We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and affordable place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2632 Cleveland Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Marina, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Convenient and affordable place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I encountered no problems on my recent weekend stay at the Santa Rosa Vagabond Inn. The hotel is conveniently located and is easily accessible from/to Highway 101. The check in/check out process was fast. The staff was attentive. There were plenty of parking spaces available. My room was very basic but clean. There is a good diner steps from the hotel's entrance. I got exactly what I paid for and would recommend this hotel to any budget minded traveler who is looking for a clean and affordable place to stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    12
    7
    20
See reviews for
20
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was probably the worst stay I have ever had in a motel/hotel. The room was disgusting with vomit stains in the bathroom and public hair on the toilet seat. There were spiders in the room & the bed smelled really funky. Then at 3:30 in the morning there was a fight in the hallway that had to be broken up by the cops & paramedics came. We really regretting staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel was booked by someone else in my family while on a family trip through Santa Rosa. They got to the hotel earlier than my husband and I did and went to a wedding. When my husband and I arrived our room was filthy. The moment we walked in there was a very strong smell of beer and cigarette smoke. We went to open the window to air it out and there was no screen. When we pulled the covers back on the bed I noticed a large brown stain on the side of my mattress. There were only two flat pillows on our bed and no extra ones in the room. The carpet and cloth chairs in our room were dirty and stained. We just couldn't stay in that room. We left our luggage in the room while we went out looking for a place to eat. We ended up on a better half of Santa Rosa and found a great restaurant and stopped by a Hilton hotel and after speaking to the man at the desk he did offer us a room which we gladly took. We emailed our family to let them know we weren't spending the night at the Vagabond because of its filth. They said their room was ok because they were getting back late from the wedding so they wouldn't be spending much time there. We went back to get our luggage and left. I wanted to complain but my husband just wanted to leave. The next morning we had to pay our family $150 for our share of the Vagabond. That inn isn't worth $2.00 a night. Let's just say "you get what you pay for" and that was the biggest waste of our money our whole trip!!!! Stay away

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If I could give zero rating I would. Two of us stayed here over night during a road trip, the shower drain was clogged, the shower in the room next to us had no hot water. The blow dryer didn't work and the Wi-Fi didn't work.
Regardless of all that, I accidentally forgot a few hundred dollars worth of jewelry in our room and when I called back 1 hour later they insisted I wait until the room cleaning make it to the room we stayed in. After calling back 3 times they began to screen my call and after 2.5 hours of trying to communicate with the terrible management and rude clerk they informed us that the jewelery was never found there.
Just don't ever stay there. It isn't even a bargain price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had a really hard time finding any motel in Santa Rosa and were willing to pay the price for this place -- until we saw the room. The air conditioner worked for about an hour and then was totally dysfunctional the rest of the time we were there; there was no fan or ventilation in the bathroom; most of the furnishings were obviously castoffs from some other out-of-business motel. There wasn't even a sign on the front door to the lobby, or over the front carport at the entrance. And it cost probably twice as much as a Motel 6, which was right next door. If only I had known...

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have refrigerators - make sure to check first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Basic needs are met in this hotel but nothing more. The room is quite spacious, however, and the sink is separate from the shower and toilet which is practical when more than one person is staying there. The breakfast which is included in the price is fair at best: bagels, bread, pastries, 2 cold cereals, instant hot cereal, apples and bananas (if you're lucky - there was no fruit at all for 1 of the 4 days I stayed there), coffee, hot water for tea, and some juices. There's a TV with bad reception on in the breakfast room. It was nice to have a pool but it wasn't heated. When a friend called me at the hotel and asked for me by name, he was told there was no one there by that name!!! It was quite hot so the A/C goes on and off all the time and is noisy but at least you can keep the room at the temperature you want.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I found this place very nice no complain, clean and specious room
Breakfast was good better then your regular continental breakfast they have oatmeal cereal fruits bagels and muffin pastry etc
I will be back in a month

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa

Address: 2632 Cleveland Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of California’s picturesque wine country, the Vagabond Inn – Santa Rosa is situated well to give you easy access to dozens of local wineries, and a short drive to San Francisco and Bodega Bay.With 100 spacious non-smoking rooms, we’re well equipped to provide you with a comfortable, relaxing stay. You’ll be able within arm’s reach of local attractions such as the Charles M. Shulz Museum, Downtown Santa Rosa, and easy access to highway 101. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Santa Rosa
Comfort Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Comfort Inn
Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.