We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spring break @ Cavallo Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Save Saved
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Sausalito
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful spring break @ Cavallo Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in march for spring break with a 13 and -1 year old. Although the weather wad not great our time here was. The staff made sure we were comfortable and had all the amenities needed when traveling with a small child. Murray circle was great for breakfast and Victoria gave us great ideas for activities. The grounds are amazing and the views of Golden Gate bridge wonderful. We visited Mt Tam, Muir woods, San Francisco (Alcatraz anyone?) and had a great time at the Bay Area discovery museum on property. Overall found it to be a fun family adventure - well worth it!! Read up on the history of the property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cavallo Point as your destinaton of choice for your Spring Break. We sincerely appreciate your compliments!

We hope to welcome you and your family back for many more vacations!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    108
    32
    19
    14
See reviews for
91
248
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I was lucky enough to be invited to a meeting here about one year after my first visit. This time, I stayed in a contemporary room which was a bit set back from the main circle. The room was luxurious and well appointed with a nice view of the Golden Gate in the distance from my balcony.

My only complaint is the poor lighting throughout the property at night making it difficult to find your way at times. While you might imagine this was to keep light levels down to enhance the experience, each room had a very bright light outside the door which gave the opposite effect. All in all, a wonderful place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: The historic suites are very nice, the contemporary rooms have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments!

Please understand that being in a National Park restricts how much lighting we are allowed to emit onsite. However, we appreciate your concern regarding the lighting at the resort and will be installing some extra lights in certain areas to promote safety for all guests.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel really has something for everyone. There are contemporary rooms built on a beautiful hillside overlooking the bay. The historic rooms we're converted from the captain's quarters. I've had the pleasure of staying in both style rooms. Both are extremely comfortable with great bathrooms. The contemporary rooms are great for a business traveler or someone looking for comfort with a CA flair. I will say I absolutely adored the historic rooms. We stayed in a queen suite and it was perfect for my husband, myself and our son. The rooms are very spacious and quiet. We dined at the restaurant and had a fantastic meal. I am planning on returning for my birthday this year to take cooking classes at their demo kitchen. Can't wait!

Room Tip: Historic queen suite is highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting us at Cavallo Point-we so appreciate you taking the time to post. We would love for you to come and celebrate your birthday with us

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is just stunning & easy to get to from San Francisco. The rooms at this renovated military base are incredible. I stayed in one of the historical rooms, which are all unique & gorgeously done. I visited the modern eco-rooms on the hill and they were also spectacular - but a very different experience - so choose your style based on your preference. It was a bit of a challenge getting around the resort - poor lighting, no signs, and lots of walking - although they will offer you rides in a golf cart. At night, the stairs on the hill were downright dangerous. This is not a hotel for people with mobility issues. The restaurant at the hotel is highly rated, but I was extremely disappointed. The restaurant service was horrific & vegetarian choices were almost non-existent. Strange for a Bay Area restaurant. Better to avoid and eat in Sausalito instead. Rest of staff & service were perfectly fine.

Room Tip: Historical rooms are all unique, charming & beautiful New eco-rooms are very modern, open-style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely appreciate your compliments and concerns and also wanted to address your comments regarding lighting and the restaurant.

Please understand that we are limited on the lighting that is provided around the property as we are located within a National Park and required to follow certain rules and regulations. However, the safety of our guests and visitors is of the utmost importance and we will be adding lighting in certain areas very soon.

In regards to the restaurant, Chef Justin is committed to catering to our diners and honoring their preferences. If there are any special requests, please let us know beforehand and we will do our best to accomodate.

Please rest assured that our goal is to provide the most memorable experiences for all our guests and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Cavallo Point.

If there are any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at euan@cavallopoint.com. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have been to Cavallo Point five times and just booked our sixth stay. We live in San Francisco and can get to Cavallo for an easy overnight that feels like you're worlds away in just 10 minutes. The rooms are both posh and eco-friendly (we love the contemporary rooms for the light and the views--try for an upstairs room for a vaulted ceiling). The staff members are terrific--helpful and genuinely warm and friendly. Can't say enough about their amazing concierge, Josh, who makes us feel ridiculously welcome every time.

Start your stay with an easy hike starting just outside of your room, leading to panoramic views of the bay, multiple bridges, and SF. Then trek to the spa to sit in the meditation pool at sunset (a co-ed outdoor swimming pool-sized hot tub) and follow up with dinner at the Farley Bar. Sleep in and have room service breakfast delivered in the morning. Perfect!!

Room Tip: sometimes great upgrades are available at the time of check in--it's also worth the splurge to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Molly,

Thank you so much for your compliments! I'll definitely share your review with Josh and the rest of the team here at Cavallo Point.

Please do come visit us again soon!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Start to finish our two day stay here was a perfect getaway. This property is in the Golden Gate National Park. From everywhere on the property you have a view of that majestic bridge. We stayed in one of the new (4 years old) suites that are built on top of old bunkers. These are modern, green facilities with just enough furniture to be comfortable. It is incredible, the thoughtfulness that has gone into the design of these buildings, from the use of renewable materials like bamboo to compact fluorescent lighting, to recycling containers available - and Brita water pitchers in the refrigerator instead of $8 bottles of water! The restaurant is excellent too - we ate there both nights, no desire to leave and find something else. It's a 45 minute drive to Napa or Sonoma and close to the Oakland airport. You can get a golf cart ride anywhere on the property if you don't want to walk the quarter mile from the newer units to the main building where the bar and restaurant are.

Room Tip: Some noise (water running and walking around if people have a heavy step) comes through in the new u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are always so appreciatve of compliments from our guests, so thank you kindly for taking the time to post.

We hope to welcome you back again at Cavallo Point!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

After staying at Cavallo Point last year for a family wedding, we wanted to come back with our kids and get to enjoy the entire property. We just got back today following 4 days of relaxation in the incredibly able hands of the CP staff. The room was first class, the concierge eager to please (thanks, Nancy), the locale very convenient and the entire staff professionally trained.

Imagine yourself under a bright blue sky with a gentle breeze with a breath-taking view of the Golden Gate Bridge close enough to touch and San Francisco across the bay.

If you want a special experience in the Bay area, Cavallo Point is a perfect choice. We were even greeted personally by the General Manager of the resort, Euan Taylor, who was interested in our stay and how he could improve our time there.

Great time!

Room Tip: Ask if you want the traditional homes or the newer contemporary residences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, General Manager at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your kind review! It was lovely to meet you during your stay and we hope to welcome you back for many more visits in the future!

Best Regards,

Euan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Hotel
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito
Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Family Hotel in Sausalito
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Venere, Preferred Hotels, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.