We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, Affordable, Convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Save
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Affordable, Convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was an older, motel type hotel. However, my room was more like a suite - very spacious, extra large closet, dining area, mini fridge and stove. I found this to be very convenient.
The bed was very comfortable, the TV had lots of channels, the wifi worked flawlessly, and overall the hotel was very quiet.
The price was very affordable and the location was excellent. There is an IHOP and a grocery store (Safeway I think), with a Starbuck's within walking distance. The mall is not far either. Everything else is just a short drive away.
The hotel always had lots of convenient parking available, more parking at the back if needed, also some covered parking back there.
If you have a problem with stairs or if your luggage is exceptionally heavy, you might want to ask for a room on the lower level.
I found this to be a wonderful choice at a very affordable price, and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    18
    9
    16
See reviews for
26
24
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We love this hotel! The Hillside Inn has extremely clean rooms and clean grounds. Everything on the premises is well manicured and looked after. There is a great breakfast cafe (Jeffrey's Hillside Cafe) downstairs which makes for an easy departure in the morning. The rooms were good size and CLEAN. The Hillside Inn seems to have all the original fixtures, furniture and style, which was charming! We will definitely be visiting the Hillside Inn on our next adventure through Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this is a gem from the past. The unit we had, included a small kitchenette, no pans or glass ware, nor microwave. This could be updated very easy . The bed was nice but the only problem I had, was with the ac unit. Since it is only a couple of feet from the bed, it kept coming on and off all night, and did not get much sleep.
Not sure how to fix that problem, but it had a great pool and relaxing patio where my wife and I played some card games.
There is a nice restaurant on the premises.
The owner , BOB, was very pleasant and found him quite kind and fun to talk to.
Stop in and say Hi.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great but if you have a lot of luggage, try down first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Yes, the Hillside Inn is in need of updating the rooms but overall if you want a clean comfortable bed this does just fine. The premises were tidy and attractive. Our room had a very tight bathroom...the toilet was situated nearly against the wall with the tissue roll pushing into your side. Made for some interesting contortions. Thin blanket and bedspread but the bathroom towels were thick, soft and snowy white! The soaps and lotions were better quality brand! The manager was polite and pleasant. We would return here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a last minute stop. It was convenient to the event we attended and was a pleasant surprise. It was so clean, quiet and had free wif fi. The on site restaurant was a plus - and, for had a great selection for the vegetarians in our party. I would not hesitate to recommend Hillside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Hillside Inn twice a year for several years. This place is great. It's very well cared for and always very clean and tidy. The management and staff is excellent and it kind of has a home-town feel. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night while on a tour of local breweries. I did not notice any problems with the management as others have posted. The lady at the front desk was very polite. We got a room in the right back corner. Rooms are very spacious with a stove, oven, and mini fridge. No micro. Traffic was loud until about midnight and again around five am. Walls were thin. I would say if you needed a place to stay for a while, the kitchen would be A bonus. Price was the cheapest I found prior to visiting, not counting the slum motels downtown. Would reccomend to anyone needing a cheap extended stay not far from downtown nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.