We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Ynez Inn-credible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
THEATER PACKAGE!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Santa Ynez Inn-credible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Luck was on our side when we made the call to this cozy and comfortable Inn that is tucked away in the heart of the Santa Ynez Valley. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, we knew luck was only part of the equation as the other parts would be warm hospitality, an excellent location, tasteful amenities, pleasant staff and a lasting memory of our time in wine country.

Due to our late booking, we had to split our two nights in two seperate rooms--but that was totally fine. Both rooms were "roomy" and nicely appointed with gas fireplaces, flat screen tvs, large bathrooms w/jacuzzi tubs (one room actually had a steam shower)--nice touch.

The morning dining and afternoon wine tasting area is far from cramped and offers the chance to dine alone or chat with others who are in the area to taste wine and / or visit S.B. and Solvang. Overall, the area is very quiet and is walking distance to a handful-plus dining options and extra spots like Maverick's Saloon and an espresso coffee shop. All locations are within very short walking distance of the Inn.

The staff did a professional job of taking care of our needs, including offering to book local wine tours and restaurant reservations. The Inn's complimentary breakfast was simple and well done and when asked to make a few "special requests", the waitstaff and kitchen responded without hesitation.

The attention to detail works in all areas of this Inn. From the staff to the decor, it's a well run and operated business, that at the end of our stay--due to the sum of all its parts--we were made to feel at home and didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: The Inn has firm beds, with comfy pillows. The bottom floor double Queen suite (with steam shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
165
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent 2 days in the Santa Ynez valley this past October for our anniversary and stayed at the Santa Ynez Inn. The Inn is perfectly located to hit a majority of the wineries in Santa Ynez and along the Foxen Valley Wine Trail. Our room was very spacious and included a ton of amenities. The fire place was great and the balcony overlooked the beautifully manicured garden. The Inn offers a complimentary happy hour with wine, cheese and some light appetizers. They also offer a complimentary breakfast which was excellent. The Santa Ynez in has some relationships with local wineries and we were able to save on some tasting fees and save 10% on our purchases at some locations.

We had dinner at Trattoria Grappollo which is a very short walk from the hotel. The food was excellent, we had a reservation but did not really need to have it. We ate there mid week which probably led to the light crowd. The following day we grabbed some sandwiches in town and headed out for a day of wine tasting. As I stated in the title, this is a great base for wine tasting tours and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent three nights in early January 2012 here. It was wonderful. The rooms are large - with the biggest bathrooms ever. Loved the heated floor and steam room in the bathroom, as well as the fire place in the room.

The breakfast was delicious, and when we asked for simpler things like scrambled eggs for our 7 year old daughter the request was easily accommodated. Why, though, does everyone assume we eat Mexican breakfasts? I can't eat spicy foods due to a health issue but California in particular seems focused on food south of the border! That said as a general rather than specific comment, the drinks and nibbles every evening are a lovely touch - how about some tasting notes for the wine? Picking up a dessert on the way back from dinner was also special. This is a lovely place to visit, and the staff were helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I were married at the Santa Ynez Inn. We live in Colorado so the logistics of planning was a little tough, however, Bethany and her entire staff at the Inn were so incredibly helpful, accmodating and professional due to the distance between us when it came to planning. The food was amazing and they were receptive to any changes/suggestions that we had with the menu. The Santa Ynez Inn is in perfect location to all the delicious wine you will be able to taste within the valley. It is also walking distance to Trattoria Grappolo one of the best Italian restaurants you will ever eat at! The rooms at the Santa Ynez Inn are enormous and will make you feel like royalty. The Inn is very charming, comfortable and full of class!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed here over the holidays and were pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable and contained amenities that I would expect at a more expensive price (whirlpool tub, steam shower, balcony...). I enjoyed the hot tub and the breakfast was tasty but the best part were the Happy Hour and, later on, complimentary desserts. These brought people together. My husband and I aren't usually very social but really enjoyed the conversations by the fire with a glass of wine, some good cheese and very nice people. The hotel seemed to promote a warm friendly atmosphere. Very nice hotel that exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

love my room..had a fireplace and great jetted tub. The room is freakin' huge! Had a great relaxing massage...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Yes, we had our wedding (60-something people) at the Santa Ynez Inn. It was perfection. Guests who stayed at the Inn were forever spoiled by the beauty of the rooms and graciousness of the staff. Guests who came in for the wedding only were thrilled with the food at our reception and the charm of the grounds. But this isn't a wedding factory! No, the SYI is a charming boutique property built with couples in mind, especially those interested in weekends of wine tasting, touring the Santa Barbara area and mountains, and taking a quick turn at the casino (that's essentially directly across the highway). Some highlights:

Individually decorated rooms, many with jaw-dropping bathrooms and tons of space.

Gourmet breakfast included with the room rate. It's amazing. I still think about those blueberry scones.

Wine and hors d'oeuvres every evening. This is a great opportunity to mingle with the hotel's other guests, reliably fascinating and friendly people.

Dessert at night. Just in case you didn't get enough calories during the day.

Plus, it's in the heart of SYI, a very small community with adorable shops, and a stone's throw from Solvang.

No, they're not paying me. We really did love it that much. Go!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer, renovated section of the hotel. They're more modern (the hotel has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.