We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best PattyMelts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burger Barn

The Burger Barn
3621 Sagunto Street, Santa Ynez, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 restaurants in Santa Ynez
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best PattyMelts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If it is a beautiful day in SYV, this little restaurant is a good alternative if you are looking for a casual meal. I have found the burgers, of any kind, to be very good. Well seasoned and cooked just right. However, I think the Patty Melts are exceptional. The Rye bread, taste like Rye, is perfectly grilled as are the onions. The cheese is simple but adds something positive to the combination. YUM! French fries are a side order but a half order is probably enough for 3 people and at $2.50, reasonable. The salads look good but I never get past the burgers. The wine list is again simple, but of a good quality and very well priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    7
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great Salads and Sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice for lunch. Indoor and outdoor sitting. Especially recommend the Cobb salad - large and tasty - along with the sweet potato fries.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My parents had been here before and really enjoyed it. Its just an average place. Nothing too special. I had the steak sandwich which had a lot of fat. My husband had a burger that was tiny. My daughter had a blt that was expensive for what it was. Nothing was bad but it just was an average meal.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great little place tucked away in Santa Ynez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We go here often, which for us is once or twice a month. Since we live a couple of blocks away it is extremely convenient.

Breakfast is great. Traditional breakfast fare (omelets, pancakes and the like).

Lunch is burgers and sandwiches that have always been worth the trip.

The sign is on the side of the building,which makes it easy to miss. There is a nice outdoor area with umbrellas which suit the weather here perfectly (there is indoor seating but we always go outside).

Service has always been excellent even when the get busy (it is a small place but the staff always seems to have everything running smoothly).

If you are in the area it is definitely worth the stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You will hear about other places...go here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We took a group that ranged from 2-58 years old. Everyone was happier than could be imagined. Our waitress has worked there for a long time, but you would think we were her favorite table ever.

The Cobb Salad was terrific and huge. The burgers and what they are known for, but the onion rings cannot be surpassed for at least a 60-mile radius. Fabulous! The little ones split a quesadilla, and the waitress made our work very easy by bringing extra plates, extra napkins, extra everything. You will pay less money and get more service with a great local atmosphere at Burger Barn.

If at all possible, eat outside. It doesn't look glamorous, but it is wonderful if the weather isn't too hot or too cold.

We are locals, and we love Burger Barn. Our friends travel from areas with far more options, and they think Burger Barn is a keeper. We agree! You should visit soon!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burger Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.