We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Prepay and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Davis, California
2 reviews
“peaceful and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a wonderful place to relax, eat great food and take your dogs for a stay. The staff are ultra helpful and friendly. The trails and view of the GG bridge are breathtaking. Murray Circle food is a great foodie experience. Farley Bar is fun place too.

Room Tip: All the ones we have stayed (old and new types) were lovely. We really like the ones with the view o...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel goes the extra miles to be green and I really appreciate that. Recycling containers in the room are great. Many other things they do to be green as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post - we appreciate your kind words!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    156
    50
    25
    19
See reviews for
140
333
21
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I took my husband here for his birthday. The rooms are so quiet and feel so rural. The staff was A+. The spa treatments were superior and the spa itself is very impressive. All the details are luxury.

Room Tip: the contemporary rooms with bridge view are to die for.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling and the like are very advanced. The spa especially is very focused on the environment.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that your husband's birthday stay went well!

Thank you for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wonderful relaxing three days at Cavallo Point! We had read all of the great reviews and were not disappointed with our stay. We stayed in a contemporary king room with a stunning view of the Golden Gate Bridge! The room and all services from bell service to front desk to restaurant were outstanding. We hiked around the property and enjoyed a relaxing afternoon at the spa. We will definitely return to Cavallo Point.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the contemporary rooms with heated floors, fireplace, large bathroom and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments-I will be certain to share them with our staff!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

My (now) husband and I chose Cavallo Point to get married and then spend the night. What a GREAT joy. Amazing more Bay Area folks don't know about this place, but it is a real treasure!

SPA - we loved it...spent a few hours pre-wedding relaxing
ROOM - Lovely...remodeled old building and they did a great job. The bathroom/shower was very nice.
VIEW - you cannot go wrong here...the Bay Area/Golden Gate Bridge is to be seen...lovely!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to share your special day with us-congratulations!

We hope to welcome you and your husband back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We were here to celebrate our birthdays and everything was perfect. The service is friendly and professional. The rooms are great and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge is outstanding. Had the tasting menu at dinner and it was delicious and beautifully presented. We will definitely come back to celebrate special occasions. They even gave us a box if wonderful Belgian chocolates for our birthday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthdays at Cavallo Point!

It's wonderful to hear that you had a memorable stay and we hope to welcome you back for many more special occasions!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

At a recommendation from a friend, I chose Cavallo Point Lodge as the location for a much needed three day retreat. I had a fantastic time. Everyone at the lodge was very friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable, clean, and a serene setting. The spa was amazing. All the services I got were great, I enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool, and all areas of the spa were clean. Highlights for me included

- enjoying lunch on the outdoor bench seating with the December sun keeping me plenty warm, a chilled glass of white wine, delicious food, and peace and quiet. Note: this was a mid week stay. So not sure if it would have been so peaceful on the weekend.

- hiking around the property and enjoying the great view of the Golden Gate bridge and the City.

- my time in the spa, especially the guided meditation with Shirley.

Room Tip: The modern king room is beautiful and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed your retreat with us. Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived almost six hours ahead of the hotel check-in time, expecting just to be able to leave our luggage there, but the hotel had our room ready for use straight away which was such a bonus. This was done without us even asking, and this helpful and friendly welcome set the tone for our entire stay. They went out of their way to help us plan our excursions, and negotiate Sausalito, ferry & getting around SF. On our departure, the hotel deposited us at the pick up point for the bus to the airport (they recommended this form of transport as much cheaper than the taxi ride).
This place is a real find, an absolute gem, and we will certainly stay again when in SF.

Room Tip: Try the 'historic' buildings, preferably closest to reception, as could involve quite a walk...
See more room tips
Green Features: We valued the eco-friendly policy of the hotel, which is why we wouldn't complain about lack of air-conditioning (it was December however). We also saw a lot of electric vehicles in use, looked like charge points for guests with electric vehicles were available as well.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We appreciate compliments and will share them with our team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#2 of 6 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.