We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Both Worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best of Both Worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Access to San Francisco and Marin…without the hassles of The City. Stunning view of the neighbor: The Golden Gate Bridge. Good place for young children: no traffic and adjacent to a kids discovery museum. Very relaxing layout: rocking chairs on the porch with glasses of wine. Sleek room design in the new buildings on the hill. Great yoga, minimal fitness center (get outside!) Sophisticated menu.

Room Tip: Tell them if you're with kids, extended family, or couple -- the rooms are purpose-designed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We hope to welcome you and your family back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    114
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
261
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Cavallo Point is located near the base of the Golden Gate Bridge but a world away. The combination of the historic rooms and excellent food was a pleasant surprise. Very serene location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

The view of the Golden Gate Bridge, and the lights of San Francisco were post-card perfect. In this pastoral setting you are stepping back in time a hundred years, the architecture, and lush trees and lawns were as peaceful and soothing as they were authentic. Yet we had every modern amenity, and from the Concierge, to the Front Desk, to the four star restaurant, it was top notch, first class service all the way. If you are looking for a luxurious, relaxing, roomy, and peaceful vacation this is the place. At night we looked out at beautiful water, GG Bridge and city views, cozily enjoying the crackling warmth from our in-room fireplace, listening to the mournful calls of coyotes in the adjacent national forest, and distant fog-horns on the bay. San Franciso, the Wharf, Muir Woods, and Sausalito are all just minutes away. We spent 9 full days here, a bit long for any hotel, but the rooms were so roomy, and there was so much to do, that we honestly could have stayed another week. This would be the perfect place for a wedding, anniversary, or other occasion, and our kids, ages 8 and 13, loved it too. They could run on the lawns, explore the nearby woods, walk to the pier, or roam about the fort. An absolutely lovely experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "historic" part of the resort and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We are ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely visit and hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our two toddlers stayed in a historic two bedroom suite for 4 nights. We arrived in the evening after a long drive and had a warm greeting at reception as well as a much needed glass of wine! We were immediately shown to our room however it was an accessible room which didn't work for our family (no bathtub). We called reception to inquire about changing rooms but were told they have to call us back. We called to order room service as it was way past our kids dinner time and they had to call us back as well. We were starting to wonder how many people were actually working at the hotel during the evening. Finally we got calls back on both fronts, ordered dinner and found that we could switch rooms the next day. Room service was good and timely and they also brought a complimentary bottle of wine & chocolates as well as milk & cookies for our boys.

Both rooms we stayed in were great - tons of room, comfortable beds, nicely decorated. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and dinner there twice. The food was & service were good but there wasn't any variation to the menu. The specials were the same each day - I guess they aren't really that special. The nightly wine reception and managers reception on Friday nights were nice. We enjoyed the wine and the fire pits while meeting some other guests.

The location and the views at this hotel are fantastic and having the Discovery Museum so close was a real plus for us and our kids. I wish I could have visited the spa to check it out. It looked lovely walking by.

Overall we would come back as I think it's a great place to stay with family if you don't want to stay directly in the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback!

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is the most beautiful, charming and characterful hotel with amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge. We returned for New Year's Eve as a party of six, as we were attending an event at the Discovery Museum next door and thought it would be an atmospheric place to see in 2014 with views across the bay to the San Francisco fireworks. The room - a 2 bedroom suite - was lovely. However, having made the reservation for a party of 6 and having requested a baby cot on booking, we had expected the sofa bed in the lounge to be made up and the cot to be in place on arrival. When it wasn't, we called reception to put this right, and went out for a few hours. On our return nothing had been done and it took a further 2 calls to reception before housekeeping appeared - well after the time I'd normally wish to put my children to bed. The other problem was breakfast. When we turned up for breakfast at 10am we were told that there would be an hour's wait as we didn't have a reservation - nobody had told us when we checked in that we would need a reservation, and making a reservation for breakfast is not something we're used to having to do. My two small children couldn't wait that long to eat, so we ended up having to sit outside shivering over our food. Given the price paid for the stay, I don't think this is really good enough. With its spectacular location and super rooms this hotel could really be world-class, but its rather mediocre service lets it down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm very sorry to hear about the delays in service.

This has been one of our busiest holiday seasons ever, however, please rest assured that we are committed to providing the best experience for all guests. I will be certain to review your comments with my staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Second stay at this property and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. We stayed in a historic room versus modern, and were very comfortable with 2 adults, a teenager and toddler. We ate a couple of times at Murray Circle, and had an excellent experience with both breakfast and dinner. The staff was always friendly and helpful! I absolutely love the history of the property, and the LOCATION is just wonderful -- we enjoyed the temperate November weather and views of the Golden Gate so much! My daughter who is two + had a fun filled day at the Bay Area Museum while the boys hiked the headlands. The only problem, we had to leave.

Green Features: They take a very conscientious effort at being green --
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you choosing to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax, eat great food and take your dogs for a stay. The staff are ultra helpful and friendly. The trails and view of the GG bridge are breathtaking. Murray Circle food is a great foodie experience. Farley Bar is fun place too.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed (old and new types) were lovely. We really like the ones with the view o...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel goes the extra miles to be green and I really appreciate that. Recycling containers in the room are great. Many other things they do to be green as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post - we appreciate your kind words!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.