We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cucina Italiana piacevola” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Grappolo

Trattoria Grappolo
3687 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460-9577
805-688-6899
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria Grappolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Meadowale
Transit: Santa Ynez valley shuttle stops in front of the restaurant.
California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cucina Italiana piacevola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Pleasant and authentic ambience, delicious, well prepared pasta; charmig host, reasonable wine list (try the "house" label sangiovese cab - a steal for 30 bucks. And the pasta is to die for.An altogether delightful evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bedford
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Bit of Tuscany in the Santa Ynez Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a charming property. We ate dinner on the porch and had a nice gentle breeze on a warm evening. With an extensive wine list and an outstanding menu, we had no trouble finding a perfect meal. The cioppino and fettuccine bolognese were superb. Salads are large and full of interesting ingredients. Bread served at the table is crusty and perfect for dipping. Service is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborahc620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food service with a couple adjustments.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great food tho we had difficulty understanding the specials. Not sure if it was servers accent or boisterous restaurant. Beet salad was amazing and stuffed calamari was great as we're our fish and pasta dishes. Disappointed with burnt creme as it was runny and less custard. Overall, great value for our $$. Most Entrees in the $20 range. I'd go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gear G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a wonderful meal here-we could tell it was a local favorite as it was packed when we arrived. The food was outstanding, and the busboys are anything but! They were so pleasant, at-the-ready for anything my husband and I needed. They were wonderful. I have to say that our particular waiter was not friendly, and seemed annoyed and ornery. I would still re-visit this place to give it another shot because despite the waiter's attitude, we had a great meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank gr8fulgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley on Thames
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Despite having a reservation, our table wasn't ready. There was no where to sit and have a drink so we had to go to the deserted bar next door. Service was friendly but the food was pretty dire. My salad starter was ok but the chicken gnocci was not. The meat smelled as it was off and the gnocci looked as if it was out of a packet. My husband left his dessert which is really unusual, as he said it was sickly sweet.

Wouldn't go back. I strongly recommend that you go to SY kitchen instead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank honeyHenleyonThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Grappolo also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Grappolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing