We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, wine, appetizers, and desserts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIDEWAYS!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Auburn, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great room, wine, appetizers, and desserts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at theSanta Ynez Inn for two nights and I wish we couldhavestayed longer! The wine, appetizers and cheese in the afternoon was great. Then we went to dinner at Grappolo and had a great pizza..... Then we had dessert before retiring for the evening by our fireplace in our beautiful room. What a great experience. Oh! And did I mention breakfast? HuevosRancheros, Franch Toast, fresh fruit, pastries ....need I say more? We will return hopefully next year....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    19
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
180
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucks County, PA
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Santa Ynez Inn for two nights. We had a premier room and it was absolutely gorgeous. The bathroom was immense, with a whirpool tub, a double sink, a steam room in the shower area, and a rainfall shower. The bedroom area was equally large. There was a king bed, two comfortable chairs, a desk and chair, a full size sofa and coffee table, a large screen television, and a fireplace - and there was still a lot of room to walk around! We also had an outdoor patio with a table and two chairs and a fountain. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning was central so there was no noise with it. The complimentary beakfast that is served is excellent, with a full assortment of pastries, yogurt, breads, cheese and fruit. In addition, a choice of two hot dishes are also offered. In the afternoon, wine and cheese is provided, and in the evening, dessert is available, all at no charge. This is one of the nicest lodgings we have ever stayed in, and the service is exceptional. We also found the price to be extremely reasonable. We would highly recommend the Santa Ynez Inn if you are planning on visiting the Santa Ynez, Los Olivos, Solvang area and the surrounding wineries (which are numerous). The Inn is centrally located to all of these areas and is an exceptional value for an exceptional place.

Room Tip: The only room we saw was our own (room 102), and it was a premier room. It was located on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Inn June11, 12. We arrived early for our wine tour (10 am). It was really too early to check in and our room was not ready but they changed us to an equally good room, and with a balcony and we were able to put our things in the room. That night the air conditioning was not working but we were later compensated for the night's stay. We took the bike package with the bike store across the street and took a really nice bike tour which included a gourmet lunch at the Briddlewood winery which was excellent and then a tasting at the winery.
the Room was very nice and lots of little amenities.
The evening wine tastings were very nice as well as the breakfast in the morning was excellent. All in all we had a very nice time and would stay again.

Room Tip: the room with the balcony was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

I'm sure this hotel is on anyone's itinerary if they are in the area for a wine tasting tour. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The showers even double as a steam room, at least it did in our room. It's well worth the price if you are looking for something in this area. It's a bit pricey, but that includes a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I planned a long weekend getaway and booked two nights (of our 4) at Santa Ynez Inn. Wish we had stayed all 4. Beautiful, huge room (#210) - you would think you were at the Four Seasons. Incredible breakfast, wine and apps in the afternoon, great, friendly staff. As other reviewers have mentioned, this isn't a typical b&b, which we would have been happy with. This is nicer than most hotels you will ever stay in at any price. Within 30 minutes of dozens of great wineries and restaurants. We just happened to be there during Santa Ynez Day, which was a hoot with parade, food tents, etc. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We only saw room 210, and it is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments. While the Santa Ynez Inn does provide a bed and a breakfast, this is in no way your typical tchotchke filled, Teddy Beared B & B. The inn is a modern building built in the Victorian style and furnished in the same manner. It has twenty rooms and suites located on two floors. There is ample, close parking.
Our room was quite large and supplied with all the amenities one would expect in this price range. Look for a flat screen television, gas fireplace with remote, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, bathrobes, slippers, weight scales (well, who really wants that on vacation?) and you will find them. In addition, the bathroom had two sinks and tissues stationed at both ends, a nice touch as well as two luggage racks. This room had a separate water closet which makes it more functional. The only downside to the room was the lighting. There were three lamps, one on each night table and one floor lamp by the side chair. None of them had other than a low watt bulb, which is fine for ambiance but bad for reading.
Many inns provide a wine service in the late afternoon. The Santa Ynez Inn has a wine service and also serves a variety of delicious, interesting appetizers to go along with the several types of local wines they provide. We sampled wonderful cheeses, filled mushrooms and a smoked salmon appetizer that was a real treat. Later in the evening there is a dessert service that we were unable to attend, however I'm sure it was equally enjoyable. Breakfast the next day started with coffee and tea as well as juices set out and a side board with fruit, pastries, cereal and yogurt. A choice of two cooked entrees was offered.
I am most impressed by the service which is personal and attentive. When we checked in, I asked for ice to be delivered in order to chill wine we had brought. Up came an old fashioned ice bucket wrapped in a white napkin, two wine glasses and all was placed on a towel. No handing a plastic container through the door. Later in the afternoon, a hotel staff member brought around a plastic bag of ice to fill the room ice buckets. The staff members seem to anticipate your needs, everyone is friendly and helpful.
Would I stay at the Santa Ynez Inn again? You betcha!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Last week, we returned to the Santa Ynez Inn for two nights after our first visit seven years ago in 2005 and were not disappointed. Everyone from Rick the manager, to Tyler at the front desk to the rest of staff and housekeeping were focused on making sure we had a great stay and offered to help us make appointments at wineries, offer their suggestions, assist with dinner reservations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely delicious both days - and love the wine hour, dessert hour and other amenities the room provides (patio, jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, safe, mini frig, robes and slippers, upscale toiletries, bottled water). While the town of Santa Ynez is small and quiet, that's part of it's charm. There are a few cute stores and boutiques - and we love Trattoria Grappolo for dinner and Dos Carlitos for afternoon drinks and lunch after shopping at Tumbleweeds. The Inn is centrally located to easily reach other destinations in the Wine Country. You certainly won't be sorry for selecting the Santa Ynez Inn - we cannot wait to return and only hope it won't be seven years until our next visit!

Room Tip: The room was extremely comfortable. While all are well appointed and comfortable, we found it well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.