We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking elsewhere... THIS IS IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase and SAVE
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gurnee, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stop looking elsewhere... THIS IS IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Cavallo Point in an original Queen unit (not the newer ones on the hill). This was a trip to celebrate my 31st birthday as well as our 5 year anniversary. It was our first long distance trip away from the kids (4 and 1 1/2) ever and we were really going all out for it. Actually, this was a surprise trip for my wife who stays home with the kids.

Before I get into the review, I just want to say this was the best service any resort or hotel has ever provided me in my many years of personal and business travel. Please read this review because beyond accomodations, a view, the restaurant, you're going to see what a real resort does for people in distress. The people working here actually CARED about our problems...

We flew into SFO (from Chicago) and drove out across the Golden Gate and took the windy path down to Cavallo Point. The grounds are beautiful and truly "in touch" with nature. Check in went fine and the staff said happy birthday and anniversary to us. The Valet parked our rental car (we'll come back to that) and drove us up to our unit on a golf cart. He took the "long route" so he coudl show us where the spa and hiking grounds were. He was very friendly and brought all our bags into the unit and even set them up on the luggage stands. He also checked to make sure we weren't missing any of our ammenities.

We stayed in a building from 1903 with a Queen bed. The accomdations were one of the original houses built for the military when this was Fort Baker way back when. The bed was comfy, the TV worked, there was a safe, all that normal hotel type stuff. The windows were original and provided wonderful views of the woods and the bay. The bathroom was divine and the entire room was windows!!

Each of the original "homes" which are now units are divided up into four different units. There is a North and a South Door. Upon entry you can enter your unit on the first floor or head to the 2nd for those units. We stayed on the first floor but never heard our neighbors.

Shortly after checkin we went to the Farley Bar for dinner (4:30). On our way in we asked the valet if they could call a cab for us to take us to our Alcatraz night tour (read my review!). Dinner and drinks were superb. The bartender had some friends of hers at the bar so no one paid us much attention, but we didn't really care since it was our anniversary trip.

The next morning we woke up early and had breakfast in the dining area. It was absolutely superb and the service was great. I also failed to mention we booked the "ulitmate date night package" which included a $100 voucher for dinner and $60 voucher for breakfast.

NOTE - HERE IS WHERE THE TRIP TURNS BAD

We give our slip to the valet guy (Steve) who goes to get our rental car (Mercedes SUV). It was taking a while and we were wondering what was going on. THen we see him walking up from a long ways away. He tells us on his drive from the lot down to the front the car simply died. It didn't sputter or chug, just turned off and all gauges went to zero. The battery worked fine, but it wouldn't turn over (no sound when turning key whatsoever). He took us back on a golf car to where it was parked on a side road. Steve's account was 100% accurate... no go.

I won't go into insane detail here about how poorly Hertz serviced us here, but long story short they refused to send a replacement vehicle to us. THey asked we cab it back to SFO (45 mins away) and get a new vehicle, then drive back. They also were not originally going to pay for our cab fare. This was killing our day, we were checked out of the hotel and about to go to Muir Woods, then a quick lunch in Sausalito (Scomas) then we had a reservation in Napa at Domaine Carneros for an afternoon tasting & tour.

While on the phone with Hertz (on my birthday mind you), a total of 5 resort employees have come by to inspect the vehicle and offer suggestions. None of them work (we later find out the car needed to be towed... 3+ hours the service guy worked on it and it wouldn't start). Steve says we can ditch the car, tell Hertz to pick it up and cancel our agreement, and he would drive us to the local Enterprise dealer.

Nancy (concierge) takes over from here. My wife has broken down crying as our trip didn't have wiggle room for these kinds of problems and we felt stuck. She got Enterprise to get a car ready immediately and said Steve would drive us there in the hotel mini-van right now. One problem: Enterprise doesn't let you return vehicles to the airport. It would have to be returned to the Sausalito station. We are not returning to Sausalito and our flight is in 2 days at 7:45 am.

Nancy and Steve say we can leave the unit at Cavallo Point (at 5:00 am) the day of departure and they will personally return it to the Enterprise people for us so we don't have to pay the $150 fee.

When we arrive at Enterprise they sing happy birthday to me as we walk in. Nancy called and told them it was my birthday after we had left. THey also said they were giving us a free upgrade to a convertible to try and make up for Hertz's shortcomings. Again, Nancy called and told them to do this (something Tiff muttered under her breath.. "hey maybe they'll give us a convertible!")

Steve stayed with us for the entire event, and also moved our luggage from the mini van into our new rental. I cannot say enough about Steve & Nancy. By the way they had a cab waiting for us when we arrived at 5:00 am for our return flight, plus the check in staff was aware of our issue.

THIS my friends is the service you pay for when you go to a resort like Cavallo Point. You already know the view is great, the buildings are historic, the food is good. THE SERVICE TOPS THEM ALL. Without a doubt, 100% we will return to this location when we vacation in San Fran again. I will personally recommend this hotel to everyone who goes to San Fran / Sausalito for a vacation.

PLEASE take my advice. And if you meet Steve or Nancy on your trip there, please tell them we are eternally grateful for saving our 5 year anniversay trip (and my birthday). Thanks Steve & Nancy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for your compliments for Steve and Nancy-I know they will be very pleased to hear about how happy you were with the service they had provided.

We hope to welcome you back again to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    118
    37
    20
    15
See reviews for
103
270
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sc
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My brother-in-law recommended to try this resort and experience SF outside the city proper. We were not disappointed. This is a completely different option to visiting SF. It provides a unique location advantage if you want to walk/ride the GG Bridge or see nearby Sausalito. You can take the Sausalito ferry to SF Embarcadero quite easily and less expensive than a $40 taxi ride from this hotel to downtown. This property has several unique aspects: its history, the resort's buildings themselves, location, and restaurant. It comes complete with fitness room, an art gallery, and its outside front lawn is expansive! Service is good but be forewarn that there are steep hills one may have to encounter to get to their rooms unless you request a golf cart assisted ride from the staff. The interior of our room (GG Bridge view requested) reminded me of a Swedish/Norwegian minimalist approach: none cluttered, wooded, and nature themed. THe restaurant served good food although I felt it was overpriced. Overall, if you are looking into another type of staying experience when visiting SF, this is worth looking into.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Golden Gate Bridge or the SF city line, request it during reservations. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your kind compliments.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A spectacular setting, first class rooms and staff; great spa (no extra charge); overall an amazing romantic getaway. Plus easy access to SF if you need. We stayed two nights and never left the property. They have free shuttle to Sausalito. You can boat over, too, and there are numerous activities on site (from boating to biking and hiking). Being part of the Marin Headlands and Golden Gate Recreation area, it's basically a national park nestled among the hills and meadow practically next to but set back from the Golden Gate Bridge (oddly you don't hear much bridge noise -- we certainly didn't notice it). Most rooms look out at the bay or bridge. The lodge is located at Fort Baker, a retired military outpost which guarded SF at least since the 1870's. Restaurants good, but formal Murray Circle is pricey for the portions and a bit pretentious menu-wise. Farley's Bar & Grill is more comfy and casual (and frankly better tasting food overall, although it is the same kitchen. Our package included breakfast (in room or at the restaurant), which it turns out was a bargain -- separately, full breakfast for two ran about a $45 each day with tax/tip. Room service was a bit slow. No pool (except small meditation pool at spa).

Room Tip: Dogs are allowed in some of the units. So, be on the watch for that if you don't want them near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review-we hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I loved this place. It was both comfortable and luxurious. The staff were almost universally helpful and polite. When we got to our room we noticed it didn't have a tub like we requested and we were immediately taken to another room with a fabulous soaking tub.
The room service food was pretty terrible and our second room had not been fully restocked with the complementary snacks, but these are minor inconveniences really.
I wish we had had more of an opportunity to take advantage of some of the other amenities offered.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your post-we sincerely appreciate your compliments.

I am disappointed to hear about your room service meal and lack of amenities in your second room and would like to extend my sincere apologies.

If you would to discuss your experience with me in further detail, please contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again in the near future!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Absolutely stunning place, scenery/location. A must for anyone visiting San Francisco and wants to get out of the city for a while. Just over the Golden Gate bridge - an absolute haven of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: Contemporary rooms are modern and stylish with every comfort you need (even a real open fire in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Cavallo Point!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Ft Baker/Cavallo Point, if you like to look @ San Francisco, the Golden Gate Bridge, it just does not get any better than this property, so close for a very easy commute for business, but in another time warp, the property has very good to great dining, we did both room service and table service, inside as well as on the porch, all very well done, and did I mention the view. Our one bedroom suite, with a sun porch, and did I mention the view. deer on the green, ships gliding by, sail boats,
tankers, yachts, and did I mention the view, not cheap, not overdone, elegant.

Room Tip: If it is available #601
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary post.

Please do come visit us again at Cavallo Point very soon!

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stunning grounds, service and view made for a WONDERFUL stay! The staff here are so polite and accommodating. We only stayed for one night, but wish it could have been longer! We stayed in the contemporary lodging and everything was top notch. The decor, the linens...everything. I don't normally stay in upscale hotels, so this place really blew my socks off! We had a breathtaking view of the bridge, I couldn't take enough pictures! It was very easy to use our $100 credit on dinner (that comes with the room). The food is fabulous! I really have absolutely no complaints of Cavallo Point! I hope to return again some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CavalloGM, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review! The staff will be very appreciative to hear of your kind compliments.

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again very soon.

Best regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.