We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend or wedding, it's perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIDEWAYS!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend or wedding, it's perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Yes, we had our wedding (60-something people) at the Santa Ynez Inn. It was perfection. Guests who stayed at the Inn were forever spoiled by the beauty of the rooms and graciousness of the staff. Guests who came in for the wedding only were thrilled with the food at our reception and the charm of the grounds. But this isn't a wedding factory! No, the SYI is a charming boutique property built with couples in mind, especially those interested in weekends of wine tasting, touring the Santa Barbara area and mountains, and taking a quick turn at the casino (that's essentially directly across the highway). Some highlights:

Individually decorated rooms, many with jaw-dropping bathrooms and tons of space.

Gourmet breakfast included with the room rate. It's amazing. I still think about those blueberry scones.

Wine and hors d'oeuvres every evening. This is a great opportunity to mingle with the hotel's other guests, reliably fascinating and friendly people.

Dessert at night. Just in case you didn't get enough calories during the day.

Plus, it's in the heart of SYI, a very small community with adorable shops, and a stone's throw from Solvang.

No, they're not paying me. We really did love it that much. Go!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the newer, renovated section of the hotel. They're more modern (the hotel has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
174
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Loved the Santa Ynez Inn. Great stay, great treatment by the staff. Loved the wine and cheese pairings in the early evenings as well as the desserts. The room and bathroom were both well appointed. The bathroom had heated flooring. The steam shower had heated flooring and seating. Great bathtub. I took two bubble baths during my stay! The room also had it's own patio and was right next to the hot tub.
I especially loved the location in the town. You could leave the car in the lot and walk next door to the Vineyard house or to Grappalo. It was a very nice get away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This is a lovely hotel where unobtrusive spoiling is high on the list. I have found the staff to be very helpful, considerate, knowledgeable and caring. They have done all possible to accommodate special requests at breakfast with no fuss. Once they twig on your preferences, they remember them. The rooms are very comfortable,(and I've tried several over the years). Breakfast, wine and appetizers, dessert & coffee are all included in the price. The Inn best suits adults. Pets are not allowed. I always look forward to my visits.

Room Tip: The "smallest" room is large. Any room is fine. The bathrooms vary as to jacuzzis, steam s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We loved this place -- great location in the heart of Santa Barbara wine country, stunning rooms, great service. Each day the inn provides complimentary breakfast, afternoon wine, and evening dessert. Staff really knows the area, and helps make you make the most of your trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This Inn was built with decadent opulence throughout the lobby, dining room and guest rooms. It seems out of place within the small quaint historic western town of Santa Ynez. Sort of phony luxury with average to poor service and availability of staff. Average to poor breakfast. We had dinner in a nearby authentic historic inn and were sorry we didn't stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The inn was everything we expected and more. the room was outstanding, wine and o'deuvres were plentiful and creative, breakfast was delicious along with evening desserts. I can't say enough good things about this inn. A quiet retreat for all those that want to pamper themselves.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms, great bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We often stay in this heavenly valley for our wine distribution from Bridlewood, preferring to make a weekend of it rather than fight the traffic back to LA. We bring our bikes, as the roads are mostly flat, and there are plenty of great roads that are safe for biking. However, if you want to rent, there is a bike rental directly across the street with guided tours if you are not familiar with the area. The Inn is gracious, with beautifully accommodated rooms, high ceilings, large and well appointed bathrooms, and delightful decor. We had a room with a balcony on the ground floor, and we ate outside several times to the sound of the fountain, and plenty of birdsong. The evening wine hour is extremely well done. Good wines, and great hors d' oeuvres. Breakfast was excellent, making one feel like royalty. Nearby are several restaurants which offer variety within walking distance. One never feels rushed, and upon return to the hotel, there is a definite quality of returning HOME. Lovely in every way.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.