We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable setting and fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable setting and fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We just spent an entire week in the Frank House at Cavallo Point. Cannot begin to describe the setting, views of the Golden Gate Bridge as well as San Francisco. The grounds are amazing as the Fort is set in a horseshoe cove surrounded by huge Eucalptus and pine trees. The aroma from the trees is ridiculous! It is an old fort known as Fort Baker and was used I believe during the war. The accomodations are in the old barracks, officers quarters and the hospital! They have spared nothing in amenities. The service from the restaurants to the housekeeping is the best. The Murray Circle restaurant has exceptional food as well as service. The Farley Bar has seating inside but the weather was fantastic the whole week so everyone wanted to sit outside, for the food as well as the views. Rocking chairs line the porch in the check in building looking at the bridge. We will go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for kind compliments. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will share them with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    115
    36
    18
    14
See reviews for
99
262
16
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

That was an awesome stay.
Rooms are nice.
View is stunning
Service is perfect.
Best stay in SF so far.
For us it was the perfekt end of an nice Holiday in California.
We can imagine why so many couples marry there, it´s beautiful
We will be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful post!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Cavallo Point next October.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Been there quite a few times and first time since the new menu is in place...we ate at Farley's Bar with full menu and the dishes truly sounded interesting. The overall experience was very good but the bussers are completely clueless. Unless they don't speak English....they just stare at you after a simple request repeatedly as you were a moron and never clear anything that looks finished. On the food, the Flounder 'fish chips' like dish was very good as well Burrata salad, bone marrow. Duck mains and others are weaker...good cocktails but pricey but wines off the library list is outstanding with great prices. I think I will just sit out there overlooking the tips of the GGB and sip fine wines without the annoying busboys!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

In regards to your concerns, we take great care in conducting the best hiring and training procedures to ensure we retain the most professional staff. Our aim is to always provide engaging and friendly service and are sorry that our hospitality did not shine through on this occasion.

If there are any further questions I may address, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Thank you again for your post and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here in 3/2013 in a contemporary king suite with view of the the Golden Gate Bridge.

We loved so much about this place:

- The views from our room was phenomenal! The room was very well-designed and space was utilized well. The double-sided fireplace was a really nice touch.
- Eucalyptus-scented amenities were so refreshing.
- Spa was nice.

Keep in mind the following:

- The property is large and there are multiple separate buildings, so you will have to valet your car (free) or self park (the lot is really far away). They drive you to your room in a golf cart after you valet. You can certainly walk, but it can be a long walk. When you check out, it's kind of a pain because you'll have to call for the golf cart ahead of time so you can get your luggage to your car. In other words, you end up relying on them for transportation even though you may not want to.
- There are also foghorns that blow every few minutes in the middle of the night. For us, this started at about 10 PM and continued until 7 AM the next morning. They do provide ear plugs, but my husband used both ear plugs AND noise reduction earphones, but could still hear it. I am a deep sleeper and was awaken several times throughout the night. Just be aware of this beforehand and understand that it is San Francisco after all!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a business meeting for three days. When I arrived it instantly obvious that this was going to be a very different experience to most normal hotels.

Approaching the checkin building you are struck by the beauty of the location and the layout of the hotel buildings. The natural bowl that Fort Bakker resides in just goes to maximise the views. Turning around to see the imposing sight of the Golden Gate Bridge is awsome.

Every morning I was able to rise early and go for a walk, either above the hotel grounds in the hills that overlook it, along the seafront to the old fort or up under the bridge and into the hills that overlook it. I have taken over 300 photo's on this trip!!

The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and a credit to the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I will be certain to share your comments and feedback with the staff.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you're looking for a quick getaway in the Bay Area, or a great place to stay while exploring Northern California, Cavallo Point is a good choice. It is perfectly located at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge (you can even access the foot path that crosses the bridge. It is easy to reach San Francisco, Mill Valley, Sausalito and Tiburon. We choose to park the car and stay put. We enjoyed relaxing in the meditation pool before getting a facial. We walked down to dinner from our room and had a perfectly wonderful meal at Murray Circle. The people are helpful and the grounds have something for everyone, even dogs, are welcomed as well.

Room Tip: We prefer the modern rooms. They are higher up in the property and we enjoy the view from the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review!

Please do come visit us again at Cavallo point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a unique dining experience, Cavallo Point offers a perfect spot. Sit on the deep veranda for the afternoon sun and order from the bar menu. A glass of wine or a beer with a plate of their pomme frites and an item or two from the tasty menu and you're set. You'll be looking out over the parade grounds of this old Army post, across the green lawn to the water and the upper part of the Golden Gate Bridge as it rises above the hill. Great service, food, and setting make Cavallo Point a memorable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Lodge and the restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.