We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would NOT recommend this place.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chumash Casino Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would NOT recommend this place.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stay away from this place. Too many people, not enough machines. They also need to train their staff (especially security personnel & beverage servers) on proper way to treat customers - they're very RUDE (special mention to TAYLOR from security, who seems to know NOTHING about handling customers). They'll make you feel as if you're doing them a favor by patronizing their casino. Just spend your money for a trip to Vegas!
I used to like this casino but quality of service has gone down the drain.. these people don't deserve your money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    19
    6
    24
See reviews for
15
40
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We drove towards Chumash Casino from a quick side trip to Solvang and got there at around 5:30 PM all the way from Los Angeles area today. We arrived at the casino front lobby after such a bad weather experience of hail and rain on the road approximately 10 miles away from Solvang. After parking our vehicles and arriving at the casino front lobby, a lady employee by the last name of Tayloy, standing by the stairway area lobby of the casino, stopped us immediately and without saying some greetings at all of anything simply and spoke out loud and said in such a very commanding and very rude manner that went like this " Kids are not allowed beyond this point". We happened to be travelling in two vehicles with our 1 year old grandson, a 7 year old grand daughter and 9 adults all exited to have some good fun but with the plan of taking the kids somewhere perhaps by a play area or by the hotel lobby or get a hotel room. To our dismay this very rude employee simply said out loud that you can't take the kids anywhere as there is no place in the hotel and no place anywhere to hang out for them period. Isn't there a better way of saying to your customers that were sorry, our hotel is undergoing renovation and it's close and unfortunately we don't have any facilities to accomodate the kids for the time being. She simply did not give any suggestions or whatsoever except to say that you can't pass beyond this point with your kids. That's why I lashed back to her saying that the way she talked is simply very rude and see just doesn't care at all. She even made gestures with her hands of blah blah and I simply can't believe why they put someone in the front with that kind of personality. Calling on the management of this casino! Your customers should be treated with some respect, courtesy and kindness as we are the reason why you are in the business. Calling on your Managers as far as training your people on how to talk nicely to customers! The said employee even called up another guy to show her enormous power over anyone who might cross the line. Stupid act by an arrogant employee who should be working not on the front lobby but in a county jail with such a very impolite attitude! Negative 5 rating for this place! So sad!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Ynez hotels

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

This place is a joke... The staff has no idea whats going on.... When asked a question about the casino they have to go ask their "managers" which seem like talking to poorly educated 5 year olds... The food is well below standard but I guess thats what you get when you serve the same thing week after week after week... I actually saw a customer at the buffet go up to get food and she had her little dog with her in her handbag and was letting her dog eat the buffet items... The staff did nothing!!!! Stay far far away from this place... Very poorly run...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When i met my wife, I took her to Chumash for a night out. This was 2006. the Machines were fair and paid out. Since they expanded. We have lost more then we won. If you spend $2000, the host will tell you that your play is to low for a $25.00 Buffet.they don't give anything away any more. they also do not have to report what percent the slot machines are set up as well. Vegas has to report all of this and is around 85-92%. I would guess that Chumash is around 65%. no air quality, after 1 hour, you choke on 2nd hand smoke and cant breathe. absolutely horrible. Go to Vegas

Room Tip: Don't stay here , stay in San Ynez, The Viking is $90 a night, 5 minutes away. free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is good for an occasional concert. It is a small venue and they get some decent performers. As far as gambling, I would NOT recommend this place. In the early days you could expect to win something here and there. But noticably not so much anymore. I do live in the area and a lot of people I know share the same feeling. Also, during a game of blackjack the dealer got EXACTLY 21 almost everytime! Sketchy!!! Beware! Well, the 40+K per month payments to tribal members has to come from somewhere! Stick to Vegas for gambling.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

NOTE: This review is for the hotel only, not the casino.

I have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times during the past 5 years, and I always enjoy my stays!

This is a beautifully designed, classy and clean hotel with an exceptionally trained staff. The rooms are comfortable, beautiful and the beds have always been super-comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you don't drink then this place will be just fine. If you do, sorry. No alcohol here. Place is PACKED on weekends and you have to wait to get a seat at several slots. High roller room not so bad. Tables were better. Coffee and sodas and water served while you are seated playing. Clean but smokey. I have been to many Indian Casino's this was ok, I could not win even after putting $20-$40 in 15 different machines!!

Room Tip: Never stay over night, just gambled for a few hours here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chumash Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our luxurious rooms is distinctively designed to provide you with the best in comfort and convenience. Guest rooms range from our Premium Guest Room to the ultimate Master Suite, each with the amenities and features you would expect from a AAA Four Diamond hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Chumash Casino Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumash Hotel Santa Ynez
Chumash Casino
Chumash Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumash Casino Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.