We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of peace and beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on a Winter Escape
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“an oasis of peace and beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Across the golden gate from that great city SF is an oasis of green and nature. It is peaceful and beautiful and contrasts with the city, yet is 15-30 minutes across the bridge. It is a perfect base to explore the attractions of Marin by car. The rooms in the new section are spacious and modern and eco-sensitive. The food at the restaurant was healthy and delicious with an interesting wine selection. The service was friendly and cheerful. I didn't get to visit the spa but had a few great walks in the adjacent park.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and will be certain to share them with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    129
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
111
293
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orinda, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our second stay at Cavallo Point. We live in the SF Bay Area only a 35 minute drive from Cavallo. This place is a MUST for locals who want a "staycation". For travelers from out of town, Cavallo Point offers a unique perspective of the beautiful Bay Area rarely enjoyed by those who feel they must stay within a stone's throw of Union Square or Fisherman's Wharf.

For our first stay, we chose the contemporary rooms, situated on a bluff with wonderful views. This time we opted for the historic accommodations in turn-of-the century officers quarters situated adjacent to the Fort Baker parade ground. Great choice. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the "General's House". Spectacular views. From our window we could see the America's Cup yachts (bring binoculars). The room was spacious, well furnished with a comfy -- very comfy--king bed. For one of our two nights, we decided to order room service. What we wanted was on the dining room menu but not the room service menu. No problem. We got what we wanted. After ordering room service, we sat outside on the veranda to look at the Bay and City views in the early evening sun. The room service waiter drove up and asked if we preferred to eat on the veranda. "Yes, good idea". He ran away and a minute or two later returned with some warm blankets and placed them on our shoulders to ward off the chill (beware...when that fog starts coming thru the Golden Gate (a 3 minute walk to the Marin anchorage) it gets cold, cold. Great meal. Great experience. .

The staff at Cavallo Point could not be more friendly. The attitude of the staff can set the tone for your entire stay at any resort and this place has it down. It's not like they're trying to please, they really want to please. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review-we appreciate you taking time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We hope to welcome you back shortly!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is the sister property of Post Ranch Inn, and we came directly from there to Cavallo Point for one night. It's a world away from PRI, but retains many of the same sensibilities. Check-in was seamless and we were upgraded to a two bedroom suite in one of the Historic Buildings. If you're coming here, it's best to embrace the old rooms rather than the updated ones. Part of the point of staying in such a historic location is stay in a Historic room right?

The rooms themselves were basic but well appointed, and the grounds themselves were fascinating to walk around. Not many people visiting SF get views of the city and Golden Gate Bridge like this. For that alone this is worth the stay.

Had heard good things about the restaurant and bar but we didn't have time to check it out. Would certainly return to the hotel however, it's a bit of a hidden gem, with a fascinating history.

Room Tip: Head into Sausalito for lunch. Skip the tourist traps and check out Sushi Ran. Best Sushi I had on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I should have known we were in for a truly unique experience when we saw the hawk perched on the parade grounds a few yards from where we checked in. (During our stay there, we saw deer just outside of our room.) The valet who drove us up to our room in the contemporary part of the resort could not have been more pleasant, accommodating and genuinely enthusiastic about the resort, a trait we found again and again in the staff at Cavallo.

Exquisite location -- almost literally at the base of the Marin side of the Golden Gate Bridge. Great hikes literally at your doorstep. Starting out the day with yoga classes in what was the base chapel was fun. The spa was delightful, and they also have a fitness center (but with all the fantastic hiking and biking around, who would want to workout inside?)

The renovated Officer's Club (Now the Farley Bar) was a great place and we enjoyed their pub menu. The main restaurant (Murray Circle) was good, but some of their dishes didn't quite hit the mark (rack of lamb cassoulet was done to perfection (n.b. order it medium to medium rare; they cook to the pinker side in Cali), but the oyster salad featured oysters that were past prime and didn't really work with the rest of the dish. That being said, the service at all our meals was fantastic.

Drinking a perfect sidecar and noshing on a cheeseboard while watching the sunset on the Golden Gate is a travel memory that will stay with me for a long time.

The contemporary room was charming and very efficiently designed. Their commitment to sustainability is evident in its design as well as the plantings designed to reduce the need for irrigation.

Room Tip: The contemporary rooms on the hillside are fantastic.
See more room tips
Green Features: They are a LEED certified resort and truly 'walk-the-walk' as far as sustainable practices to.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback-we sincerely appreciate your compliments!

I will also be certain to share your suggestions for improvements as well.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The staff at Cavallo Point is very hospitable & accommodating and provided an excellent experience. However, not pretentious; which was refreshing. We immediately felt welcome. The location is quite serene and peaceful. Our room had a beautiful view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our balcony. The room was impeccably clean (important to me) and they managed to pull off both comfort and quality in the furnishings, as well as providing very generous amenities. We wanted to move in! We were in town on business, but are very much looking forward to returning for leisure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Cavallo Point with the TripAdvisor community.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments and hope to welcome you back for another visit shortly!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was here for one night on a business trip. The Cavallo Point location is fascinating. You must walk or take their golf carts around to see the historic buildings that used to be an old Military base (now also coast guard site). You are almost under the Golden Gate Bridge (from the Sausolito Side. The Fog coming in was fascinating and we had a beautiful view south towards SF with Kite surfers riding through the Bay.

Staff are friendly and professional. The Accomodations are top notch as they should in the price point. The restaurant is wonderful.

A little off the beaten track, but an interesting accomodation choice. This would make a lot of sense if you had a rental car (free parking) and/or you were on your way to Napa/Sonoma...

Room Tip: Rooms Facing the Bay are the best...reminder that higher up you go means further from Main Building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will be certain to share them with our team.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It was absolutely lovely to fall asleep with a stunning view of the Golden Gate Bridge as if it were a picture on the wall! We spent a very relaxing weekend here and truly enjoyed every moment. We stayed in a contemporary king room - and highly recommend upgrading to a room with a view. The amenities were fabulous - love a hotel with an in-room nespresso machine and milk in the refrigerator! The hotel is about 2 miles outside of Sausalito. The hotel offers a shuttle - we walked - for us it was a great way to start and end our day!
We loved the spa! It's so tranquil, it takes the stress right out of you! Had amazing treatments and truly felt pampered.
If you're looking for a local staycation, or a bit of quiet while visiting the San Francisco area, you should definitely consider staying here. The staff was wonderful, so helpful! They cannot do enough for you!
.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a room with a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for your kind compliments-we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.