We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Hillside Inn
Save Saved
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Orangevale
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good Option for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night and everything was booked for the marathon that weekend. This place did not take electronic reservations which had me a little nervous, but sure enough our reservation did hold (they will release it after 4pm unless you call with a credit card). It was a GREAT price for the area and had a 2-room suite for our kids where a lot of the hotels put a limit on just 2 kids. The kitchen part of the suite was locked and when I asked about it they said it was an extra charge. I went back to the website and saw where I missed that, but it was only like $4 to have access - a bit odd.

The facility is old and dated, but it functions very well. I enjoyed the pool with the kids. I'm sure the couple that runs (and probably owns) the place are very nice and sweet people inside, but they were not very warm on the outside. A smile and a "welcome" will go a long way. Maybe they've been burned by a few characters that have come in before - idk.

The bed wasn't terribly comfortable and the shower head was low, but everything was clean & peaceful. There is a nice table with chairs in the suites and two sinks even without the kitchen. They were very gracious to allow some extra time for checkout to shower after the big race. the restaurant there seemed to be a real hit with the locals and travelers. IHOP and Safeway are right across the street and you're 5 minutes from downtown.

Hope that helps!

Room Tip: The two room suite was still cheaper than everything else in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    16
    9
    16
See reviews for
23
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, Berks.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

On tour in this part of California, we had no room booked and decided to try the Hillside Inn on the basis of a guide book recommendation. We got the last room for the night (it was about 4pm on a Saturday). It was a very comfortable and large room. The decor was a bit tired but it was very good value. We would go o back if visiting the area again. Recommended.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I can see why this place has received high remarks. Yes, they are old school. What the heck is wrong with that every once in a while? I'm appreciating the fact that they hold people accountable for showing up to rooms. So, you have to show up by 4p otherwise they give the room away. You have to book by phone. Yes, they accept american express. All of their rooms have kitchenettes, with the exception of the suite: room 223. Unfortunately, that is my room. So, if you need a kitchen, you should probably be sure to specify the necessity of one. And, I mean NO KITCHEN. No fridge, no microwave, no stove. All the pictures online suggest that there are kitchenettes in ALL of the rooms. This just is not the case.
Moving on... it's a quaint motel in a great location (if you dont mind the highway traffic, which we don't)

Room Tip: Be specific. Check on their website for layouts. Remember rm 223 is not the same as the other 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A good value for money hotel. The owner I found to be helpful and friendly. All was clean and there was a small on site pool. The onsite restaurant was good, if a little expensive, serving breakfast and lunch only. Large portions and good quality. There is a chemist and supermarket very nearby which is useful. The only negative is that its quite a distance from the town centre, too far to walk if its hot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We only meant to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying four. This is a nice, very well run motel, easy to find and within walking distance of services and very good restaurants. Our room was a spacious comfortable apartment on the first floor with a small kitchen facility, spacious storage, a dining table, TV, alarm and air conditioning. There is an attractive swimming pool, ample shade from trees and the place is quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The staff are well turned out, efficient and pleasant. I can recommend the Hillside Inn to anyone looking for somewhere modest to stay in the Santa Rosa area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a modest, well kept up independent motel that offers good value for the money. The rooms are fairly spacious, clean, and the bathroom has pool-size terry cloth towels. The shower is good, and the restaurant that shares the property offers hearty, though pricy breakfasts. In all, if you are looking for basics, modest pricing, and not concerned about frills (I.e.: flat screen TV) it's a good choice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Owner/Mgr. was gruff, rude, disrespectful and argumentative. Cut me off when I tried to inquire about my room not being what I reserved. I asked him to speak kinder and I was told: "If you don't like your room, go somewhere else". It was apparent that the owner/mgr. dislikes people and should not be in this business. He has no clue to what customer service is. He is curt and acts as though you are putting him out if you try to talk to him. I give him personally zero stars! As for the establishment itself it was noisy in the early morning (just before 7 a.m.) with our room being directly above the restaurant. We requested no housekeeping & place the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door & was told to inform the office by housekeeping, which we did, but on our return that evening someone had entered our room & unlocked a door to another bedroom. So much for privacy...............

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;