We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the Edison St. Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ForFriends Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added ForFriends Inn to your Saves list
ForFriends Inn
1121 Edison Street, Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Deals: Save $250!
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Ynez B&B and Inns
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“love the Edison St. Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoy staying at the Edison! Great getaway, super comfy rooms and spotless! Larry makes your stay wonderful and has thought of everything. We will continue coming back to the Edison!

Room Tip: have stayed in 2 different rooms and enjoyed each one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were told that the Edison Inn was a great getaway in the Santa Ynex wine valley. That was an understatement. It is hard to say which of the rooms I would recommend, as the entire bed and breakfast is decorated beautifully. We felt so at home, and enjoyed our late afternoons sipping wonderful local wines with Larry by the fireplace. He is a great host, and we can't wait to go back and enjoy a relaxing weekend at the Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I arranged a visit with my friends and we stayed at this Inn. What a pleasant surprise!!! So quaint and luxurious at the same time. We enjoyed everything about it--the decor, the comfy beds, the cleanliness and the enjoyable evenings sharing stories with the Innkeeper while sipping on fabulous wines. This will definitely be on our list for romantic getaways!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful inn a couple of years ago and meant to get back sooner rather than later as it was an awesome place to stay. We finally managed to get there this past weekend and remember why we had such fond memories. Larry, the innkeeper and owner, is such a warm individual and we really loved just lazing about in front of the fireplace talking with him about so many different things. In addition to being an interesting guy, he is quite knowledgeable about the area and has great suggestions on where to go for wine tasting, dining, etc. for those without a plan. His establishment is immaculate, quiet, spacious and inviting. The rooms are gorgeous and inviting. The location couldn't be better....right on the edge of town within a short walk from numerous great restaurants and shops. Despite being close to town, the inn is quiet and private, as Santa Ynez is quite small, with a very friendly tone. There are a couple of cafes down the street which Larry has an arrangement with, and where breakfast is served. There is great variety and the wait staff is friendly and efficient. We really loved staying here and will be making it an annual event!

Room Tip: No bad rooms in this inn...all are stellar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I came to Santa Ynez to visit our children and grandchildren for a family reunion of sorts. This Inn was fabulous in terms of comfortable accommodations, cleanliness, service and congeniality! We had such a good time with the innkeepers and they were so helpful in assisting us with everything since we are older, in our 80's, and required handicapped facilities and help with luggage, etc. It was a great place and we would recommend it highly! Larry even drove us down to the local eating place for the breakfast--what wonderful people!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I had to jump thru hoops to get a reservation because I needed an accessible room for someone in a wheelchair. Larry asked me why I wanted to stay at the Edison which truly put me on the defensive. The one accessible room was not available for the dates I wanted. Larry told me to call back with other dates. When I did he gave me a run around about it being a busy time and asked me to call back with new dates. I called back with new dates and left detailed voicemails 2 times. He never returned my calls. I think Larry is very selective about the people he chooses to occupy the rooms at the inn. I hate to say it, but people with a disabilities must not be acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdisonStreetInn, General Manager at ForFriends Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
While we always make a sincere attempt to accomodate everyone, we realize that this goal is not always realized, as it appears so in this review. The Inn has a nice ADA room on the first floor with a private entrance and secluded patio. The room is cozy, often requested by returning non-ADA guests, and subsequently not available on most occasions, as was the case when this reviewer called to reserve it.
The reviewer indicated they wanted to book with us as "their friends" had told the reviewer that the Inn was a wonderful place to stay and had a nice ADA room. The reviewer became upset when the requested dates were not available and suggested that we involuntarily move the guest who had booked the room to another room. The reviewer also stated they would "pay" extra to have this done. We advised the reviewer that this request would not adhere to Inn policies to provide prospective guests with requested accomodations. We also advised the reviewer that we felt this request was unethical from a business perspective and politely refused to further deal with the reviewer.
We stand by our decision to refrain from engaging in further conversation with the reviewer, though we had received additional calls demanding accomodation. In reality, we chose to channel our communicative energy toward all the wonderful guests who have stayed with us and those who are planning a future stay.
While the review states the reviewer "stayed here July 2011" they were never a guest at this establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

A truly beautiful place. Larry, the owner and innkeeper is so attentive and kind. I stayed in the Bonanza Bungalow for 3 nights and it was absolutely wonderful. This the perfect wine country getaway. You can walk everywhere, go running, ride your bike or just relax in your own porch at the inn.

I can't wait to go back!

Thank you, Larry!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ForFriends Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ForFriends Inn

Address: 1121 Edison Street, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Santa Ynez, CA, in the heart of Santa Barbara Wine Country: Minutes from Solvang, Los Olivos and all the wonderful wineries. ForFriends Inn is a luxurious seven-room B&B where you arrive as guests and leave as friends. Your stay includes:• Daily three-course breakfast• Daily Happy Hour with wine, hors d'oeurves and weekend live music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your ForFriends Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ForFriends Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.