We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dos Carlitos

Dos Carlitos
3544 Sagunto St, Santa Ynez, CA 93460
805-688-0033
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Santa Ynez
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dixon, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Charming building from the outside and the interior was warm and pleasant. The service was good, and the menu intriguing, but the food was mediocre at best.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    65
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, CO
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food, fresh ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Ate there twice during our 4 nite stay. Try the Burrito Mariscos with black beans. Yum.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Back again for the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

good food, nice atmosphere, great service, love the drinks and within walking distance of our hotel

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice place, large portions.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice place, large portions.
Much like an upscale "El Torito".
Nice decor, friendly staff.
Easy parking.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I had some of the most delicious Mexican food at Dos Carlitos. The flavors of the chicken mole explode in your mouth and the plate is visually appealing with colorful grilled veggies. We also shared the grilled vegetable quesadilla which was the best we've ever had.

Their drink menu includes a number of flavored marguerittas and I'd recommend avoiding the standard as the tiquila is a bit bitter. My husband raved about the manhattan, so they've got a good bartender.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dos Carlitos also viewed

 

Been to Dos Carlitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dos Carlitos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.