We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed and Breakfast? Not really” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THEATER PACKAGE!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bed and Breakfast? Not really”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments. While the Santa Ynez Inn does provide a bed and a breakfast, this is in no way your typical tchotchke filled, Teddy Beared B & B. The inn is a modern building built in the Victorian style and furnished in the same manner. It has twenty rooms and suites located on two floors. There is ample, close parking.
Our room was quite large and supplied with all the amenities one would expect in this price range. Look for a flat screen television, gas fireplace with remote, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, bathrobes, slippers, weight scales (well, who really wants that on vacation?) and you will find them. In addition, the bathroom had two sinks and tissues stationed at both ends, a nice touch as well as two luggage racks. This room had a separate water closet which makes it more functional. The only downside to the room was the lighting. There were three lamps, one on each night table and one floor lamp by the side chair. None of them had other than a low watt bulb, which is fine for ambiance but bad for reading.
Many inns provide a wine service in the late afternoon. The Santa Ynez Inn has a wine service and also serves a variety of delicious, interesting appetizers to go along with the several types of local wines they provide. We sampled wonderful cheeses, filled mushrooms and a smoked salmon appetizer that was a real treat. Later in the evening there is a dessert service that we were unable to attend, however I'm sure it was equally enjoyable. Breakfast the next day started with coffee and tea as well as juices set out and a side board with fruit, pastries, cereal and yogurt. A choice of two cooked entrees was offered.
I am most impressed by the service which is personal and attentive. When we checked in, I asked for ice to be delivered in order to chill wine we had brought. Up came an old fashioned ice bucket wrapped in a white napkin, two wine glasses and all was placed on a towel. No handing a plastic container through the door. Later in the afternoon, a hotel staff member brought around a plastic bag of ice to fill the room ice buckets. The staff members seem to anticipate your needs, everyone is friendly and helpful.
Would I stay at the Santa Ynez Inn again? You betcha!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
169
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Last week, we returned to the Santa Ynez Inn for two nights after our first visit seven years ago in 2005 and were not disappointed. Everyone from Rick the manager, to Tyler at the front desk to the rest of staff and housekeeping were focused on making sure we had a great stay and offered to help us make appointments at wineries, offer their suggestions, assist with dinner reservations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely delicious both days - and love the wine hour, dessert hour and other amenities the room provides (patio, jacuzzi tub, flat screen tv, safe, mini frig, robes and slippers, upscale toiletries, bottled water). While the town of Santa Ynez is small and quiet, that's part of it's charm. There are a few cute stores and boutiques - and we love Trattoria Grappolo for dinner and Dos Carlitos for afternoon drinks and lunch after shopping at Tumbleweeds. The Inn is centrally located to easily reach other destinations in the Wine Country. You certainly won't be sorry for selecting the Santa Ynez Inn - we cannot wait to return and only hope it won't be seven years until our next visit!

Room Tip: The room was extremely comfortable. While all are well appointed and comfortable, we found it well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I loved this b&b. Our room was pretty big and included a patio with a little table and two chairs! Right next to the fountain, too, so we could hear the gurgling of water and look out onto trees and flowers. The bath tub was so big, I think I could swim in it. The service was fantastic and the breakfast yummy. It's also walking distance to a bunch of restaurants (and I think even one winery...). What a fantastic experience! We'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Really liked our first floor room that had double doors opening up onto a patio (and a fireplace!!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and stayed here for our anniversary. The room although smaller than appeared in internet pictures, the room was beautiful. Unfortunately it took the jetted tub in the room 30 minutes to fill. We ask the front desk if that was normal and he said no and maintenance would look at it the next day. The next day we were told that the low water pressure was normal for that room. The guy at the front desk did not appear like he was motivated to help. I waited 15minutes for someone to show up for checkout. Earlier he seemed more interested in his phone call than to help another customer at the desk. The breakfast, desserts, afternoon snacks were very good and the lady who ran the breakfast was nice as well. The hotel is centrally located to go to other towns in the area although Santa ynez did not have a lot to offer. The jacuzzi tub outside closed at 9pm, which seemed to be the theme for everything in the town. There was a good happy hour at don carlitos Mexican restaurant. For the price I would stay somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

From the front end staff, food service to housekeeping, this is by far one of the nicest establishments we have stayed at worldwide. Truly a welcoming experience. We will not only repeatedly return, but continue to recommend highly!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, choosing a patio room, and steam shower is extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Clean, very comfortable. Great bathroom. Love the walk in shower (I hate hotel shower curtains). Only stayed one short night, but will be back. Breakfast was wonderful!

Had lunch at Cold Springs Tavern on our way to Santa Ynez Inn from Santa Barbara. Sunday afternoon- great tri-tip sandwiches in an unusual (in a good way) setting! Go there!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel rocks! Beautiful, large rooms, gorgeous HUGE bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and the amenities are amazing. Fabulous breakfasts, lovely wine and scrumptious plentiful appetizers served in the early evening with desserts and coffee/tea later in the night - all included in the price! The staff and service are great- got exact directions to a hike we wanted to do (hike recommended too- Gaviota State Park- just 10-15 minutes away!), ice buckets were replenished every afternoon, and all meals served with a smile. This was truly one of the most lovely hotel experiences I have ever had. We also attended a wedding here and everything was beautiful and the wedding planner told me that HER experiences with the hotel were awesome too. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: We loved Room 101! Close to parking, the lobby, and the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.