We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chumash Casino Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
simi valley
1 review
“great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

We just got back from the casino stay we were going to stay one night but ended up staying two . It was great and even came home with some winning. we will be back an soon.

  • Liked — room were clean and staff was great
  • Disliked — nonething
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    29
    21
    8
    26
See reviews for
17
45
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

First off, I have never written a review of a hotel. I feel compelled to in this case in order to warn anyone from making the mistake of staying at this liar-infested dump. Prior to leaving for this place, I called in advance to confirm availability and to confirm my reservation to eat at the Willows Restaurant which is on the property. Because I had been there before and had comp points, I was PROMISED that the room and dinner would be comp'ed (free). This was the incentive to go there in the first place. So when we arrived, we went to the Host's Office just to confirm the comps and were PROMISED that indeed the room and dinner would be com'ped. So off we went to dinner at the Willows which was mediocre at best (very slow service and very salty food). When I received the bill, I advised the waiter that the meal was to be comp'ed. So he checked with the Host to confirm and promptly told me that the meal would not be comp'ed. So at that point I asked the Hostess, Monica, why not. She LIED and stated that at no time was the meal to be comp'ed. She said that no staff member had ever promised anything! She LIED through her teeth. I then asked the main supervisor, Charity, why I would not get the comps that were promised to me and all she did was shove a complaint form in my face and very sarcastically told me to fill it out - which I did. So, I was LIED to by the staff even though I was PROMISED that the meal would be comp'ed- not once but twice! In addition the room which I had reserved was somehow unavailable and I was offered a substitute room at an offsite property in Solvang! I have never been lied to in this way by any hotel and I urge anyone reading this review to avoid this den of liars at all costs! I was also told by Charity that I never had a host assigned to me even though I was previously assigned a host, Nansy, who had previously arranged DOZENS of prior comps! In short, if you want to be lied to and cheated, go ahead and go to this first class, second-rate, dump but know that you have been strongly cautioned not to!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The rooms are DIRTY.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Ynez hotels

ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

we had a lot of fun there the food was supurb service perfect--just a great place

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

Beautiful, luxurious, excellent stay all around.

  • Liked — The spa is excellent!
  • Disliked — The pool could be bigger
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I am a frequent guest of the hotel, spa and casino. The staff is exceptional, caring for each guest as if they were the only one in the hotel. The hotel rooms are very clean; I utilize the spa facilities at each visit and could not ask for a more competent massage therapist. As a casino guest I am always impressed with the staff.

Customer service is alive and well and delivered by the staff of Chumash Hotel and Casino Thank you to Chumash and their staff for providing a great hotel and casino experience.

Patricia W

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2007

Aug. 12 & 13 07,

We have stayed at Chumash about 10 times, we have always had a good time. The people are very friendly, the hotel is new and very clean and the room decor is awsome and comfy. Pool area is always clean with fresh towels and free bottle water. This is a peaceful kind of place. Continal. breakfast in the morning gotta love that. The Casino however is busy. In a seperate building steps from hotel. The buffet is just ok, the cafe food is good, but the Willows is a yummy rest. with very good food. $$$ No drinking alchol in casino just in Willows. Casino have plenty of free coffee. water. soft drinks. get yourself for free. That worked for me just fine. Lots of slots and tables, but it does get busy. Solvang is just down the road about 5 mins. One of my favorite places to visit. Lots of knick knacks from denmark. Plenty of rest. to eat at there so you don't have to eat at casino. However that is pretty much it, you are kind of in the middle of nowhere. One small grocery store well stocked . We love it and will return. We take our 12 year old son sometimes, and we always feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

We just stayed a night at this hotel. The staff was very courteous and friendly. We found the room to be fine. We got a AAA discount and then joined the casino club and got an extra discount off the room so the rate was quite good. The bed was comfortable, sheets and pillows were soft. So were the robes. Nice deep bathtub too. The layout of the place was a bit weird. Why would you have balcony rooms overlook the parking valet service/main entrance? Probably because they want you in the casino, which was PACKED. We couldnt believe a Sunday night would be so crowded. Honestly, it was a boring casino. And no drinks on the floor. No bar in the whole place which was weird. The cocktail reception from 6-8 was pretty good though with lots of appetizers. We hardly had to eat dinner.

Overall, we might stay here again if we could get the same good discounts. If not, I'd go for somewhere with a little more charm.

  • Liked — Comfotable bed. Nice deep bathtub.
  • Disliked — No bar/drinks in casino.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumash Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our luxurious rooms is distinctively designed to provide you with the best in comfort and convenience. Guest rooms range from our Premium Guest Room to the ultimate Master Suite, each with the amenities and features you would expect from a AAA Four Diamond hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chumash Casino Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumash Hotel Santa Ynez
Chumash Casino
Chumash Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumash Casino Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.