We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't mind occasionally wearing ear plugs . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on a Winter Escape
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London W.8.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“If you don't mind occasionally wearing ear plugs . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

. . . this is a fine place to stay for a change from downtown San Francisco. We were attending a conference and it was a joy to find ourselves staying somewhere a little different from the usual large corporate joints that often come our way. Sited below the Sausalito end of the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, it was breathtaking to pull back the curtains in the morning and see this great swooping expanse of engineering beyond the trees - sometimes swathed in fog or peeking through the sea mist. Which brings me to the ear plugs. You'll find them in the drawer by your bed because, should the weather close in, the mighty San Fran foghorns blare long and loud into the night.

The hotel is created from the remnants of an old army base - surprisingly elegantly arranged round a grassy expanse, inland above a small marina. We tried two of the rooms. The first in one of the older and, in theory, more attractive buildings on the circus. It was hopelessly drab, furnished in dismal shades of brown, and smelt of dogs. The hotel prides itself on being dog-friendly and this room had certainly seen its fair share of pooch residents. We asked to be moved which was accomplished with good grace. We found ourselves behind the main buildings - architecturally less attractive but elevated so better views, and much more modern and far, far better designed. Apart from the bath that is, which required the addition of a step to make it possible to clamber in - most odd. Room service was good. A fleet of golf carts supplied the transport, if required, and the restaurant was excellent. The conference facilities seemed excellent, too, and I didn't feel that we were an overwhelming presence for the other guests. It was well arranged. Marin County is full of interest - majestic Pacific coast line, deep forests, endless walking trails and the delightful as ever Sausalito so lots to see and do. And, of course, a quick flip over the bay to the main attraction if you can't live without inhaling big city air.

Room Tip: Go for one of the more modern rooms, higher on the site, and make sure that the 'eau de chien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We have many guests who prefer the historics and an equal amount of guests who also find our contemporary accomodations appealing.

In regards to your concerns, please rest assured that our rooms are thoroughly cleaned and inspected daily. For guests who are particularly sensitive to pets, please ask for a hypoallengic room at the time of booking. These rooms are kept 100% pet free at all times and are available in all room categories.

Once again, thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    129
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
111
293
18
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sent my daughter for a weekend respite, called to order some items for her room, and a second time to make payment arrangements. Both times the phone service and follow up surpassed my expectations. She arrived to have the same level of service and support with a badly hurt knee. They brought her ice and put her in a room with less stairs!

We will be visiting that area quite often with her move and cant wait to experience it in person. Delighted customers!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post!

I'm ecstatic to hear that your daughter enjoyed her stay and hope that we were able to contribute to making her recovery as pleasant as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Lodge in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in a "historic with sitting area" room , and it was great. The renovation to the historic buildings really does the setting justice.

Extra touches: chocolates one night, lavender sachet another, and pillow spray on the third night were all part of the turn-down service. Very nice! I also enjoyed the nespresso coffeemaker in the room- made getting up early to attend a conference that much easier.

The downsides: Parking/valet is a little aggressive here on the weekend, when lots of people come and hang out on the porches and in the restaurants, on the lawn with their dogs, etc.- day visitors and a limited parking availability make having a car on the weekends a bit of a hassle. Not the biggest deal, though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

We also appreciate your comments concerning valet and parking and will share them with our management team.

We hope to welcome you back for another visit very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Let me begin with a one word description of this historic location.... Never mind, one word can't describe it. Just GO!! CP is a non pretentious one of a kind 5 star lodge that caters to everyone, and toto too. We arrived on a Saturday morning with our 18 year old Granddaughter and were greeted with warm smiles and a huge welcome. Our room, a historic king suite with bay and city views, was warm, clean, gorgeous, comfortable, large and most of all everything the lodge advertised it to be. The front veranda was peaceful and the rocking chairs seemed to call our names every time we attempted to walk by. The delicious food at the 5 star restaurant is Cordon Bleu quality! At breakfast I had my first sourdough waffle, granddaughter had "the best eggs Benedict ever", and hubby had an omelet that he hoped would never end. Dinner was equally presented, timely and a wonderful dining experience. The spa facility is grand and offers services for everyone to relax and unwind. Our walk to the Golden Gate Bridge took 20 minutes and the walking paths were safe and maintained. We are returning this Spring and bringing a large family group for the weekend. San Francisco, The Marin Headlands, Sausalito shopping among many other points of interest are a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Not a bad room at the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate your compliments and will share them with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family this coming Spring!

If there is anything I can assist with in advance of your visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly (euan@cavallopoint.com).

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is by far the best place to stay when you are visiting Sausalito. Amazing grounds and quiet cottages. Definitely recommended as a retreat. Also, love the restaurant "Murray Circle". It's a bit expensive but worth it. Also, really appreciated the spa services they offer. Great place to view the bay and GG bridge. Great bar, Farley Bar, when you can just sit back and relax. They make a great bloody mary. Love their Sunday brunch, too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

Our staff will be very pleased to hear of your lovely compliments!

Please do come visit us again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing hotel in former Fort Baker and contemporary bungalow buildings. Highly recommend for any kind of retreat. Stepping out on the veranda even during a brief coffee break is amazing, taking in the Marin landscape, Go,den Gate bridge and views of San Francisco across the Bay. The hotel restaurant is gorgeous with a very local feel that trickles down to the Heath tableware and lighting from a local designer. The cooking school makes for great team building events. Fog rolls in most night. Earplugs supplied to sleep through the Golden Gate fog horns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments.

Please do come back to visit us again very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Quaint, quiet, romantic getaway. Having breakfast at the restaurant on a sunny winter morning with an unparalleled view of the GG Bridge was amazing (even for a local)! A brisk hike up to the bridge was a treat. Free access to the mediation pool was the best part. Fabulous way to shed the craziness of SF. Only a couple of minor issues kept this from being a 5 star rating: Our (albeit standard) room was nice, but I wouldn't say noteworthy. Would have loved a full length mirror somewhere in the room (and I get what another reviewer said about the location of the TV: odd). My husband and I went for Valentine's Day and dined at the restaurant. I knew we would not be getting a good deal on Valentine's dinner anywhere, but the $300 dinner bill seemed a bit criminal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We also appreciate your suggestions on improvement, as we are always looking for ways to enhance the guest experience and will share your comments with my team.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.