We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure to request renovated room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Make sure to request renovated room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

When we checked-in we got "historic room". This room was terrible - very outdated with the damp smell. We called reception to find out if there any other rooms available and found out that our room was not renovated and the other were not available. We went out for a dinner and when came back talked to receptionist again bagging to get another room and it worked - we got a renovated one - which was superb - 5 star! So make sure to request renovated room. Breakfast was exelant. Really loved the hotel (exept "historic room"). Would definetly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post. I'm happy to hear that the contemporary room was more to your pleasing and that we were able to provide you with a wonderful stay.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    125
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
105
280
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I booked us for my hubbie's birthday and wanted to surprise him with the sunset cruise. I guess the cruise got canceled at the last moment and they were able to reach me before we checked in. I was disappointed about missing that. They were so concerned that we still have a great time. Joshua G. gave us a large lodge credit and we were upgraded to a huge suite. They really did everything to compensate. What could have gone bad really turned out good.

Room Tip: We prefer the vintage rooms rather than the new lodge. We have dogs and we love the feel of the old...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's nice that they have recycle bins in the room!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your choosing to celebrate your husband's birthday with us. I'm sorry to hear about the cruise cancellation and am happy to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Whatever luster the rooms lacked was made up for by the meticulously hospitable staff. While I would not characterize the property itself as child friendly (adult only pool), there is an amazing hands on kid's museum adjacent (www.baykidsmuseum.org/). My son, age four was thrilled. The property seems quite dog-friendly which may be disconcerting to people looking for fine dining sans pooch. Overall the aesthetic is environmentally responsible luxury that honors our nation's past while providing a nurturing serene escape.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask which floor your room is on! My father turned a bit...
See more room tips
Green Features: Impeccable and much appreciated as evidenced by their many awards and certifications. http://www.cavallopoint.com/green-initiatives.html
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I are staying in one of the old officer's homes that have been remodeled as guest rooms. The view is that of the Golden Gate Bridge and the San Francisco skyline. The food has been remarkable and the service flawless. We hiked up the curvy road yesterday that led to the bridge and then walked across it and back. Right now, the America's Cup is being held in the bay and we were able to see the boats from one of the lodge's balconies. Today we hiked up one of the back paths and the views from the rear of the property was spectacular. Our only complaint is the lack of weights in the fitness center. It's very small and sparsely outfitted.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to them about the room choices. Some have views, some have king beds and many a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and suggestions for improvement. I will be certain to share your feedback with my team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our stay was most enjoyable! We had a wonderful time relaxing in the spa and breathing the fresh scented air while just looking at the beautiful surroundings and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the bay.

The new architecture blends in with the original structures and the landscape quite naturally. It feels warm and inviting while being simply elegant. Well done!!

The Spa was not too big and not too tight, it is just right! I only regret not having more time to be there.

My only dream would be to have a balcony or someplace to be outdoors near the room to sip the air, morning coffee or evening drinks.

The greatest asset of you establishment is the people. Every single person we encountered was helpful, knowledgeable and above all HAPPY! We really love seeing people loving their work and it is clear that you provide a workplace that promotes smiles and genuine happiness. And it is infectious.

The whole experience was, in a word, refreshing.

Exactly what we needed. Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments, especially concerncing our staff!

We will be certain to share your feedback with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point shortly!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay at Cavallo Point Lodge in Sausalito was very pleasant. Interesting setting on the grounds of an old army base, under the Golden Gate bridge. We chose to stay in the contemporary lodging, rather than the historic section. Our room was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary except for a small patio and view of the Golden Gate bridge.

The staff was excellent and very accomodating. The fine dining restaurant was also very good.

An unusual place to go for a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Cavallo Point following the recommendation of JMAK hospitality. From my Sunday with friends at the terrace bar to my room and 2 nights stay i had an amazing stay. Yes there are no air conditioning in the room (at least the building i was) but you don't need it. Leave your window open and enjoy the fresh breeze from the bay. The view is stunning, great service, large walking closet and wonderful bathroom (I am a big guy and i was able to fit on the bathtub). You are only 10 minutes (15 with traffic) from downtown San Francisco and less than 5 minutes from the heart of Sausalito and all its restaurants.

The view on the bay, the city and golden gate bridge is phenomenal. I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be certain to share them with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.