We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pricey hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavallo Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cavallo Point to your Saves list
Cavallo Point
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice pricey hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is an expensive hotel, but the rooms are nice and so is the service. Valets were helpful and I never felt like I was bothering them. Had the complimentary breakfast and it was delicious, a little to rich for our tastes though. We stayed in the contemporary room with the golden gate view, which was amazing but the art was more weird than anything. We stayed at a much cheaper hotel that gave us complimentary champagne because of our recent engagement, when we got engaged the night before while staying at cavallo point. They knew of it and told the fiance they were going to do something special, however they did not. We did not expect them to, but they did say they would and did not keep their word.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    144
    46
    24
    18
See reviews for
118
310
18
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The hotel's whitewashed historical buildings and expansive grounds warrant a stay in and of themselves, but certain small details made our visit less than perfect, and when I'm paying $410/night, I expect those kinds of details to be a non-issue. For example, it was strange to leave check-in to find no one at the valet stand. Someone did appear after about 5 min.. Also, as the buildings have no central air system (which I think is great), the hotel policy should be to have staff open the windows of reserved rooms before guests arrive so one doesn't walk into an oven when one gets to the room. Also, because of the lack of a/c, I imagine guests are more likely to sleep with their windows open, and the hotel could stand to post friendly reminders outside and around the guestroom buildings for people to minimize noise (two men carried on a very loud conversation for about 15 min. at 6:30am right below our windows). On Sunday at 11 am, our breakfast server seemed so anxious about getting our order in before the kitchen closed before brunch starts (at 11:30) that he rushed us and insisted (twice) he take our drink order later, and was visibly stressed. Whether that's a kitchen flexibility issue, or a personal issue (on the part of our waiter), or a hosting issue, I don't know, but it was extreme. I really appreciated the greening efforts of the hotel (Britas in the fridge instead of water bottles, no a/c, recycling bins in the rooms) I hope management works out the kinks so that the service measures up.

Room Tip: The new buildings are nice enough, but the guestrooms in the historical buildings seem much more spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
676 reviews 676 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Lovely hotel with exquisite service. In evaluating room rates, consider that there is free valet parking and free wifi internet in your room.

Buildings circle a huge lawn that used to be the parade grounds. Intriguing vistas of the Golden Gate Bridge, so different at night and at dawn, in the fog and in the bright sunlight. Hike in the Marin Highlands. Sit on the old barrack's porch in a rocking chair and reminisce on your success. Nice leather chair bar.

New rooms very functional and comfortable. Saw the bridge from our bed. Old room not functional; nowhere to place two suitcases and window would not stay up.

Skip the restaurant for breakfast or brunch. Limited menu. Pricey. Food is Sonoma sparce, and the frites served with the "fish and chips" are little little potatoes bits soaked in heavy cooking grease. No soup offered in the summer. Odd inconvenient hours: closed 10:30 am to 11:30 am for set up. The cruisine of the new chef does not live up to reputation. [For breakfast, try the Lighthouse in Sausalito.] Need to go to next building to buy New York Times in gift shop.

The wifi does not work in some of the old buildings and the hotel's distant wifi service helpers are continents away and will keep you on the phone a long time with an idiotic question algorithm without results; still no wifi in room 203.)

Error in bill straightened out after 5 or 6 calls.

Inquire about location and hours of the Presidio Yacht Club Bar, located on other side of road, near bay. Great for night cap.

Still, the place is lovely, conveniently located, and we plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: If choose old rooms: 1) check for place for luggage 2) see if window will stay open 3) make sure i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Oct 8, 2911. It was our anniversary weekend and we wanted to do something very special. I had heard about Cavallo Point Lodge through friends and other sources. The weekend was also fleet week in San Francisco which meant if we had a Golden Gate view room we should also be able to see the Blue Angels flying as an added bonus. I read all the reviews in Trip Advisor, the good and the bad, and thought the positive reviews far outweighed the negative reviews. I was also impressed that Christine Hoang, Executive Assistant, responded to the negative reviews which meant to me someone was paying attention to details of a good operation.

Next, I wanted to make sure we would get an excellent view of the bridge, so we decided to splurge and book a contemporary King suite and requested a 2nd floor location. We would be checking in on Saturday for two nights. In fact, we arrived in town around 1pm, so called and asked for an early check-in which was available. We knew the minute we walked in we would not regret our “splurge weekend”.

The suite was exactly the way it looked like in the pictures, spacious and nicely furnished. There were windows everywhere (with screens) and an absolutely fantastic view. Our suite was clean and the deck allowed us to view the blue angels flying directly above us. Best of all, the next morning was a foggy morning, so we flipped a switch and the gas fireplace lit up immediately. The fireplace acts as the divider between the bedroom and living room and you can see it from both rooms. The bathroom was elegantly designed and appointed, with comfortable space for two and a great walk-in shower.

Shortly after arrival, a staff member brought us champagne and chocolates and wished us Happy Anniversary (indeed a nice touch of class). We had dinner at the Murray Circle restaurant, which we thought was also worth the money…great food and lots of space between tables for privacy. We thought the lunch prices at the bar were on the high side; however, the fish and chips were among the best we have tasted.

While at the Lodge, we visited the Spa, including the meditation pool, the whirlpool, and the steam room. The Spa is an elegant building that truly gives guests the sense of space and peace without being ornate or “over the top”, yet feels luxurious. Even sitting in the many seating areas so well planned throughout the building is worth the trip to the Spa.
Transportation around the expansive property is provided by on-demand golf carts driven by friendly and courteous staff. Once calling for a ride, we rarely waited more than five minutes.
Bottom line: we really thought the place was an excellent value for the room, view, amenities, and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The view is wonderful. Unfortunately, the restaurant is not. Extraordinarily overpriced, which would be understandable if the quality was there, but even more unfortunately, the food is absolutely disgusting. Pathetic attempt at a "quality" dining experience. Disappointing is the only fitting word.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very sorry to hear that your meal at Murray Circle did not meet with your expectations. We are always open to receiving guest feedback and would welcome the opportunity to hear about your dining experience in more detail. At your earliest convenience, please feel free to contact me directly by either e-mail or telephone: christine@cavallopoint or 415-339-4701 and I will be happy to answer any questions or concerns you may have.

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your visit and we hope to be of further assistance to you.

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

19th anniversary in a contemporary room with a one touch fireplace, a view of the golden gate bridge, spa robes & slippers, sumptuous mattress, what more could we ask for? Yes, wine that we picked up in Sonoma! Sausalito is a 15 min drive over the Golden Gate Bridge into SanFrancisco. A LOT of attention to detail here. The room was spotless & swanky. Have a night cap at Farleys bar, sitting outside by the fire...take a complimentary vinyasa yoga class, or use the spa to unwind- also complimentary are the steam, sauna & heated pool. Our rate was discounted- stay 3 pay for 2- great deal for such an exquisite place. The service was impeccable. Sausalito is just lovely...the flavor of Italy. Cheers!

Room Tip: room 2411- great view of GGBridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eclairs8, Executive Office at Cavallo Point, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your complimentary post. You have captured all of our fine points perfectly and we are so appreciative that you have decided to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

Happy Anniversary and we hope to welcome you back for many more celebratory occasions!

Best Regards,

Christine Hoang
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

A wonderful place that is perfect for the hiker, biker and those who just want to relax in great scenery. The spa is lovely and there are a lot of things to use that are included in the room rate. The views are unsurpassed and sitting on the porch in a rocking chair and looking out at San Francisco and the Golden Gate bridge is a great way to spend the afternoon. Be sure to ask for a view room and enjoy the fireplace. Also lots of good food in Sausalito and we had forgotten how delightful Sausalito is. A great get away!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavallo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavallo Point

Address: 601 Murray Circle, Sausalito, CA 94965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Sausalito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sausalito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cavallo Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location on the San Francisco Bay at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge, Cavallo Point offers unique historic and contemporary lodging options. Kid friendly and pet friendly, Cavallo Point offers a multitude of activities and services to choose from.The Healing Arts Center & Spa offers innovative spa treatments in a serene, tranquil setting. Filled with natural light and top-of-the line culinary equipment, the Cavallo Point Cooking School is an intimate place to taste, create and learn. Murray Circle Restaurant is one of Northern California's top culinary destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Cavallo Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavallo Point Sausalito
Cavallo Point Hotel Sausalito

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavallo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.