We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ultimate Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Pacific Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An Ultimate Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My stay for both business and leisure exceeded all expectations at this jewel of an Inn. From the moment I arrived I felt so pampered. My room was an oasis filled with wonderful amenities, even a morning paper arrives. I was able to have a very enjoyable breakfast meeting that featured Italian-style Eggs Benedict one morning and the best huevos rancheros the next all complimented by amazing pastries and my favorite a big bowl of fruit, a variety of juices and delicious coffee. In the evening there is wine and hors d'oevres followed by a surprise dessert and coffee. I really enjoyed my in room coffee service while preparing for my day and taking along one of the bottled waters offered was really helpful. Easy parking and walking to some of the valley's finest restaurants and local shopping are an added plus. But making this stay so enjoyable is the remarkable staff. They are so friendly and helpful. I truly did not want for a thing. But had I, I know this super staff would have been right on top it. I did not want to leave but I am already looking forward to my next stay to include some jacuzzi time and a massage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    21
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
202
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I couldn't find a reasonably priced hotel in S. Barbara that didn't have a lot of negative reviews (there are several former motels which "hooked up" and now advertise themselves as hotels, along with lots of B&Bs, which means noisy/no sleep), and I had no interest in fancy chain hotels, so I expanded my search and id'd this promising gem. It cost more than the ones I'd looked at, and wasn't nearly as close to my business appt., but it looked like an oasis in the desert.

My positive first impression, with the young lady who handled my phone reservation, was reinforced when I arrived, having driven from S. Francisco. My room was spacious and lovely. The fireplace was inviting, although the weather was hot while I was there, and the bathroom was equivalent to any I've encountered; and I've stayed at luxe hotels here and abroad. I immediately went down to the wine and hors d'ouvres. High quality, and the manager, Rick, poured the wine and made a point of greeting every guest. I didn't pass up the later to-die-for dessert (coconut cake) and coffee.

The made to order breakfast, served in the elegant dining room, was delicious. I longed to enjoy the leisurely pace, but I had to be at a meeting, so the host had my order served asap. I had trouble printing materials for my biz presentation via the Inn's wireless connection, and Rick went out of his way to spend a lot of time helping me out.

I'd planned to stay only 1 night, but after a long day, driving back north, I headed back to the Inn for a 2d night. The steam shower was amazing. The staff had saved a plate for a guest who was late for the wine/snack service! The service is 5 star, and at least during my visit, most of the guests were chatty and interesting and gracious. I research hotels almost endlessly these days, because it is so easy to do. My effort was rewarded with this "find." Can't wait to go back! Rick runs a class operation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

The Santa Ynez Inn is a wonderful place to stay while in Santa Barbara wine country. It's location is perfect for hitting Solvang, Los Olivos and area wineries. The Inn is located on a quiet street, so light sleepers have nothing to worry about. The staff (both Jessica and Christina) are professional, pleasant and extremely helpful with any requests. The rooms are clean and well appointed with LCD/Plasma screen TV, DVD players and beautiful bathrooms. There is an extensive list of DVDs that are offered to guests for free to watch during your stay. The pre-dinner wine and cheese hour was delightful and the dessert hour was also excellent. Breakfast was good, however, I have had much better in other B&Bs. If you are expecting a small and intimate B&B, this probably isn't the place for you since there are about 20 rooms here. However, if you want a more personal feeling hotel, this place offers the perfect balance between a hotel and B&B.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

One word... Wow.

Awesome area, great spacious rooms and fantastic breakfasts. One of the few hotels that provided the luxury of home while being on the road. They provide wine and appetizers in the evening. If you go, make sure to check out the Italian restaurant next door -- the chef is truly Italian and very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The Santa Ynez Inn is new Inn with all the amenities you could wish for but with Victorian charm. The service was top notch. Included hors d'oevres with wine tasting at 5 pm and desserts at 8:30 pm were wonderful. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful as well. All this is served in a beautifully decorated dining room. Every detail of this hotel was addressed and attended to. Our room was beautiful and romantic and inclued fireplace, balcony and had a large whirlpool tub and steam shower. All in all, it was a fantastic experience. We will certainly revisit the Inn whenever we are able. A real treasure and pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

beautiful place for a romantic getaway or wedding. In the middle of wine country and within 15 minutes of all nearby wineries. I would listen to their recommendations for local restaurants and wineries. They could make reservations for you and get appointment to private wineries. Demetria Winery a 100% must see. Breakfast included and very good. Wine and cheese before dinner hour before dinner very good. Dessert hour after dinner acceptable although no chocolate and only one choice. Overall relaxing and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

It's not often that I rave about a hotel but this place is special. Santa Ynes a great base for exploring the wine country and I can't imagine a more elegant place to stay. The staff are professional, courteous and very helpful. We booked though Travel Zoo and my wife and I were amazed at the value for money. I could go on to describe more but one thing is certain, you can believe everything that you read on the website and not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.