We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ForFriends Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ForFriends Inn to your Saves list
ForFriends Inn
1121 Edison Street, Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Deals: Save $250!
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Ynez B&B and Inns
Ventura, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This is an outstanding bed and breakfast. The inn is modern with large rooms , king size beds and large well done bathrooms. Debby and Jim are the friendliest hosts. They serve excellent wines at their nightly happy hour. The two nights we were there the happy hour went for a couple of hours with Jim singing and playing guitar with Steve (one of our fellow guests playing bongos). It was a lot of fun. Breakfast is delicious. They have a card that gets guests free wine tastings and discounts at numerous wineries and restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for such a wonderful 5-star review. We had such a great time when your foursome visited our little inn. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed the Friendship Pass at so many wineries and restaurants. We're happy that you could take advantage of the complimentary tastings and food. It's always so fun to see friends visiting together and enjoying the Valley and our inn. We sure hope that you'll come visit again soon. . . w'll be sure to add some of those fun folks songs to our happy hour music repertoire.

Please be sure to say hello to the rest of the foursome.

Take care.

JIm, Debbie, Katie, Dave. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
114
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

You will do no better than a stay at this beautiful, well-appointed B&B! From my first call to reserve a room through to the last moments of our stay, Debbie and Jim have created a get-away experience that is well-thought out and anticipates any travelers needs. From the fantastic Friendship Pass giving you discounts to an amazing array of wineries/tasting rooms/restaurants in the area to fantastic recommendations of how you might spend your day to the happy hour and music in the evening, they have thought of everything and deliver it with style and quality. Debbie and Jim are two of the most hospitable and gracious hosts you will find. Cannot wait for our next trip to the inn - we will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Tower room - separate from the house with a nice deck in the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks so much for your wonderful 5-star review. We so enjoyed having you both here for your special getaway; moreover, you both aded so much joy and fun to the inn — especially during the singsongs at happy hour! We know how precious time together is for you two and we were honored to be chosen as the place where you would enjoy it. We are excited to have you here once again. . . and the maracas miss you!

See you soon!

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Two couples making our way from Pittsburgh to California found a beautiful nugget nestled it the hills of Santa Barbara. This gem could not be more appropriately named; it is the ForFriends Inn and is located in the town of Santa Ynez.
This surprise trip for our wives turned into one of our favorites and scored some at-a-boys for us. From the moment you walk through the door of the Inn you feel right at home. The warm greeting form Jim, Deb and Smitty instantly brings a smile to the tired faces of these travelers. We arrived just in time for happy hour-imagine that. This was more of a reunion that a meeting of strangers, thanks to the efforts of Jim and Deb. These were so enjoyable we did not miss one in our five days at the Inn. (I even did back-up vocals for Jim and I was sober.)
After happy hour we were promptly shown to our rooms. These are not your typically small quarters. These rooms are big, bright, beautifully decorated and impeccably clean, as is the rest of the Inn. The king beds were extremely comfortable, especially after a hard day of wine tasting and eating your way through the Santa Ynez Valley.
In the morning you are greeted by a great breakfast. From Deb’s granola to the entrees, everything was fresh and served to your liking. We never felt rushed. We relaxed, enjoyed the start of the day and got to know Jim and Deb and them us. This is also where they shared with us their travel tips and recommendations for our daily adventures.
As you can probably tell this turned into more than a five day getaway at some B&B, this was more like visiting your favorite relatives and just as difficult saying goodbye to them when you leave.
Add four more friends to your list…
Dan & Michelle
Don & Sharon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dan,

Thanks for this wonderful five-star review and all of your kind words. We will file your visit in the "why did they have to leave us" folder. Man, it was hard to say goodbye. What a wonderful time we all had during your "four friends' getaway" from snowy, cold Pittsburgh to ForFriends Inn in wine country paradise. As soon as you checked in it felt as if we were old friends reconnecting. It was fun for us to break away a few times with you folks to show you around the Valley. We wish we could have spent even more time hanging out with you four, and certainly feel like we've made friends for life. Thank you for the wonderful time here and your special generosity as you were leaving. We were (are) totally moved. You folks only solidify our lifelong experience of meeting the nicest people from Pittsburgh. It's a special town (tahn) with special folks. ;^p

We will definitely be seeing you again someday (either here or there). All the best to Michelle, Don and Sharon.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Such a beautiful inn, in a beautiful valley. The rooms are lovely, the service top notch and everything is perfect. Jim and Deb are lovely and will bend over backwards to ensure you experience perfection.

They have certainly earned all these 4 star reviews!


Don't miss the lyrical happy hour!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Eileen,

Thanks so much for your five-star review. We're so happy to have been a part of you and your family's lives the past year and a half. Thanks for choosing our inn as a place to stay during your many visits to the Valley. After so many stays at ForFriends Inn it feels like we're a part of your family now — which is an honor. We can't wait to see you folks again in the coming weeks.

All the best to everyone!

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife has wanted to stay at a B&B in Santa Barbra County for some time now. I've always resisted as I wasn't sure if I would be comfortable at a B&B. My wife finally convinced me to give it a try and for our ninth anniversary we did.
We had been to the Santa Ynez valley before and really enjoy the charm of the area. The ForFriends Inn fits into the area perfectly. The rooms are clean, comfortable, well maintained and well appointed. Each room has its own bathroom and ours had a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms are enough for a great review, however Jim and Debbie are the reason we will be returning. They do a great job in making you feel at home. From Jim playing guitar and singing during the evening happy hour to Debbie’s amazing food, they truly understand what hospitality is. Keep it up and we’ll see you soon.
Nilesh and Alpa

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Nilesh & Alpa,

What a joy to read your wonderful review! We were so honored to be a part of your anniversary getaway here in Santa Barbara Wine Country. It made us feel great that you were able to enjoy yourselves here as you did. After speaking on the phone and via email with Alpa prior to your visit — helping her choose which wineries to visit and which restaurants to go to — we were hoping that the Valley (and our inn) could deliver the perfect experiences for you during such a special weekend. We're super glad to hear that it turned out so well for you both.

I was thinking about your words in your review and, I must admit, I was never a B&B guy either. Now that I own one and we get to meet some the nicest, coolest, most interesting people, I wish I had stayed at more years ago. There is NOTHING more rewarding than meeting and talking to our new friends here at the inn. And watching you two and how you engaged with everyone. . . it was inspiring. It's clear you both are naturally outgoing and friendly. . . it seemed like everyone wanted to chat with you guys. We loved it!

Thank YOU for saying such kind things about us and thank YOU for making everyone's stay here that much better by getting to meet such kind, fun and interesting folks as you two.

We so look forward to seeing you both again soon.

All the best.

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stay in the Solvang area once or twice a year and I have become somewhat disappointed at the places we have stayed lately. Properties in the area are expensive and getting old and the "the little things" that make your vacay stays stand apart, or special, are missing,...I guess hotels are cutting back on expenses. So all to say, when you find a place like ForFriends Inn, that really cares about customer service, it is really a treat. In my opinion a 4 Star :) establishment!

My husband is not a B & B kind of guy so the fact there were two "free standing" rooms available at the Inn was the draw. Plus, the Winter Rate (it was the holiday season), was a great deal for more reasons than one. We don't always get the chance to get away just before Christmas to celebrate our Anniversary, but this was a perfect two day (weekday) respite for us during the craziness of the season....and such a good deal. Unfortunately, the free standing "Tower" was unavailable our first night so we stayed in the Demetria Room in the main house, planning to move the second night. We loved our room so much that we stayed in the Demetria Room both nights. Since it was mid-week and the holiday season, the house was very quite and cozy. The Demetria Room is beautifully decorated, with plenty of room with a nice medium sized bathroom (stand alone shower and separate jacuzzi tub). We enjoyed the comfortable patio, and the cast iron fireplace (It was cold at night, and it worked great). The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean (this is VERY important to me, it met my standards, in fact, the entire house did.). The property is well taken care of (inside and out) and everything looks new. We had maid service, so our room was made up on our second day. I really liked the fresh smelling bath products, too.

There were two other rooms on our floor, but no one was staying in them, so I cannot comment on how sound proof the upper floor is. The rooms I saw were beautiful, with an option or two, if you are not the frilly type (all rooms are different). There were, I believe two rooms downstairs with separate entrances. I did not see them, and there were 2 other rooms not connected to the house (we plan to return and stay in the popular tower!).

Your stay includes a Friendship Pass which makes staying here an even better deal. If you like to wine taste or eat out, you will appreciate this bonus. Some tasting rooms 2/1 or comp and some were within walking distance (and a good choice of great places to eat in Santa Ynez. The pass comped us a free appetizer or dessert at the restaurants we ate at). Very, very fun! ....and saved us so much money!! We walked to dinner both nights. Santa Ynez is a fun place to visit.

The highlight of this place are Jim and Debbie. They make your stay extra special. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome (but not intrusive). And, who doesn't enjoy having someone else make them breakfast :)? The breakfasts were really yummy and did not disappoint. We had 2 egg dish choices (sausage one morning, bacon the next) both mornings, and Debbie was willing to make a special order breakfast, and did so for one of the couples that stayed at the Inn. Baked goods were homemade, along with yogurt and fruit, coffee/juice. They even prepared a happy hour for those of us that were there (early evening), with local wines and a deli tray, even homemade tapenade! A special treat awaited us upon our return from dinner .... several kinds of home baked cookies, and a self serve refrigerator with little waters that you could take back to your room. The cookies: I could of eaten them all!!!! It always smelled so good in the house!!! Debbie is an amazing baker. Jim and Debbie made us feel like friends, it's really true, you come as guests and leave, "friends". They even had the Inn decorated for Christmas. Very inviting B & B. Debbie and Jim's residence is across the street, so we felt like we had a lot of privacy!

Many special touches at ForFriends Inn (like a sweet note wishing us Happy Anniversary upon our arrival), are the kinds of things that bring you back. I know we will be returning to ForFriends Inn. Jim, next time Joey will bring his harmonica! Thank you so much for the great time. Hope we will be able to come back soon.

(BTW, just this week, I received a photo Jim took of us, and a good one too. Now that's going the extra mile).

You really can't ask for better service and a more beautiful place to stay. My husband really loved it too. I won't even have to twist his arm, lol

Room Tip: Not all rooms have separate jacuzzi and I heard that the claw tub in one of the other rooms has been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Holy cow! We just don't even know how to thank you for taking the time to write this incredibly flattering review. Seriously, we all were teary-eyed as we read your kind words. Thank you a thousand times for this. You don't know how meaningful it is for us to read these reviews. . . and how very, very helpful they are for us.

We try so very hard to touch the hearts of everyone we meet here at ForFriends Inn. Nothing means more to us than when we receive confirmation that we have. You two are such wonderful souls and so easy to talk. . . becoming friends was inevitable because of YOU.

FYI: We thank you for your recommendations and have actually put them into action. There is no better way to improve than by talking with our new friends and learning from them. We truly appreciate your advice and insights.

Lastly, this goes without saying, but we are honored to have met you both and become your new friends. Please do come back and visit — especially now that we've converted the hubby to a B&B fan (that was THE most rewarding).

See you soon!

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . & Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Our first visit to Santa Ynez and we are already planning our next visit to ForFriends Inn. The owners Debbie and Jim, Dave and Katie were so gracious and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Carmichael Cottage and just loved the privacy. Breakfasts amazing, music and wine before dinner such fun! Walked to the best restaurants for dinner and Jim helped us plan our wine tasting adventures in the morning over breakfast. Can't say enough wonderful things about this place. Only disappointment was they wouldn't let me take Smitty home. See you in April!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForFriendsInn, Owner at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hi Kathleen,

Thanks so much for your wonderful 5-star review. For us, the greatest reward comes from making such wonderful new friends as we have with you two. And there is no greater honor than when you come back again. . . and with more friends! We're SO excited about the April trip you're putting together: The weather will be divine (as usual) excellent wines will be flowing, and Debbie's scrumptious food will be served up with a friendly smile. Oh yes, and the happy hours will probably be held in our cozy Wine Garden, and even more fun with all your friends joining in the sing-alongs. We can't wait.

See you soon!

Jim, Debbie, Dave, Katie. . . and Smitty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ForFriends Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ForFriends Inn

Address: 1121 Edison Street, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Santa Ynez, CA, in the heart of Santa Barbara Wine Country: Minutes from Solvang, Los Olivos and all the wonderful wineries. ForFriends Inn is a luxurious seven-room B&B where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Your stay includes:• Daily three-course breakfast• Daily Happy Hour with wine, hors d'oeurves and weekend live music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your ForFriends Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ForFriends Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.