We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quiet in Silicon Valley CA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saratoga Oaks Lodge

Save Saved
You added Saratoga Oaks Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saratoga Oaks Lodge
14626 Big Basin Way, Saratoga, CA 95070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Saratoga
Lichfield
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peace & quiet in Silicon Valley CA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Should you be fortunate enough to visit this World centre of excellence for all things electronic or are merely touring this beautiful part of California, a place to recover from your days exertions is The Oaks Lodge Hotel in Saratoga village. Saratoga village in its own right is a delightful place to visit and has a history going back to the 1800's. The main street has many interesting shops, local wine tasting bars and a number of good restaurants, at night with its sparkling lighting is a visual joy and it's minutes away from the shopping malls and supermarkets should these be of interest. To the north, San Francisco is less than an hours drive away and Monterey with its wonderful aquarium (not to be missed) is an equal distance to the South, both of which must somehow be included in any schedule.
The Oaks Lodge is a 'home-from-home' hotel set in a tranquil setting amidst the trees in the centre of Saratoga, 'it is not your typical US Motel'. There are a variety of rooms to choose from, all are spacious, clean and adequately equipped mine was and very comfortable to stay in. Breakfast is a self-serve pleasure which you can use at your leisure. The real benefit of staying at The Oaks Lodge is the peace and quiet that ensures you can get a good nights rest before embarking on the next days adventure.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you prefer and they will do their best to accomodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    27
    8
    1
    8
See reviews for
11
30
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at the lodge for two nights in room 9. The room was clean and smelled good (no tobacco smoke smell). The carpets were a little worn, but the towels were new.

We would stay here again. It is very close to the heart of Saratoga. Everything is just steps away.

Room Tip: Room 9 if you can get it. Parking lot level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Saratoga Oaks is perfectly situated for walking around Saratoga, and it is away from lots of traffic. Very quiet , that's a big plus for me. The room was fairly large and adequate, with a comfy bed. I didn't care for the sink and mirror being part of the main room, but that's just me. Very close to Montalvo Villa, and various wineries. Be sure to go to a concert at Montalvo and Mountain Winery. Beautiful settings! There was a complementary breakfast consisting mostly of sweet rolls , coffee, and juice. We went out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I had to make a last minute trip to Santa Clara/Cupertino, and most hotels in the area were booked -- so it was either the Clarion Hotel by SJC or the Saratoga Oaks. I'm glad I stayed at the Saratoga Oaks -- super quiet, clean rooms, wifi, CATV, etc. at a very reasonable price. I wouldn't say the rooms are "worn" -- they're just very dated. The best part is the location: you're in the heart of Saratoga and can walk to dozens of excellent restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The rooms were quaint, however i left my brand new outfit hanging on the door nob of the bathroom. After remembering a few days later where I left the outfit I called the front desk and asked the man who answered to check for me...He never called back. My next call was awarded to a woman who told me if I cared about my things I wouldn't leave them. When I inquired further, asking if perhaps the maids misplaced it, she told me I shouldn't accuse her staff of being thieves.
Just be warned: Don't expect them to go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I spent two nights here recently. It's a motel type layout right in downtown Saratoga, which is beautiful. I'm not a fan of motel layouts but I have to admit that it did make loading and unloading my luggage pretty easy since I was able to park my car directly in front of my room.

The good: The rooms are nicely furnished and it felt more like spending time in somebody's guest room than it did a hotel; front desk staff was friendly; great location; it had a nice walk in shower (but no tub); price was reasonable for the Silicon Valley area.

The ok: They offer free coffee in the lobby although I didn't take them up on it; the bedroom had a long granite countertop on one wall with the bathroom sink and large mirror over it which felt a little out of place to me.

The bad: the room was a bit worn, especially the carpeting and the blanket on my bed; the tv in the room was an old, small tv (not flat panel) and I only received basic cable television stations. I mean BASIC. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, SC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We enjoyed it without any issues.
Room, although a bit small, was clean and neat, service was fine.
Convenient walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saratoga Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saratoga Oaks Lodge

Address: 14626 Big Basin Way, Saratoga, CA 95070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Saratoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Saratoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Saratoga Oaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Oaks Hotel Saratoga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saratoga Oaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.