We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and delicious wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridlewood Estate Winery

Bridlewood Estate Winery
3555 Roblar Avenue, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
805-688-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 23 activities in Santa Ynez
Type: Wineries
Attraction Details
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and delicious wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The grounds here are amazing. It's also a great place to have a picnic while enjoying their wine. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable giving us food pairing suggestions and detailed information about the wines

This was my first time to Bridlewood, but it will not be my last. This will be now be added to my "must go to" list of wineries in the area.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Romantic, BEAUTIFUL, Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Such a great spot. It was like being in a magazine. The grounds are UBER impressive. We came in for a tasting (the last stop in our 3 stop tour.) Had a tasting and bought a bottle for a picnic.

Went out to the yard to have a picnic overlooking the horses and the lake. ITS WAS FAIRYTALE BEAUTIFUL!

The drive from Santa Barbara was worth EVERY BEAUTIFUL second.

I already can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pinnacle of Santa Ynez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Visiting wineries can be a varied experience from the simple pour and pay type to the educational experience where you see the pride and joy of those who produce and proudly serve the fruits of their labors. Bridlewood Estate is definitely the latter. Visiting on a Saturday, prepare yourself for a crowd. Despite this, each host and hostess treat you like you are the only guest in the tasting room. A special thank you to Amanda and Kim. We were privileged to have a private tour of the grounds and vineyards. Bridlewood Estate was an equestrian rehabilitation facility that was purchased by Gallo and converted into a first rate winery and still maintains the luscious grounds. David Hopkins crafts outstanding Syrahs, Pinot Noirs and Chardonnays.
Pack a lunch, buy some wine in the tasting room and enjoy one of the most beautiful places in the Santa Ynez Valley.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“nice wines and a lovely drive ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

You will have a great wine taste - normally $10 each, but we got a free tasting through our hotel. Wines all very nice and the staff were lovely. stay a bit longer in the very pretty grounds.

The amount of wine that you taste, will just put you on the drink drive limit! Many of the local restaurants stock their wine but its not sold in Europe yet ....

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Feeling of old California”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

My husband and I have been members of Bridlewood for years, as well as several other wineries in Santa Ynez/Los Olivos. Although each has its own charm, Bridlewood is our favorite. The wines are consistently outstanding; their viognier is without peer, and the pinot estate wines never disappoint. Most of all, we love the grounds, with a beautiful lake behind the race track and across a large lawn with weeping willows, a bridge, and cascade. Bridlewood has distribution parties every two months, with delicious hors d'oeuvres and desserts, prompting us to spend the night in the area so we can truly enjoy the ambience. We enjoy the relaxing atmosphere of the vineyards in every season. Fall is our favorite with the changing colors, and the rustic sunsets. We always come away refreshed. The staff is welcoming and takes great pride in their wines; the tasting room is elegant; and picnics are allowed by the lake if one is a member, The facade has been created to look like a Mission with bell towers, and the fountain and patio evoke old California. We have never been disappointed, visiting a dozen times.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bridlewood Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Bridlewood Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridlewood Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bridlewood Estate Winery to your Saves list