We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice but not perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Amazing setting, great room and very good breakfast. The problem for us was that we were travelling with two young children (which should have been obvious from the fact we requested a crib) and were given a room on the top floor - up 40 steps! Had that been apparent on booking, I would have looked elsewhere. The problem was compounded by the fact that, on arrival, we were directed to park next to the building and told that someone would be along to help us with our luggage - nobody turned up - so we had to juggle babies, pushchairs, suitcases and steps - hardly a relaxing start! The next problem was the room service. We ordered a bottle of wine, and a single glass arrived. The waiter went back to get a bottle, but then left it unopened and without a corkscrew. By now our dinner was getting cold and we were fed up so settled for a glass of water (the minibar was empty other than a jug of tap water) but this wasn't really good enough. On the positive side, the reception staff were very helpful and the concierge gave us a lift down to Sausalito (beautiful place) when the shuttle wasn't at a convenient time. Overall, a good 3 out of 5, but I would expect much more given the price paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor room, as there are a LOT of steps!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry there were some service areas of your recent visit where we needed to improve and will be certain to inform my management team of your concerns.

In regards to your room, we will be renaming that specific room the "attic room" to accurately denote where it is situated. Goind forward, we will be certain to assign all family guests in ground floor rooms in order to reduce any disturbance.

Once again, thank you for your review and please do not hesitate to contact me with any further questions (euan@cavallopoint.com).

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    127
    42
    21
    15
See reviews for
105
283
18
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Cavallo Point felt like we had a San Francisco apartment, again. Our room in one of the Contemporary buildings was spacious and comfortable with generous closets and storage space. The view of the Golden Gate Bridge filled the patio windows and was reflected in the bathroom mirror. The staff was helpful and friendly; the grounds are immaculate. Be advised: make reservations at the restaurant Murray Circle when you make your room reservations or you will miss an ourstanding meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your compliments for the resort.

Please do visit us again on your next trip to Sausalito!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having lived in San Francisco for many years before relocating, my wife and I still love to visit the Bay Area a few times per year. But the Bay Area is so much more than just San Francisco--in particular, no trip would be complete without visiting our favorite wineries in Sonoma. Cavallo Point gives you the best of both worlds in terms of location: you get the peace and quiet of being across the bridge in Sausalito (with great views of the city and Golden Gate Bridge), and it's a straight shot to wine country if you want to spend a day up north. On the other hand, if you want to go have dinner in SF, you've got a short 10-15 minute drive to just about anywhere. The hotel itself is beautiful (we particularly enjoy the historic rooms, and the spa is great), the staff is friendly, and the prices are very reasonable, especially when compared to Union Square or the Embarcadero.

Room Tip: Historic rooms, in particular on the second floor, are a great option for those looking for quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits in the future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The Good
- Beautiful location
- Exemplary, well-appointed rooms
- Scrumptious food
- Top notch cooking institute
- Love their turn down service--very special

The Bad
- Service is a little spotty but good overall

Overall
- Perfect for a short getaway

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments and hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights last weekend as a birthday/belated Valentine's Day getaway (with our pup in tow). We had a great time - a very quiet, relaxing weekend close to great restaurants and dog-friendly spots, but far enough from the city to relax. The views were beautiful and I loved walking down to the waterfront early in the morning and just watching the water fowl and seals that were out and about.

I'm a very light sleeper but fortunately there was no fog (so no fog horn) during our stay. I also didn't hear many other guests (except for one on the same floor who had a small dog that sometimes yapped when alone).

The main caveat, and that which sets Cavallo Point below typical luxury resorts was the service. There were times where my husband and I were waiting to be helped and staff were nowhere to be found (or in some cases were talking to other staff). The valet tended to be especially difficult to track down. Even when there was no line, it took us 10 minutes or so on average to find someone to help us, and then to get our car. I additionally had challenges with the reservation process as other guests have noted (despite mentioning the special occasion, I neither got a particularly friendly nor proactively helpful response when trying to confirm our room). Ultimately, I changed my reservation to a Historic Queen Suite (602) and paid slightly more than for the Historic King w/ Sitting Room that we originally booked, but was surprised that the immediate inclination was to upsell me to to a Historic King Suite even where other rooms with my preferred amenities and a lower price point were available. I was equally surprised that after arriving there was little in the way of an orientation to the services and amenities promoted online.

None of these small drawbacks were enough to dampen the spirit of our stay. We truly had a wonderful time, especially because we were looking for something relaxed as opposed to upscale. We also loved that our 6-month old puppy was tolerated, she was actually welcome. but, our time here was what we made of it, hence the title of the review. We had a very comfortable room with plenty of space for our little family, and took advantage of what we felt the property had to offer - like Murray Circle, where we really enjoyed our meal. If you're looking for a Four Seasons experience, that's where you should stay. But Cavallo Point offers great, secluded getaway if that's what you're looking for.

We are locals so this might become one of our go-to staycation spots. We almost certainly will be back. Photos at: http://tidbitsandtidings.com/2013/02/28/cavallo-point/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We treat all guest comments with the utmost attention and sincerely appreciate your feedback and suggestions on areas of improvement.

I understand that we are not the traditional model for luxury. Our location and natural aesthetic appeals to guests who are seeking a resort with a more relaxed atmosphere.

To address your concerns, our staffing will be ramped up for the season ahead, commencing in April through October.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in advance of your next visit and I will be happy to provide any assistance you may require (euan@cavallopoint.com).

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I went there for Valentine's day with my wife. The location and parking is a little confusing. Check in was prompt and courteous. The staff is very informative. Definitely will comeback soon. Very well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post. I'm sorry to hear about the confusion regarding the location and parking.

If there is any assistance that I can provide in advance of your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent one night in a lovely Contemporary suite at Cavallo Point. We give high marks to the staff -- Bellman gave our delighted dog a chauffeured ride up to our room in the golf cart while we followed by car; gift shop staff were wonderfully fun and helpful too. Overall, they did a great job of making our pet feel welcome (special goodie bag and his own bed/pillow in the room). Location is really beautiful and unique, spectacular views once the fog lifted.

This was our second visit and we had the same feeling about the food, it was a bit too pricey and elaborate for us. It was difficult to find a "basic" item on the dinner menu (other than a burger). We ordered room service breakfast which was good, but also pricey (no surprise). We wandered down to the lobby and found delicious complimentary pastries and coffee, which would have been a better choice.

The gift shop has a very unique array of jewelry and clothing, well worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and concerns on the food. We will be certain to pass on your feedback to our management team for further discussion on improvement.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.