We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THEATER PACKAGE!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Charming B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last month I rented 3 rooms for a couple of days for a family get-together.
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the inn.
It looks "old" from outside. But inside the inn, everything is new and modern.(I understand it was built a little over 10 years ago). Bathroom has a steam room and Jacuzzi. Granite counter which is about 8' wide has two sinks. Sound proof is excellent even between bedroom and bathroom. Second floor room has a high ceiling, perhaps 10'.
It does not serve dinner.But it offers wines from local producers in the afternoon. And It is complimentary. In addition to continental breakfast, special breakfast is prepared. I suppose one can call it gourmet breakfast, delicious.
This is a splendid base from which to explore various wineries in Santa Ynez Valley.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
166
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

From all that I had read, I had high expectations for our stay at this property. Little did I know that all would be met and exceeded! The staff gives thoughtful detail and attention to each guest. The property is amazing and looks like a step back to another time period. Beautifully furnished with antiques throughout, the attention continues to the landscaped grounds with flowers and a fountain and a wonderful shaded green area to sit and relax. Each morning a menu with two different entrees is offered along with juices and coffee. But there is also a buffet with fruits and muffins and breads and granola and yogurt. VERY large breakfast served in a stunning dining room with china and silver and cloth napkins. No detail left to chance. At 5pm each evening in the same area one can relax with wine selections and an array of hors d'oeuvres (different each evening) and all complimentary. And at 8:30pm each evening one can again visit the area for desserts and coffee. Our deluxe king suite had music piped into the room (you can control the sound level) plus a working gas fireplace. A serene and nicely appointed room with a bath area that was large and tastefully done. As the town is small there are two excellent restaurants to walk to-The Vineyard House next door and Trattoria Grappolo a bit further down the street. We loved our experience at this property.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 204 and had a balcony overlooking the gardens. Very quiet at night as the town is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Again, another great visit. Friendly staff, great food and wine and a chance to relax. Room was on the street side but hardly noticed any noise. Had dinner down the street at Dos Carlito's and took a look in the local museum. I'm looking at coming back again in a month.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Santa Ynez in was a last minute reservation on a major holiday weekend. We didn't know what we were getting into. Turned out to be a very amazing stay and wonderful experience. Service is outstanding! The rooms, while not my personal choice of favored decor, are beautifully appointed with marble steam showers and separate marble jacuzzi tubs for two, fireplaces, very luxurious beds and linens and sizable balconies. Delicious made to order breakfast was included in the beautiful parlor. Nice surprises were wine tasting hour AND dessert hours also included. We are already planning our next trip which will definitely include staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the SYI during our cycling vacation in August.The Inn is beautiful, and our room was so elegant. Music playing as we entered,and was controllable within the room. Our room also had a fireplace and huge flat-screen tv aptly mounted above it. Beautiful window treatments, furniture, lighting. Gorgeous. The bathroom was spacious-perfect for a couple. We so enjoyed the outdoor hot-tub on the terrace, and the wine tasting every afternoon. We experienced some wines from local winemakers whose tasting rooms we had not had the opportunity to visit. The staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this Inn when staying in the area-you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

. We loved this place! It has everything you want from gorgeous big modern rooms, beautiful robes, fireplace and an amazing bathroom with jetted tub. In the evening there is complimentary wine with hot hors devours and later, deserts, coffee and tea. The fabulous breakfast in the morning was much more than I could eat. I thought it was just the sideboard covered in fresh fruits, juices, coffee, breads, muffins, and homemade granola (which you can purchase to take home with you). After finishing this, comes the “cooked to order” breakfast, which is really great!

The first night, we decided to watch the movie “Sideways” which was filmed in this area. The Inn keeps several copies along with lots of other movies for you to watch in your room. We both love this movie and it made the next day touring all the wineries in the movie even more fun. The countryside is amazingly beautiful and the people at the wineries were very nice.

On the drive to Santa Ynez from San Diego, we stopped at Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park. It is a short drive off the main road between Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez. We also went to the Farmer’s Market in Solvang and had lunch at a lovely little sandwich shop, the Succulent Café. The sandwiches were great but one would have been enough for the two of us.

I would love to go back to this beautiful place soon. What a great getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connroe, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful experience! The SY Inn has it all. Free gourmet breakfast, wine tasting and appetizers, dessert, and turn down service. The inn has the look of an old Victorian house, but it is as modern as can be. The bath has a whirlpool tub and the shower is large and has frameless glass. The room had a very comfortable bed, flat screen tv, and remote control fireplace. Add in ample free parking and you have it all. You're ready to explore the area wine country, Solvang, and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.