We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place with unique touches.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A very nice place with unique touches.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at the new comtemporary room of this hotel which is what they called "green" room b/c it was newly build with the environment in mind. Everything is made of either recyclable material or natural materials like bamboo. The floor is heated and fresh cool air comes from the ceiling fan or the big nice windows. A very nice fireplace is in the room also if it gets cold at night. Everything in the room is very modern like the rain shower in the bathroom. there is also a sitting area in the room and another area of window seating that is nice if you want to just relax and read. Even the telephone has a nice greeting for us when we arrived. The view is just amazing with the Golden gate bridge sitting majestically next to your balcony or breakfast table. There are hiking and biking trips you can take from the hotel. The children's museum is pretty much across the street if you have kids.
The service is fantastic with attention to every detail. Everyone is so nice and there to help you. You will feel like royalty if you go there.
The food is also very good and some healthy choices on the menu. The firepit next to the main building is very nice for gatherings at evening time. The entire place just gives you a very different feeling as if you are truly somewhere else away from the hustle and bustle of you daily life.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments. Our staff will be ecstatic to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    148
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
121
324
20
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Wow, the view was amazing looking out onto San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge, the room was clean, comfortable, it was like staying in a house rather than a hotel. I enjoyed it here very much. The only thing that let it down was eating in the restaurant which was very busy and we had to wait about 1 hour for our food - we did not eat there again.

We went to the Spa which was fantastic, the outdoor heated pool was wonderful. My husband and I were the only ones using this and looking out just to the mountains while relaxing was such a treat and very relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at Cavallo Point for a conference in the new luxury rooms. The room was bigger than my house and truly wonderful -- heated bathroom floors, gas fireplace, comfortable bed -- all done sustainably. Loved the trails close by -- able to hike up to the Golden Gate Bridge. A wonderful hummingbird right outside the patio. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Also, the Marin Transporter with taxi transfer or hotel courtesy shuttle was a great way to get to Cavallo Point from the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind post!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point often in the near future!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Cavallo Point has a recipe for the perfect bed and breakfast. Take an old military installation perched on SF Bay with a 180 plus degree of all the beauty your eyes can behold. Leave a parade ground for more than a touch of green and renovate the military officers housing that surrounds it. Add some new buildings, and a spa. Put in a restaurant with food that is fresh and beyond mouth-watering. Add the stars at night, perhaps a brisk breeze, maybe even some fog and an unparalleled view of the Golden Gate Bridge from below its north anchorage. This is not a touristy, "let's see it all" kind of place. Perfect for a special event, honeymoon, anniversary, or "I love you" visit.

Room Tip: Bonus: some dog friendly rooms. Bowser never had it this good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Adjacent to golden gate bridge~location spectacular albeit somewhat remote. Booked two room historical suite. The rooms themselves were lovely, two fireplaces etc. Cavallo advertises as a resort/spa which we found to be not especially accomodating and while that wasn't our primary reason for traveling nearly 3000 miles, it still would have been nice to be able to utilize. The $850 per night cost was a little steep but for a few issues would have been alright. Breakfast at the restaurant wonderful with outdoor seating and outstanding food. Don't go early though, we got there at posted opening of 7 and nobody to be found working or ready for quite sometime. Also don't expect to be able to do anything within the resort after the clock strikes 8 PM- no tea bar, no hot tub, no mercantile open. No early roomservice either. Here is the worst: after returning from a busy Friday in San Fran we returned to what looked like a California convention had decended upon the resort. Apparent parties, people and cars in occupied every inch of the 'tranquil' day resort. Drove the entire area three times and absolutely no place to even park my car. Valet man said he would take my car "far up the hillside" to park it for me. Loud obnoxious music played way into the wee hours.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not meet with your expectations.

We do our best to have the hours of our dining establishments open at times that are convenient for all guests: Room Service is open at 7am and the Farley Bar closes at 11am Sunday-Thursdays, and at 12am on Fridays-Saturday.

As for our corporate meeting schedules, the programs usually run Thursday-Friday. While our resort is currently in midst of one of our busiest seasons, please rest assure that we are taking every precautionary measure to ensure that all guests who visit have a comfortable stay.

If there are any further concerns that I may address, please contact me at euan@cavallopoint.com.

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We're San Francisco locals, so for us Cavallo Point is an occasional "weekend getaway" rather than a full-blown base for a long-term vacation. But as a local, we often get asked to recommend spots in the area and if its within your budget and you're not looking for the "downtown boutique hotel" kind of experience, this is a great and unique option.

Cavallo Point isn't a hotel, it falls more in the category of "villa accomodations" like you often find in the Wine country (Carneros Inn, Calistoga Ranch, Solage) or further south of the City like Cordevalle on the peninsula. If you're the sort of person who likes privacy, a little more space, and a front door instead of an elevator, these sort of resorts are great. I generally seek them out in places I visit.

Granted, there are downside to all this space. Walking from your room to the restaurant, or to the spa, or to your car might be a bit of a hike. But grounds here are very nice and the views are unique and inspiring, being, essentially, under the Golden Gate bridge (not directly under, of course, but you get the idea).

We chose a modern room and opted for a Bridge view, both choices I would recommend to you. The "historic" buildings look nice as well, I wouldn't mind trying one next time, but I loved the contemporary room and had no complaints.

The resort is dog-friendly as well, which was great.

The restaurant when the resort first opened was very high end and I think it had achieved 1 Michelin star, but after a change of chef its not as ambitious, but still solid. Their wine list in particular is still very good and well priced (must have kept the same staff in the cellar?). If you're into wines, especially "cult" or hard to find wines (perhaps a Colgin, or a Sine Qua Non, or a Screaming Eagle), you'll find them here and not as dearly priced as you might think (but still not cheap). It would be great to see them invest further in the restaurant and get a 1 or 2 star rating to compete with rivals further north in Napa or south in SF.

As a base for visiting SF, I think this place is great and overlooked. I would definitely recommend renting a car, however, as cabs aren't really a great way to cross the bridge repeatedly. But with a car, you are just minutes away from the City, and can reach most popular locations very quickly. And your commute "home" across the Golden Gate is of course awesome.

Other cool things - the Spa here was very nice and relaxing. There are great hiking trails right outside your front door. The bar is excellent and welcoming. The fireplace in the room was great. There's even a quite elaborate "kids museum" in walking distance here that's appropriate for kids 2-8 or so (not affiliated with the hotel).

On the service side, I wouldn't expect Four Seasons levels of service here. Its professional and efficient, but its a bit more rustic and laid back than a true 5-star resort might be. I don't really have an issue with that, but you'll be happier if you don't go in expecting that "extreme" level of hands-on service.

I'd recommend going in nice weather, and make sure you consider Sausalito weather specifically, don't assume it will be the same as San Francisco or Wine Country weather. It can be very foggy and if you pick a time with warm, fog-free evenings you will have an great experience. There are a lot of outdoor areas, a great fire-pit near the restaurant, nice veranda, etc. All of this is a lot more fun when the weather is good! You may need a little luck on your side to get a clear 75-degree evening, those can be in short supply in this area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We hope to welcome you back to Cavallo Point again in the very near future!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you've already experienced the typical San Francisco tour, Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square and the pub crawls, this would make an ideal second time around. You can experience San Francisco away from the hectic pace. Just across the Golden Gate Bridge is Cavallo Point at Baker Beach. It is more of a retreat. The old historic barracks serve as an updated, beautifully appointed lodge. While experiencing the tranquility of the lodge, you're able to sit and watch life go by on the San Francisco Bay and the skyline of The City. There is also an adequate spa on the property, adding to the retreat feel. There is only a single restaurant at the hotel, an impressive menu, although the service is less than impressive, as in not at all attentive. Cannot comment on the bar on sight, always too crowded to enter. This seems like an attraction for the locals as well as hotel guests.
In addition to the historic barracks, there are contemporary buildings as lodging. Ours was extra large, with impressive glass windows and an inviting day bed/nook to read and lounge. A beautiful deck, although too cold to enjoy. It seems the bay view rooms book up earliest, although there are no bad views on the property. An added plus, very dog friendly.
Very few negatives, but they would be: Housekeeping crews very loud, slamming doors, etc. Spa services advertised at 60 minutes, the reality is you get 50 minutes. Wait staff in restaurant indifferent. I must add, however, the rest of the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early and get a bay or bridge view, worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your stay.

We appreciate your compliments, as well, as your feedback on improvement suggestions for certain service areas. I apologize for any inconveniences that you may have enountered and will be certain to discuss your comments in further detail with my team.

We hope to welcome you back again the near future!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
#4 Family Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.