We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I so wish this hotel could get the service right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I so wish this hotel could get the service right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is the most beautiful, charming and characterful hotel with amazing views of the Golden Gate Bridge. We returned for New Year's Eve as a party of six, as we were attending an event at the Discovery Museum next door and thought it would be an atmospheric place to see in 2014 with views across the bay to the San Francisco fireworks. The room - a 2 bedroom suite - was lovely. However, having made the reservation for a party of 6 and having requested a baby cot on booking, we had expected the sofa bed in the lounge to be made up and the cot to be in place on arrival. When it wasn't, we called reception to put this right, and went out for a few hours. On our return nothing had been done and it took a further 2 calls to reception before housekeeping appeared - well after the time I'd normally wish to put my children to bed. The other problem was breakfast. When we turned up for breakfast at 10am we were told that there would be an hour's wait as we didn't have a reservation - nobody had told us when we checked in that we would need a reservation, and making a reservation for breakfast is not something we're used to having to do. My two small children couldn't wait that long to eat, so we ended up having to sit outside shivering over our food. Given the price paid for the stay, I don't think this is really good enough. With its spectacular location and super rooms this hotel could really be world-class, but its rather mediocre service lets it down.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm very sorry to hear about the delays in service.

This has been one of our busiest holiday seasons ever, however, please rest assured that we are committed to providing the best experience for all guests. I will be certain to review your comments with my staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    114
    35
    18
    14
See reviews for
97
260
16
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Second stay at this property and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. We stayed in a historic room versus modern, and were very comfortable with 2 adults, a teenager and toddler. We ate a couple of times at Murray Circle, and had an excellent experience with both breakfast and dinner. The staff was always friendly and helpful! I absolutely love the history of the property, and the LOCATION is just wonderful -- we enjoyed the temperate November weather and views of the Golden Gate so much! My daughter who is two + had a fun filled day at the Bay Area Museum while the boys hiked the headlands. The only problem, we had to leave.

Green Features: They take a very conscientious effort at being green --
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for you choosing to spend your Thanksgiving Holiday!

We are very pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax, eat great food and take your dogs for a stay. The staff are ultra helpful and friendly. The trails and view of the GG bridge are breathtaking. Murray Circle food is a great foodie experience. Farley Bar is fun place too.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed (old and new types) were lovely. We really like the ones with the view o...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel goes the extra miles to be green and I really appreciate that. Recycling containers in the room are great. Many other things they do to be green as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post - we appreciate your kind words!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my husband here for his birthday. The rooms are so quiet and feel so rural. The staff was A+. The spa treatments were superior and the spa itself is very impressive. All the details are luxury.

Room Tip: the contemporary rooms with bridge view are to die for.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling and the like are very advanced. The spa especially is very focused on the environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that your husband's birthday stay went well!

Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wonderful relaxing three days at Cavallo Point! We had read all of the great reviews and were not disappointed with our stay. We stayed in a contemporary king room with a stunning view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The room and all services from bell service to front desk to restaurant were outstanding. We hiked around the property and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the spa. We will definitely return to Cavallo Point.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the contemporary rooms with heated floors, fireplace, large bathroom and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments-I will be certain to share them with our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My (now) husband and I chose Cavallo Point to get married and then spend the night. What a GREAT joy. Amazing more Bay Area folks don't know about this place, but it is a real treasure!

SPA - we loved it...spent a few hours pre-wedding relaxing
ROOM - Lovely...remodeled old building and they did a great job. The bathroom/shower was very nice.
VIEW - you cannot go wrong here...the Bay Area/Golden Gate Bridge is to be seen...lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your special day with us-congratulations!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were here to celebrate our birthdays and everything was perfect. The service is friendly and professional. The rooms are great and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge is outstanding. Had the tasting menu at dinner and it was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely come back to celebrate special occasions. They even gave us a box if wonderful Belgian chocolates for our birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthdays at Cavallo Point!

It's wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay and we hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.