We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Petaluma
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I felt like I was in a different world...Worry free and very relaxed! The staff at Cavallo Point did an amazing job! Very warm and welcomed feeling from the moment that I arrived all the way through till the end of my stay...The food was so good! I came back feeling very relaxed and rejuvenated...I will definitely go back...

The location is great and the view from my room was so beautiful!

Green Features: When it comes to being Environmentally friendly: this place is definitely up to speed!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so pleased to hear that you had enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the staff and service. We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    125
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
105
281
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

When I walked into my room and looked out the window, I was blown away. There was the Golden Gate Bridge! I was in the newer building and next time would like to try one of the older buildings as they are beyond charming. The food was really good. My Nespresso Coffee maker didn't work (They have a line they have apparently made for hotels, last two hotel rooms I have had in NICE hotels, they haven't worked.) so they brought a cup of coffee to my room. Nice touch. All of the employees were very sweet and friendly. The location is amazing. I would stay here again just for the grounds, views, and nice staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Bridge. Great welcome basket in my room with perfect snacks. The choco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! Please come visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Believe it or not, it does get hot in Sausalito. The room had to be 95 degrees when we checked in. To make matters worse, the BDay party next door took all of the patio furniture, so we had no place to sit while the room cooled (it never did). We spent the night at a Holiday Inn Express and felt much smarter. Management said they would comp the room, so we shall see.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expecations and would like to address your concerns.

In support of our LEED Gold Certification, air-conditioning is not considered a benefit to our green and sustainable program. We usually find that Sausalito is only warm enough to require air-conditioning a week or so out of the year.

We do, however, recommend that guests either use the fans provided in the rooms or open the windows for the abundant fresh air from the National Park.

If there is anything further I can assist with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The spa was wonderful, the location relaxing, the food delicious. Although this is only 30 minutes from our house and we only did a one night stay, we truly felt like we "got away". Planning our return trip already.

Room Tip: The "modern" rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate you choosing us as your hotel of choice for your anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your return stay!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ended up staying at Cavallo Point Lodge because none of the mainstrwam hotels were available and once tjere didn't want to leave. Our stay was absolute perfection, from the moment the bellman opened the car door intil they wished us well. You can't find a more beautiful setting, the rooms were ample and well appointed, the food superb (sufcicient options) and the gift shop was filled with local designer gems. We were frankly surprised how quiet the space was, while so close to the freeway and downtown Sausalito. Great spot to get away and rejuvinate and reconnect. Skip staying in San Francisco on your next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely post! I'm ecstatic to hear that you had a lovely stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next getaway!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is truly a special experience to stay here. The officers' quarters have been lovingly converted to beautiful rooms and suites. The setting is amazing, right at the foot of the GG bridge. It is not cheap to stay here, so please use the several "free" amenities. The nightly wine tasting and appetizers are great. Full glasses of wine (not true tastings, thankfully!) and lovely food, including smoked salmon, grilled veggies, and charcuterie. There is an espresso machine in each room, but coffee and pastries are served gratis each morning. Enjoy coffee and a muffin while rocking in a chair on the large southern style porches as the sun rises above the city skyline across the bay. And even if splurging for a spa service is not in your budget, guests can use spa amenities at no cost, including pool, sauna, spa, firepits, etc. There are also free hikes, tours, and fitness classes. We stayed two nights and ate one night in the city. But this is definitely a place to come, recharge, and never leave the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

An excellent experience! The former officers' quarters are spacious and comfortable, even with two gas-lit fireplaces, amply provisioned, and environmentally sensitive. Service at all points- restaurant (reviewed separately), bar, valet parking, front desk - all very friendly and welcoming. Because Cavallo Point is set amongst other Golden Gate activities, there's a healthy mix of people, which keeps the preciousness of the privileged set at bay. And the views- spectacular! Though our trip was short(we live in the Bay Area), and the traffic enroute snarly, we felt that just a one-night stay was truly relaxing and satisfying.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for the older officers' quarters- they are spacious and well-provisioned.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are well ahead of the curve on this, including healthy food options and minimal plastic.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point shorlty.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.