We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD. POLISHED WAIT STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willows (Chumash Casino)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Willows (Chumash Casino)
3400 E. Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
800-728-9997
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willows (Chumash Casino) is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 17 restaurants in Santa Ynez
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD. POLISHED WAIT STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had dinner at the Willows during the Santa Ynez Valley Restaurant Week event. We were impressed. The food was great, the wine list impressive and the wait staff was top notch...... VERY well trained and very polished. If you can hold your breath long enough to get thru the smoke filled casino to get the restaurant I highly recommend trying it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumash Casino C, Marketing Manager at Willows (Chumash Casino), responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Willows Restaurant. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and genuinely appreciate your willingness to share your experience.
Our priority is to always give excellent guest service every visit.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a memorable meal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    16
    9
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ynez, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good service but probably won't return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service here was very good with attentive wait staff. The ambiance in the dining room was good, including nice music. Our food was pretty good except for the parmesan toast on the salad, which was clearly STALE bread before being toasted. The best part of the meal was the creme brulee which was superb. The reason that I won't return is that the dinner wasn't worth what seemed like a mile long hike through a horribly smokey casino. I don't know if their ventilation system was not working or what. They really should have a separate entrance for the restaurant and non smoking part of the casino. It makes no sense at all to have to go through the smoking area to get to some decent air and have a good meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Small Portions, Big Prices, Food not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had not been to The Willows for some time due to a previous bad experience. The last time we were there, we were going to a concert and waited an hour and a half for our food. It never came and we had to leave for the show without anything but bread and drinks. Each couple was given a card for 2 free dinners, but there hadn't been any shows we wanted to see and the other couple was from out of town and wouldn't come up just for dinner. We finally found a show we wanted to see and arrived at the restaurant with our cards, only to be told that because that person didn't work there anymore they would not be honored. After checking with the supervisor, they still would not honor it. We decided to stay and have dinner anyway. The service at the table was excellent, I must say... however the food was so-so. My french onion soup had NO broth in it, it was just massive amounts of onions. The small bit of broth at the bottom of the bowl was so salty, I was glad that was all there was. There were no croutons/bread (my favorite part) and the cheese was so thick, I had to cut it with a knife! My husbands surf and turf was so small, it looked like a prawn instead of a lobster tail and the the steak was tiny, although cooked properly. Over all, it was OK, but not worth the outrageous prices and we were not at all happy that our free dinners were not honored.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
“overpriced and flavorless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

although the service and decor was nice my steak was tasteless with a sauce that added nothing to the flavor. my wifes fish was dry and her soup was watery and really eleven dollars for a salad that consist of 3 leaves of romain lettuce. thirtyone dlrs for a bottle of wine that filled 3 glasses with one third of wine. will not recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional food, atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have enjoyed a half dozen dinners here throughout the years, and I always look forward to my next experience.

This is a 5-star atmosphere with exceptional food and terrific service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willows (Chumash Casino) also viewed

 

Been to Willows (Chumash Casino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willows (Chumash Casino), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.