We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for our anniversary celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ynez Inn

Save Saved
You added Santa Ynez Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa Ynez Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SIDEWAYS!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Denver, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for our anniversary celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband surprised me with a trip to Santa Ynez and the Santa Barbara area wine country for our 30th anniversary. A highlight of the trip was our stay at the Santa Ynez Inn. It is elegant in a laid back way that makes you feel welcome and at home from the minute you enter the property.
As others have noted, service at the hotel is top notch. Our experience with the front desk staff was all excellent. They took note of our anniversary, welcomed us with a well chilled bottle of champagne in the room, and accommodated my gluten free diet with special breakfast items and items at the evening wine receptions I could eat.
We stayed in a junior suite on the second floor which meant we had a very large sized room with a balcony and a rather enormous, elegant bathroom. The king size, canopied bed was extremely comfortable. We were somewhat intrigued by the large flat screen television that was housed in a cabinet at the base of the bed. We raised it by simply pushing a button. It then swiveled so we could watch it from the bed or from the room's seating area. Very clever and a great way not to have the television dominate the tastefully decorated room. The bathroom had two sinks, a large jacuzzi tub and a glass enclosed shower. It was very elegantly outfitted with beautiful tile and marble. The room also had a small refrigerator and a small coffee maker, along with coffee, which was a nice way to start the morning before going downstairs for the breakfast.
Breakfast was served in a large dining room that also features a fireplace with comfortable seating around it. There are tables for two as well as larger tables for those traveling with friends or others who just want to have a more communal experience. In addition to a lovely buffet of cold items and pastries, you can choose one of two hot dishes which change daily. Ours were delicious and beautifully presented.
The evening wine receptions were also lovely experiences. The wine choices were interesting and typically from local vineyards and the appetizers served were elegant and tasty. If one had a large enough lunch, you could almost make a meal out of the food served during this time. Another nice touch on the food front is the service of a freshly baked dessert later in the evening. It is set out for guests to help themselves as they return from dinner.
The Inn is a tranquil place from which to venture out to sample the local vineyards and explore some beautiful country. You will not be disappointed with your stay.

Room Tip: A corner, second floor room overlooking the fountain is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
174
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The Santa Ynez Inn is an excellent choice if the Ballard Inn is full. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful, the rooms and public areas well maintained, and the breakfasts, afternoon wine and cheese, and nightly desserts were generally very good and plentiful (note to kitchen: the yolks in an eggs Benedict should be runny not solid). The owners spent a lot of money furnishing the Inn, done in a style that is a bit ornate for me. We had one of the smaller rooms (queen bed, shower/tub combo) and it was quite spacious. The jacuzzi tub, though small, was a nice touch as well. Two other minor nits: WiFi in our guest room was painfully slow, and the heat/cooling vent was directly above the head of our bed so air was blowing directly on our faces all night. The Inn is just 10 years old, though made to look much older, and the rooms overlook the small parking lot and a small park just beyond. There are several excellent and varied restaurants walking distance.

For several dollars less, the Ballard seems more authentic and intimate. Still, you could do a lot worse, and we had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the Santa Ynez Inn for the first two days of our honeymoon. We had such a great time. We did not arrive to the Inn until about 2:30am on our first night and we were warmly welcomed even though the hour was so late. The gentleman behind the desk helped us with our bags and gave us a quick tour of the hotel and a thorough tour of our room. The room was gorgeous! The bed was huge and the fireplace added to the romantic ambiance of the room. There was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us when we arrived -- we didn't drink it the first night, but we kept in on ice to have the next day. The bathroom in the room was unbelievable! The shower was huge and was the best shower I've ever been in. The steam shower and multiple (at least 6) shower heads were perfect to ease away all of the travel tension we had accumulated on our long journey to the Inn. We really enjoyed the breakfast offered both mornings. We wanted to hire a limo to give us a tour of some of the vineyards in the area. When we inquired at the front desk they were more than helpful to make all of the arrangements for us and hired a great driver who was very knowledgeable of the local vineyards and was extremely friendly. When we returned from our wine tour, there was a payment issue with the driver in regards to whether tip was or wasn't included in our quoted price. The woman at the front desk overheard our conversation with the driver and offered to argue for us on our behalf so we wouldn't have to deal with it. The staff at this hotel certainly goes the extra mile to make sure their guests are comfortable and having an enjoyable time. If we find ourselves in the Santa Ynez Valley again, you can be certain that we will definitely stay at the Santa Ynez Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, CO
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Took my girlfriend for a nice 3 day drive around Santa Barbara Wine Country. The Inn was easy to find and a great base to tour wineries. The rooms are large with nice amenities. The staff is very accommodating and went out of the way on a couple of occasions to do things for me. The dining room is spectacular and the food was excellent. Little extras like real old fashioned turn down service were greatly appreciated. Our ice bucket had ice 24 hours a day and we never saw a staff member get near our room...that's perfect for me! Wine in the PM, deserts every night, and a chocolate chip cookie on the bed to boot! What's not to love?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed at Santa Ynez Inn as part of California road trip. Couldn't have wished to find anywhere nicer!

The room was perfect, massive bath tub, shower which could also be used as a steam room, 40 inch tv which you could watch from tub as it has a cantilever bracket on it. Massive king size comfortable bed and free wifi.

The service at the Inn was great. When we arrived we were ask where we we eating later, as the restaurants get booked up. They recommended Grappolo's, 1 minute walk from the Inn. Best restaurant I went to in the whole of California during my two week stay and the same applies to Santa Ynez Inn, great place to stay.

The Inn offers complimentary wine tasting between 5 and 6pm from one of the local wineries. This was great, with nibbles to eat whilst sipping on some wine. No pressure to buy wine at all, which was nice. Completely relaxed.

As for Santa Ynez it's a tiny ranch town, 10 min drive to Solvang (tacky faux tourist Danish town) and 10 minutes to Los Olivos (posh wine town with lots of wine tasting opportunities).

If you're looking for a really nice relaxed and luxurious treat in the heart of wine country, Santa Ynez is the place to come. I come from Europe and have stayed in lots of nice hotels and this much nicer than the Inns and hotels you get there in every aspect.

Would highly recommend the Santa Ynez Inn and Grappolo's restaurant next door...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights July 12 and 13 as part of a California wine country getaway. We had the most wonderful stay. The room was lovely, bed comfy, clean, and lovely amenities. The hotel staff was attentive and helpful, giving us directions and suggestions for wineries and restaurants, all of them great. The breakfast each morning was as good as any 5-star restaurant. The complimentary wine and cheese served late afternoon and the evening dessert and coffee were the icing on the cake. We met other hotel guests at breakfast and shared stories of our day with them over evening drinks. The hotel had a real Bed and Breakfast feel to it. We will recommend the Santa Ynez Inn to anyone traveling to Santa Barbara county wine country.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Beautiful Inn located in a quaint town central in the Santa Ynez Valley. Every detail perfect. Room was spacious and there is not an amenity they miss. Staff is very customer oriented and provide top-level service. Breakfast is included, and is the best we've experienced in the last few years. There is an unbelievable continenal breakfast bar set up when you first enter...then there is a 'hot' dish as well -- the 5 days we were there were all different, a choice egg dish and a what I call 'sweet' dish (ie., waffles, pancakes, french toast) They must have a talented chef...and portions a good size. There is also a late afternoon tea/snack/wine and then a desert laid out late evening...each time we partook of these was delish!
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary this week and the staff really went above and beyond to ensure every thing was extra special -- made us feel special.
This Inn is within walking distance of several good restaurants and a nice local coffee place...plus a bike rental place is literally directly across the street.
The only thing that was even close to uncomfortable was the mattress pad on the bed has a plastic backing that made the bed a bit 'sweaty', however the great/quiet air conditioner made up for it. (we assumed the mattress pad was one of those protective kinds)
We would absolutely return here and highly recommend it to anyone traveling to this area!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Ynez Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ynez Inn

Address: 3627 Sagunto St., Santa Ynez, CA 93460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Ynez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Ynez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Ynez Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond rated luxury boutique inn. All rates include a full gourmet breakfast, evening wine hour and nightly desserts. Located in the heart of wine country, the Inn also offers complimentary tasting passes to a select group of wineries in the area. Rooms featuring fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and flat screen television. Complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Santa Ynez Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ynez Hotel Santa Ynez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ynez Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.