in were great - tons of room, comfortable beds, nicely decorated. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and dinner there twice. The food was & service were good but there wasn't any variation to the menu. The specials were the same each day - I guess they aren't really that special. The nightly wine reception and managers reception on Friday nights were nice. We enjoyed the wine and the fire pits while meeting some other guests.

The location and the views at this hotel are fantastic and having the Discovery Museum so close was a real plus for us and our kids. I wish I could have visited the spa to check it out. It looked lovely walking by.

Overall we would come back as I think it's a great place to stay with family if you don't want to stay directly in the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is the most beautiful, charming and characterful hotel with amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge. We returned for New Year's Eve as a party of six, as we were attending an event at the Discovery Museum next door and thought it would be an atmospheric place to see in 2014 with views across the bay to the San Francisco fireworks. The room - a 2 bedroom suite - was lovely. However, having made the reservation for a party of 6 and having requested a baby cot on booking, we had expected the sofa bed in the lounge to be made up and the cot to be in place on arrival. When it wasn't, we called reception to put this right, and went out for a few hours. On our return nothing had been done and it took a further 2 calls to reception before housekeeping appeared - well after the time I'd normally wish to put my children to bed. The other problem was breakfast. When we turned up for breakfast at 10am we were told that there would be an hour's wait as we didn't have a reservation - nobody had told us when we checked in that we would need a reservation, and making a reservation for breakfast is not something we're used to having to do. My two small children couldn't wait that long to eat, so we ended up having to sit outside shivering over our food. Given the price paid for the stay, I don't think this is really good enough. With its spectacular location and super rooms this hotel could really be world-class, but its rather mediocre service lets it down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm very sorry to hear about the delays in service.

This has been one of our busiest holiday seasons ever, however, please rest assured that we are committed to providing the best experience for all guests. I will be certain to review your comments with my staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.