We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chumash is a big waiste of your time. The Host is a joke.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chumash Casino Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chumash is a big waiste of your time. The Host is a joke.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

When i met my wife, I took her to Chumash for a night out. This was 2006. the Machines were fair and paid out. Since they expanded. We have lost more then we won. If you spend $2000, the host will tell you that your play is to low for a $25.00 Buffet.they don't give anything away any more. they also do not have to report what percent the slot machines are set up as well. Vegas has to report all of this and is around 85-92%. I would guess that Chumash is around 65%. no air quality, after 1 hour, you choke on 2nd hand smoke and cant breathe. absolutely horrible. Go to Vegas

Room Tip: Don't stay here , stay in San Ynez, The Viking is $90 a night, 5 minutes away. free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    28
    20
    7
    25
See reviews for
16
43
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This place is good for an occasional concert. It is a small venue and they get some decent performers. As far as gambling, I would NOT recommend this place. In the early days you could expect to win something here and there. But noticably not so much anymore. I do live in the area and a lot of people I know share the same feeling. Also, during a game of blackjack the dealer got EXACTLY 21 almost everytime! Sketchy!!! Beware! Well, the 40+K per month payments to tribal members has to come from somewhere! Stick to Vegas for gambling.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

NOTE: This review is for the hotel only, not the casino.

I have stayed at this hotel at least a dozen times during the past 5 years, and I always enjoy my stays!

This is a beautifully designed, classy and clean hotel with an exceptionally trained staff. The rooms are comfortable, beautiful and the beds have always been super-comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you don't drink then this place will be just fine. If you do, sorry. No alcohol here. Place is PACKED on weekends and you have to wait to get a seat at several slots. High roller room not so bad. Tables were better. Coffee and sodas and water served while you are seated playing. Clean but smokey. I have been to many Indian Casino's this was ok, I could not win even after putting $20-$40 in 15 different machines!!

Room Tip: Never stay over night, just gambled for a few hours here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Plus If You Are Young Don't Get There Too Many Old People I Looked Young and They Will Asked Me Lwt Me See Ur ID And I Will Be Like Okay Here It Is And They Will Say Its Expired jaja I Just Dont Recommend This Casino Just Go To MGM Grand In Las Vegas If You Want To Have Fun Chumash Casino Is Just A Waste Of Time And You Will Be Sad when you leave with $0.00 dollars I Recommend going to Vegas And Have Some Fun And See Girls and Better Service

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Ynez hotels

Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice and clean casino but a lil hard to get there but very cute and well mantained i will go m ore often if it wasnt to hiden

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

People sleeping and loitring in Hotel, Clerk named Alex very rude and very condescending, with bad attitude.

Room Tip: Make sure you have reserved a room, if you have comped room make double sure you have it comped, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chumash Casino Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumash Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 3400 East Highway 246, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our luxurious rooms is distinctively designed to provide you with the best in comfort and convenience. Guest rooms range from our Premium Guest Room to the ultimate Master Suite, each with the amenities and features you would expect from a AAA Four Diamond hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chumash Casino Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumash Hotel Santa Ynez
Chumash Casino
Chumash Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chumash Casino Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.