We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Town, 5 Star Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
TESLA CHARGING STATION
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Little Town, 5 Star Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pull off the highway, and you are taken back to the Old West. I think the Town was created for the Inn. There are 3 restaurants in this 2 block town, a Saloon & Coffee Shop.The Inn itself is a 5 Star Hotel. Beautiful Rooms, with balconies, and a view of the gardens.
They have a wine and cheese hour, and serve a wonderful breakfast in a beautiful dining room. The staff is great, and Chris could not be sweeter.
Very Memorable

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
186
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We checked in to the Tower Suite at Santa Ynez Inn and while I will describe the room in a moment, I wanted to take time to mention up front what sets this inn apart from many in Santa Barbara's Wine Country, The Santa Ynez Valley: its people and the service. Its luxury is unpretentious and the staff was warm and welcoming. We were greeted promptly and the gentleman who checked us in also loaded up our items on a bellcart and escorted us to our room where he oriented us with every aspect of that suite. From the fridge, safe, how to use the TV, turn on the fireplace to a detailed review of how to work the steam shower and turn on the bathroom tiles to get them warm and so much more. He truly loved his job and was excited to point out different features of the inn as he walked us to our room. He let us know when hors d'oeuvres and wine would be that evening, as well as dessert, turn-down service and reminded us of breakfast in the morning- which , if we didn't want to come down for, he would have delivered to us to enjoy on the privacy of our balcony. The room had lovely views and the jacuzzi tub in the bay window was later filled with bubblebath under a full moon. The food was delicious and what I loved the most was the upscale luxury without pretense. The Santa Ynez Inn is conveniently located near almost all the wineries. If you don't feel like driving, you can walk everywhere downtown Santa Ynez and enjoy dinner or lunch as well. Finally, I had a massage with Tina. It was unbelievable. Her background in the medical field and almost 20 + years experience of massage therapy are evident in her work. She was incredible. She has also been with the inn since it was first built and opened. How many places can boast about the longevity of their staff? At the Santa Ynez Inn the attention to detail in the amenities and service team really show. Much of the Santa Ynez Valley is constantly undergoing ownership and management changes and it is often hard to find consistency. But the Santa Ynez Inn stays constant.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi is lovely - especially in the evening under the stars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

5 star has valet and bell boys this has neither. The rooms are big but last decor update I'd guess in the 90s. Having just spent the weeken at the bel aire hotel 2 days later I was expecting semilar. No where near. This is a great 3 star but not a 5. The past reviews made me think it would be. Go there expecting a good 3 star you'll be happy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The stand outs for me here were the lovely, helpful staff who made all our arrangements for dinners and the bicycles we rented for a great ride to Los Olivos, the very comfortable room, and the delicious breakfast. I would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Santa Ynez Inn was a fun, romantic, over-the-top décor wise experience. It was comfortable, quiet and clean. The staff are attentive and helpful. The town is fun for browsing and the locals are incredibly friendly. They serve complimentary hor dourves, desert and breakfast. These were not particularly memorable though.
Our second floor, corner suite room had an ensuite jacuzzi and a view to the front of the hotel which was nice and another view over the neighboring houses which was not so great.
Tip: The Inn's online booking website gave us AARP rates for the most deluxe room at a rate less then they charged for a second tier room.
Recommend for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: Book online at the Inn website with AARP and you can get the most deluxe suite for less than a secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything was perfect! The beautiful room, the lovely gounds and public areas, the excellent food and THE MOST courteous staff. Would highly recommend to anyone considering a stay in the Santa Ynez Valley!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but there is a "newer" wing if your prefer a near-new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Paid for an upgraded room and while the room was large, had a fireplace, and a spacious bathroom I was put off by the fact that the "mountain view" room also overlooked the parking lot. I was told that this was the premier view as the other rooms overlooked neighboring houses.
Was very high on the place after the first night as the evening canapes were delicious (shrimp wrapped in bacon), the local wine outstanding, and breakfast innovative and hearty. HOWEVER, everything collapsed on the following night as the canapes consisted of COLD SOGGY empanadas and very (too) rich stuffed mushrooms. Really, I used to serve this junk when I was in college! To top it off there was no red wine. Seems that someone had gone home with the key to the wine locker, and the restaurant next door was closed so that red wine could not be furnished for the guests that night. Here we are in the middle of wine country and the place has no red wine to serve.
Personally, I was insulted by the indifference that was displayed that evening. The screw-up was on the part of the staff and since they were not willing to make it right, so beware.
The place is OK but you are paying for it. One you leave Santa Barbara there are few decent places south of Carmel so the Inn probably gets more credit than it deserves, but I would not give it raves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.