We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIDEWAYS!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Santa Ynez in was a last minute reservation on a major holiday weekend. We didn't know what we were getting into. Turned out to be a very amazing stay and wonderful experience. Service is outstanding! The rooms, while not my personal choice of favored decor, are beautifully appointed with marble steam showers and separate marble jacuzzi tubs for two, fireplaces, very luxurious beds and linens and sizable balconies. Delicious made to order breakfast was included in the beautiful parlor. Nice surprises were wine tasting hour AND dessert hours also included. We are already planning our next trip which will definitely include staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
174
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the SYI during our cycling vacation in August.The Inn is beautiful, and our room was so elegant. Music playing as we entered,and was controllable within the room. Our room also had a fireplace and huge flat-screen tv aptly mounted above it. Beautiful window treatments, furniture, lighting. Gorgeous. The bathroom was spacious-perfect for a couple. We so enjoyed the outdoor hot-tub on the terrace, and the wine tasting every afternoon. We experienced some wines from local winemakers whose tasting rooms we had not had the opportunity to visit. The staff was very accommodating. I would highly recommend this Inn when staying in the area-you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

. We loved this place! It has everything you want from gorgeous big modern rooms, beautiful robes, fireplace and an amazing bathroom with jetted tub. In the evening there is complimentary wine with hot hors devours and later, deserts, coffee and tea. The fabulous breakfast in the morning was much more than I could eat. I thought it was just the sideboard covered in fresh fruits, juices, coffee, breads, muffins, and homemade granola (which you can purchase to take home with you). After finishing this, comes the “cooked to order” breakfast, which is really great!

The first night, we decided to watch the movie “Sideways” which was filmed in this area. The Inn keeps several copies along with lots of other movies for you to watch in your room. We both love this movie and it made the next day touring all the wineries in the movie even more fun. The countryside is amazingly beautiful and the people at the wineries were very nice.

On the drive to Santa Ynez from San Diego, we stopped at Chumash Painted Cave State Historic Park. It is a short drive off the main road between Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez. We also went to the Farmer’s Market in Solvang and had lunch at a lovely little sandwich shop, the Succulent Café. The sandwiches were great but one would have been enough for the two of us.

I would love to go back to this beautiful place soon. What a great getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connroe, TX
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful experience! The SY Inn has it all. Free gourmet breakfast, wine tasting and appetizers, dessert, and turn down service. The inn has the look of an old Victorian house, but it is as modern as can be. The bath has a whirlpool tub and the shower is large and has frameless glass. The room had a very comfortable bed, flat screen tv, and remote control fireplace. Add in ample free parking and you have it all. You're ready to explore the area wine country, Solvang, and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wiife and I stayed here for 3 nights during the week. I found this place on a "deals" site and decided to give it a try. Despite being a bit skeptical about deal sites, I'm happy to say that this one was a great find. The rooms are large, unique, and very fancy. The staff did an excellent job of accommodating anything we needed. The included "extras" are also welcome, such as breakfast, wine tasting, and dessert.

Pros:
+Excellent rooms, well maintained, very large, attention to details
+Service was outstanding
+Food/Wine is very good

Cons:
-Rather expensive, and we went on a weekday AND got a discount from a deals site. I do think we got our money's worth, but it's still a lot of money to shell out.
-It would be nice to have a pool in such a hot climate, but not a killer
-Not a whole lot around the area other than wine tasting

Overall a very nice place to stay and we hope to go back soon. Expensive, but you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Just get the standard room. The deluxe did not seem much larger or nicer and you can save a few buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a wonderful 3 night get-away here. The staff were all very nice and helpful. The rooms are very spacious, the beds super comfortable. We had room 104 which had 2 queen beds and a bathroom that rivalled the size of most hotel rooms in NYC in total. The steam shower and jacuzzi tub was great after a long day cycling the area. It also had a lovely patio in which to enjoy a glass a wine.

The included breakfasts were good. My only recommendation would be that they could improve upon their coffee. It was very weak and tasteless.

There are quite a few nice restaurants all within walking distance too.

Room Tip: Room 104 is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a great little hotel and very quiet. It has to be the most quiet hotel we have ever stayed at. The breakfast was just right and the wine tasting and deserts in the evening is a nice touch. There are plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. The location makes you feel like you went back in time to a small town. We highly recommend this place and if you can afford it go for the premier room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.