We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I are staying in one of the old officer's homes that have been remodeled as guest rooms. The view is that of the Golden Gate Bridge and the San Francisco skyline. The food has been remarkable and the service flawless. We hiked up the curvy road yesterday that led to the bridge and then walked across it and back. Right now, the America's Cup is being held in the bay and we were able to see the boats from one of the lodge's balconies. Today we hiked up one of the back paths and the views from the rear of the property was spectacular. Our only complaint is the lack of weights in the fitness center. It's very small and sparsely outfitted.

Room Tip: Call ahead and talk to them about the room choices. Some have views, some have king beds and many a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and suggestions for improvement. I will be certain to share your feedback with my team.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    144
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
118
310
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our stay was most enjoyable! We had a wonderful time relaxing in the spa and breathing the fresh scented air while just looking at the beautiful surroundings and the view of the Golden Gate Bridge and the bay.

The new architecture blends in with the original structures and the landscape quite naturally. It feels warm and inviting while being simply elegant. Well done!!

The Spa was not too big and not too tight, it is just right! I only regret not having more time to be there.

My only dream would be to have a balcony or someplace to be outdoors near the room to sip the air, morning coffee or evening drinks.

The greatest asset of you establishment is the people. Every single person we encountered was helpful, knowledgeable and above all HAPPY! We really love seeing people loving their work and it is clear that you provide a workplace that promotes smiles and genuine happiness. And it is infectious.

The whole experience was, in a word, refreshing.

Exactly what we needed. Thank you all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments, especially concerncing our staff!

We will be certain to share your feedback with the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point shortly!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay at Cavallo Point Lodge in Sausalito was very pleasant. Interesting setting on the grounds of an old army base, under the Golden Gate bridge. We chose to stay in the contemporary lodging, rather than the historic section. Our room was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary except for a small patio and view of the Golden Gate bridge.

The staff was excellent and very accomodating. The fine dining restaurant was also very good.

An unusual place to go for a quiet, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Cavallo Point following the recommendation of JMAK hospitality. From my Sunday with friends at the terrace bar to my room and 2 nights stay i had an amazing stay. Yes there are no air conditioning in the room (at least the building i was) but you don't need it. Leave your window open and enjoy the fresh breeze from the bay. The view is stunning, great service, large walking closet and wonderful bathroom (I am a big guy and i was able to fit on the bathtub). You are only 10 minutes (15 with traffic) from downtown San Francisco and less than 5 minutes from the heart of Sausalito and all its restaurants.

The view on the bay, the city and golden gate bridge is phenomenal. I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be certain to share them with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We chose to stay at Cavallo Point Lodge for the last 2 days of our 10 day family and wedding trip in Marin County. We couldn't have picked a better place for R&R -- an idyllic setting where all the staff are there to provide an exceptional experience. They had a "Suite Deal" going and we stayed in a Queen Suite in the former commandant's building -- with lots of room to spread out, but easy access to the veranda for rocking and viewing the America's cup yacht races on the Bay. We took advantage of the promising sky, and walked from the grounds to and across the Golden Gate bridge and back -- 6 miles round trip -- but the bridge provided a fabulous viewing angle for Challenger race viewing. And the tub in the room -- and the soaking salts and bubble bath were perfect for soothing aches after the walk. The reception and concierge staff are very helpful, as are the staff in Farley's bar and Murray Circle restaurant. Looking forward to coming back as it is a perfect place to stay while visiting with our son and his new bride in San Francisco.l

Room Tip: Didn't use the spa or pool but heard that they are terrific. We had a suite in building 602. O...
See more room tips
Green Features: Luxurious accommodations while also feeling good about the environment.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please do come back and visit us again for your next getaway!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is very nice. When we got there they let us check in early, and gave us a free upgrade to our room. The room was very nice, everything was very clean. The room service food was delicious for breakfast and for dinner. The pool was nice, the coffee and tea in the room were nice. The hotel has a free shuttle to take you to town and to San Francisco (I wish we knew about the San Francisco shuttle before we came, so we didn't have to take the ferry over). All of the hotel employees were very nice and very helpful. They will drive you to your room in a golf cart if you don't want to walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the modern rooms, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

We look forward to welcming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Across the golden gate from that great city SF is an oasis of green and nature. It is peaceful and beautiful and contrasts with the city, yet is 15-30 minutes across the bridge. It is a perfect base to explore the attractions of Marin by car. The rooms in the new section are spacious and modern and eco-sensitive. The food at the restaurant was healthy and delicious with an interesting wine selection. The service was friendly and cheerful. I didn't get to visit the spa but had a few great walks in the adjacent park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and will be certain to share them with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.